We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical desert experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara to your Saves list
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Villa Special
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Welton, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A magical desert experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in December 2012, a perfect time of the year to visit when temperatures are a comfortable 25-29 degrees.
This is a fantastic hotel in a superb location in the Liwa Desert. It is actually very easy to get to with a transfer time from Abu Dhabi airport of around 2 and a half hours.
The hotel is beautiful and the rooms excellent. Any small niggles, such as not much wardrobe space for a one week visit, blend into insignificance when you consider the mammoth task of building such a hotel in such a location.
We only did two activities as we had previously visited Al Maha but the two activities we did were well executed and good value for money. The guides are what make these experiences worthwhile, the more you chat to them, the more your experience grows. I would recommend you try at least a couple of activities.
The pool are is beautiful also and at the time of year we visited, it was nice and quiet.
The food was excellent, even though the main restaurant is buffet style, you still get very good quality food served by happy and enthusiastic staff. We tried the roof top restaurant for sunset cocktails which was superb.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and please don't think there is only enough to do for 2 nights, in my opinion you need to be here longer to immerse yourself fully into the desert experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    178
    47
    12
    8
See reviews for
473
877
42
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Truley this is an amazing hotel and worth every second of the 2 hour drive from Abu Dharbi - the pictures do not do this justice, this place is a amazing, we have stayed at many good hotels around the World - this was the best, period, why, location is incredible, staff and service was amazing little things like the staff were humble, they did not waffle on about themselves when you spoke to them, but they were there all the time, I have never had menu's that light up in the dark or offererd 6 types of salts with my meal. The rooms were spectacular and no expense has been spared with the design of this hotel they really got it right, we stayed at ATLANTIS prior to this, a big hotel YES, no service we were just a number, basic rooms, all they wanted was our money, this place is a real 5 star Hotel, yes it is not cheap but this is real 5 star, not Thailand or Bali 5 star but the real deal - highlight was Dune bashing and the kindness of the waiters at the "Grill Restaurant" we ate there twice - amazing food. Get out of the shopping Mecca have a real experience, will return promise !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Amazing desert resort, something different than all this boring beach destinations we have visited before. We wanted to try something different this time and will never regret. Hotel is something amazing, can't even be described. You have to go and see it by yourself. The views are unbelievable, you only see desert dunes and especialy sunset in desert is unforgetable experience. I think no need to mention that the service was also perfect and we are looking forward to go back since it's no so far from Dubai or Abu Dhabi how it first looks on the map. Definitly recommend, do not even think and go!

Room Tip: Choose terrace room, you will have huge terrace with views you can't imagine. It's just amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for sadly only 1 night in August 2012 at the tail-end of our European honeymoon.

This place absolutely blew our minds! The service is outstanding, the rooms decorated beautifully and the views just take your breath away. Unfortunately we were in the UAE right smack bang in the middle of summer, so it was incredibly hot. Didn't spend much time in the pool because it was like a very warm bath!! Couldn't fault the restaurant or the buffet. Very impressed that they serve gluten free bread!

I got up at sunrise the following morning to explore the resort and take some photos before that killer summer sun set in. Absolutely stunning!! I highly recommend this - the desert was just amazing at that time of day, constantly changing before my eyes

The main thing to keep in mind that it really is very isolated - it's quite a distance from Abu Dhabi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I loved my stay there; sadly only two nights. The place is so secluded. It is amazingly quiet. The facilities are lovely. The pool area is great with many seating choices. The service staff and the concierge/reception staff were fabulously attentive.

The rooms with huge balconies and round tubs are beautifully furnished.

The breakfast was very sumptuous with great variety of foods, however no pork products were featured, which was ok with me.

Keep in mind, you have to eat in the hotel as you are in the middle of Nowhere. The first night meal was at the buffet restaurant, where breakfast is served. That was a disappointing experience for the price. The choices were very limited, in fact it was virtually empty of guests. The lamb chops were tiny and overlooked. I understood from my friend, that when he comes over with a large party from Shah the food there is quite nice and he was disappointed himself that it was not the case when we were there.

The second night, we had drinks on the roof and dinner at the adjoining restaurant there. The food was quite nice and the service again great.

I recommend a hike to the top of the large dune in the back of the hotel at sunset. The view is spectacular when you make it there.

This hotel is highly recommended and we will be staying at two Ananatara properties in Thailand in just a few weeks, because of our pleasant experience with this Ananatara hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony better than garden due to the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Ercole
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I travel a lot, but this place is magic. We been traveling with all the family around Oman and the Emirates and this was by far the highlight of our stay. We had a 3 bedroom villa (room 49) last of the row and you had the feeling to be alone in the desert. Lots of activities to choose (book ahead) and the best one was the sunset desert walk. Staff is great!!! Restaurants are good, but keep in mind that in the evening is cold, so inside is not very romantic, but food quality was excellent. Only the breakfast was sometimes overcrowded. We had aswell a great Haman in the Spa.

Room Tip: All are good, but the front row villas are directly on the dunes....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you get the chance you need a minimum of 2 nights stay here. Rooms are perfect, fantastic view over the dunes. We have not made none of the offered trips since this is not really necessary. The view says it all. Near the hotel you can easily walk into the dunes. The only downside: prices of food and specially drinks were very high. Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara

Address: 1 Qasr Al Sarab Road, Hamim 131277, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Liwa Oasis > Hamim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hamim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where mystic charm, cultural passion and unparalleled luxury evoke distinctive memories. Set in the middle of the Rub' al Khali or Empty Quarter, the largest uninterrupted body of sand in the world, Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resorts by Anantara is isolated from the world, yet is less than 200km away from Abu Dhabi. The resort brings the mysticism of this eminent location to life, inviting you to discover the unique appeal of its surroundings. Enjoy an array of facilities and immerse yourself in the wonderful splendour of an eternally changing landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort By Anantara Hotel Abu Dhabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort by Anantara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.