We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most AMAZING place I've ever stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort to your Saves list
Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Qasr Al Sarab Road | P.O. Box 131277, Hamim, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Midweek Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Most AMAZING place I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I cannot recommend this place more highly. We stayed here for 3 days for our honeymoon and could not be happier. The location is 2nd to none, in the middle of a sprawling landscape of large sand dunes. Truly feels like another world. Rooms are large and extremely comfortable. Restaurants are all delicious and unique in setting. Food highlights are the amazing breakfast buffet and the dinner at Al Faraj, a traditional Arabic feast on low cushions on the edge of the resort on the sand. Pictures don't do this place justice. If it looks appealing in the photos, trust me, you'll be blown away when you see it in person.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Hameed S,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your fantastic review about your stay.

When a guest chooses our hotel for a special occasion such as honeymoon, we strive to provide memorable experience. I am delighted to learn that you have lifetime memory having celebrated your special moments here at our resort. Your good comments about the hospitality extended by our team will be shared as this will serve as motivation and encouragement for us to continue in providing excellent service towards our valued guests.

Thank you once again and it is our hope that you and your spouse will visit us again for another occasion in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    153
    37
    10
    6
See reviews for
377
737
33
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

After being driven from the Airport through the Desert we go over one more vast sand dune and this amazing Resort rises from the Desert. I have been to many places but this one has to take number one spot.
Amazing Villas,Restaurants,Staff and Service. Imagine having your face freshly sprayed with cool water whilst lying around the pool - oh had my sunglass cleaned as well. Nothing is too much trouble.
One of my favourite places to have tea was the Library. Absolutely beautiful and to have Dinner
at the outside BBQ amongst the tents and cushion tables was a dream.
I brushed up on my Horseriding/Camel Riding/Experiences with Falcons. The Camel Ride was
fabulous - being out in the desert just as the sun was setting and being served refreshments and the most divine dates was like a dream.
I celebrated my Birthday whilst I was there and received a beautiful birthday cake in my Villa and had the most delightful Birthday Dinner in the Private Dining Room. Best B/D I have ever had.
All in all an amazing journey to an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear KookaburraAdelaide,

Thank you for your fantastic review and for your appreciation of the resort.

Your compliments are really encouraging us to keep delivering heartfelt hospitality, both in products and services, to our guests. As an Anantara resort, it is our passion that every guest leaves the hotel with an amazing story, and reading your review we can only hope that we exceeded your expectations. Moreover, thank you as well for selecting Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara to be part of your birthday celebration.

Thank you once again for your valued patronage.

In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort and making each and every special occasion of yours a memorable one.


Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were told that “Qasr Al Sarab”, when translated, means “Palace of Mirage”. It really feels like a palace. The resort feels very luxurious, and it is expansive.

It is a rather long drive in from the main road, maybe about 10km, with nothing but sand dunes to see along the way in. In the neighbourhood along the main road, there is also not too much but small towns and date plantations. There was nothing along the way to the resort that would hint that there was something spectacular awaiting us at the end of that drive.

The resort is designed like some kind of village—a very luxurious one. The rooms are scattered around the sprawling grounds of the resort, and this “village” is surrounded by desert. It makes for a very different kind of experience that is probably not offered in many other places in the world.

The "wow" comes immediately as one approaches the resort. Driving over the bridge to the lobby, one gets a hint of the opulence that awaits. The elaborately-furnished reception area and lobby is mesmerising, and the excitement continues during the journey to the room on the buggy. For us, the climax came when we entered our room, which felt like it had "luxury" stamped in every corner, and when we realised that it had an amazing view of the pool and much of the resort, as well as a great expanse of desert. We never got tired of the view!

Service in the resort was great. Most of the service people were fantastic. There was a very friendly chef in the restaurant who chatted with us every morning, and introduced to us some of the local dishes. Unfortunately we did not manage to find out his name, and on his uniform it was only stated "chef de cuisine", which probably may not be too helpful towards identifying him.

We were also very impressed with the folks performing the valet parking duties. When I was checking out, the gentleman who brought the car over said, "You have a long drive ahead today, so I have left two chilled bottles of water in your car." When I was driving off, I also noticed that my windscreen had been cleaned! I think this was the first time I have been impressed by any valet, anywhere in the world!

We also got a lovely cake in the room, which was presented to us when the hotel staff found out that we were on the trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was delicious, and we finished every bit of it.

There is almost nothing to quibble about, except that things in the resort do not come cheap. The food, drinks and activities all feel rather pricey, but I guess one has to expect this when one is in a “palace” in the middle of the desert.

I would definitely recommend a visit to this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Mel_Sg,

Thank you for your splendid review and for giving us the opportunity to provide you with our best services and hospitality.

We are always happy when a guest chooses to stay at our hotel, furthermore honored when the stay is tied with a special occasion such as wedding anniversary. Making such rare event a memorable one was the least we could do and we were so grateful for celebrating such important occasion with us.

Moreover, we are delighted that we have exceeded all your expectations. We really appreciate you sharing your amazing experience with us and I will not fail to share this story to all our associates.

In the meantime, thank you for your continuous support and looking forward to the pleasure of your company once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A very exciting escape for a couple of days. A romantic place with views and experiences not easy to found. Perfect for couples that are looking to relax. Great spa, great activities (do not miss the hard dune bashing)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Alexandra-chris,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review.

We are glad that you chose Qasr Al Sarab as your desert resort destination in Abu Dhabi. We take great pride in our quality of service and it is amazing to hear that we were able to provide you a relaxing break.

We look forward to greeting you again one day in the not too distant future and to the privilege of extending to you once again Anantara hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After driving all the way from Dubai, we found the location of the hotel in the middle of majestic dunes. The service and hospitality of the staff from the first moment is evident and warming. Later, you faced a lovely and idyllic lobby with the bar and library next to it. We choose one of their room with balcony, that worth every pence. With a wonderful bath, toiletry and basically all the facilities like your private spa (including an amazing surrounding sound).
The restaurant is beyond the expensive, but the food is excellent with a memorable view of the desert at night.
In the other hand, the breakfast is rich and better to wake u early to enjoy it.
The services at the pool is other moment to enjoy and relax, and we were really surprised when someone come to clean our sunglasses! That small details made the difference along our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Juju_mx,

Thank you for your beautiful review and for staying with us.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create for you a unique experience. Moreover, thank you most especially for recognizing the excellent service and hospitality provided to you by our associates. Rest assured that such remarkable praises will be shared to the team.

May I thank you once again for sharing your amazing story while at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara. We will always welcome the opportunity to be service.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The attention to detail started before our arrival with a welcome e mail and details of activities( we didn't book directly through the hotel). The welcome was warm and efficient despite it being very busy. We were lucky enough to receive an upgrade to a villa, which are stunning. The activities are extremely organised. The hotel and surroundings are well maintained, with the beautiful back drop of the sand dunes. The staff are very attentive and helpful. I couldn't fault anything. It is a luxury retreat so not cheap but well worth the money. I would recommended it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Gemmabosio,

We are striving for excellence in all areas of the resort and as guest satisfaction is of paramount importance to us, we are most grateful to you for your splendid review.

I am delighted that you found everything was perfect and can only hope that my team and I exceeded your expectations.

Our heartfelt thanks for your support and should your travel plans bring you back to Liwa in Western Region, we will be pleased to welcome you again at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Obviously the location of this hotel, located in the middle of the dunes of Rub al-Khali, is its greatest asset - but it is not the only one.
The resort itself is absolutely beautiful, great architecture, wonderful plants, water everywhere. We also liked our room a lot, well sized, very comfortable with a little garden and a great view over the resort and the dunes.
Breakfast is very good with international as well as local dishes. Service is outstanding, almost too much from our point of view (it is almost impossible to carry your plate from the buffet back to your table on your own). The pool area is very nice with (again) a great service during the day.
We just stayed for two nights so we couldn't do a lot of the activities offered - we did the sunrise dune hiking, which is a wonderful experience though the hike itself is a little short. Many guests recommended the dune riding with special bikes, unfortunately it already was booked out that day so we were not able to make it - but it looked like being fun! :)
Dinner at the buffet restaurant "Al Waha" was excellent and with about 50 Euros per person fairly priced. At the Steakhouse "Suhail" you can enjoy a very good sunset cocktail with a fantastic view of the sunset. Dinner however is very expensive - 100 Euros are too much for a steak imho - even for a tenderloin in the middle of the desert...
To sum it up: we love the Qasr Al Sarab and hopefully will return!

Room Tip: We had room 429, which is a garden room close to all the main facilities like pool, restaurants, lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wael_Soueid, General Manager at Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Perilymphe,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful yet candid review with regards to your stay at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara.

It was a pleasure to note how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the accommodation and service. Please be assured that you kind comments will be shared to the rest of Qasr Al Sarab Team.

Furthermore, we always welcome not just positive feedback but also constructive comments which we find it extremely helpful in the continuous improvements of our product and services. Your observation has been noted and will be reviewed accordingly.

We are grateful for your support and we are delighted to hear that you intend to stay with Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara once again.

Yours sincerely,

Wael Soueid
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort

Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road | P.O. Box 131277, Hamim, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anantara Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.