We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort

Save Saved
You added Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Qasr Al Sarab Road | P.O. Box 131277, Hamim, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Villa Special
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hamim
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Totally agree with the general consensus that this place is amazing. A sort of medieval castle with arabian design in the middle of the most beautiful desert. We had a suite with pool (heated) and did very little besides lie in the sun and read. I did visit the gym once, which is fine, and has everything you need. Definately worth a visit for the setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear JemmyButton,

Thank you for considering Qasr Al Sarab as your desert resort destination in Abu Dhabi.

Indeed, we are very happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure when guest take the time to commend the hotel.

Thank you again for being our guest, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    958
    140
    36
    9
    5
See reviews for
310
608
30
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for 4 days. The service, the staff, the environment and location made this an unforgettable experience for my family and I. I cannot recommend the resort highly enough. It ticks all the boxes to ensure an unforgettable holiday!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear RofromHighgate,

Our great appreciation for your lovely review.

We were naturally delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to provide you our best services and hospitality.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara and should you decide to travel back to the UAE, we will always be pleased to welcome you again to the resort.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Really one of my best hotel experiences of the last 5 years! After a long but comfortable drive from the airport great welcoming at the hotel. Fast check in, we had 2 terrace rooms, very beautiful rooms, excellents beds, great bathroom, most beautiful views over the desert. Our Christmas dinner at Suhail was also great, overall quality of food (also other restaurants) is top, staff very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear rbun,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post your wonderful review.

We are delighted to read your splendid comments about our accommodation, facilities and services and extremely thankful to know that our team was able to exceed your expectation. Furthermore, we are most flattered to be on the number 1 list of your preferred desert hotels. Please be assured that such remarkable praises will be passed on to the rest of the team.

May I thank you once again for sharing your amazing experience at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara. We will always welcome the opportunity to be service.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Because of it´s high ranking we had very high expectations when we arrived late in the evening at the Qasr Al Sarab in the middle of the dessert. Unfortunately, at 10.30 pm there were not many people on duty anymore and the night manager gave us quite a cool, unfriendly welcome. We were baffled that all restaurants were already closed and only after several inquiries we could get something to eat from the room service.
We asked for one more sheet in our hotel room which we got after the fifth (!) inquiry. Between X-mas and New Year, the hotel was overcrowd and the foreign staff clearly not yet trained enough, although most of them showed great effort.
Restaurants were overpriced as expected (where else could you go to anyway) and we even had to wait for 40 minutes for lunch at the poolside restaurant.
The spa however was wonderful, operated by Thai people and with maybe the best massage you can get in any Arabian country.
It surely was a nice experience to stay in the middle of the dessert but we would not got there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Andre K,

Thank you very much for your feedback shared through Trip Advisor. I am greatly disturbed to read about your recent stay with Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

Please accept my sincere apologies for failing to deliver the services one can expect from an Anantara Hotel. Rest assured that I will personally look into points you have mentioned and will take possible measures to avoid such occurrences in the future.

I hope that you will consider to give us another chance to demonstrate to you true Anantara hospitality and we will make sure this time your stay goes beyond your expectation.

In the meantime, with my reiterated apologies and assuring you of my continued care and concern in this matter, I remain.

Yours sincerely

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed for three days, There is absolutely nothing negative that we could say about ths hotel. The super clean room (we had a balcony deluxe) with great views of the dunes at sunset and pool, even the common areas were impecable and exquisitely scented, but we think customer's service is the greatest thing this beautiful hotel has. Always smiling, always attentive to your needs, even when you are not requesting anything, there´s alwas someone ready and asking if you need something. Since we arrived, they were kind and helpful, and as it was our honeymoon, they never stopped dazzling us with details. Warm compliments to Mr Ghosh, the manager of one of the restaurants, who was nice and helpful during our whole stay. We strongly recommend the Arabian massage at the Spa, it is something out of this wordl!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Rodiaz79,

I appreciate the time you took to post your superb review about your recent stay.

We are always happy when someone chooses to stay at our resort. And we were completely honored when you choose to spend a day as special as your honeymoon with us. Making your honeymoon a memorable one was the least we could do and we were so grateful for entrusting Qasr Al Sarab to host such a very important occasion. Moreover, we will surely recognize all our associates for the exceptional service rendered to you most especially Ghosh who helped to ensure your stay with us was an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Thank you once again for the wonderful compliments. It is our hope that you will visit us again for another occasion in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Set in the majestic landscape of the Empty Quarter, this hotel is a experience. I could rave about the fantastic decor, the flawless service and the exquisite cuisine, but the spectacular surroundings are what really make Qasr al Sarab worth the pilgrimage. The subtly hued dunes, ochre with pink blush at sunrise and rust-red tinged at sunset, are beautiful beyond words. For a breathtaking experience, take advantage of the desert hike and definitely bring your camera with you! The camel ride is also a must - subtly done for an authentic feel.

We're here without our small children but we rather regret that now - there is a great Kids Club (3-12 years) and Teen Club, cool activities and the children's pool is shielded with giant sails to protect from the desert sun.

The spa offers a great menu of treatments - the 3.5 hour signature Qasr al Sarab Retreat is bliss - and the mainly Thai therapists are excellent. The treatment rooms are comfortable although quite ordinary.

Our tip would be the Suhail Restaurant on the roof for the best view of the setting sun followed by an exquisite meal. Famous for meat, the new chef - a Canadian, 3 months on the job - has shaken up the menu and added great seafood options too. Enjoy the famous salt selection, especially the Salish Smoked Salt - really does add to the meat!

This is an ideal destination to really get away from it all and unwind. If you're looking for a meditative experience with at most a bit of 4x4 dune bashing to dial up the excitement, this is the place for you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mobilemum,

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara. This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest level of quality and service to our valued guest.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to create for you a unique and amazing experience. Moreover, thank you most especially for recognizing the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. Rest assured that such remarkable praises will be shared to the rest of the team in particular to our Executive Chef and Spa team.

On the other hand, we have taken good note of your comment about our treatment rooms which will be shared with our Director of Spa for future consideration.

Thank you for your kind words and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpignano Salentino, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Qasr el Sareb apparently means the Palace of the Mirage. It is both!
The views are spectacular, the rooms are very luxurious and the service is off the chart. You will rarely find people nicer than the personnel here.
As an example, our 3 year old got an ear infection. No hotel car was immediately available so the hotel manager asked a member of staff to drive us to the doctor in his own private car. On the way back, we for a call asking how our daughter was, checking of there was anything else they could do. And they delivered her favourite ice cream to the room.

The dune bashing is a must!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your splendid review and for giving us the opportunity to provide you with our best services and hospitality.

I am glad to hear that we were able to create a memorable stay for you and your family despite your daughter’s feeling unwell during your time at the resort. Hope she is better now. Furthermore, your good notes about the hospitality extended by our team will serve as great encouragement and motivation to continue providing excellent service.

In the meantime, assuring you of our continued care and attention at all time and looking forward to the opportunity of providing you a unique journey of discovery that is distinctly Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort

Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road | P.O. Box 131277, Hamim, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.