We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Railay Village Resort to your Saves list
Railay Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
Karkur
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel offers convenient access to the beach, but bear in mind that during the high tide hours, there is almost no beach. It also has two swimming pools: a smaller one near the entrance and a bigger and charming one between the Deluxe Pool View rooms.

The hotel restaurant offers average food, reasonably priced (they don’t offer alcoholic drinks at the hotel). The service is like in most places in Thailand, polite and willing to help with all your needs.

The hotel offers two types of rooms: Deluxe pool view and Jacuzzi Villa. We stayed at the deluxe pool view, so I can’t advise on the interior of the Jacuzzi Villa, but I can advise on the location. Due to the shape of the hotel, the Jacuzzi Villa’s (some of them) are closer to the restaurant and to the beach (in the hours) but they are located far from the swimming pool. The Deluxe pool view rooms are two minutes’ walk from the beach but the swimming pool is only two meters from your door step (if you are on the ground floor) or few stairs (if you are on the first floor), which makes those rooms very enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    233
    97
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
274
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Huh ? What is going here ? This place was just flat-out awesome ! It was as luxurious as other hotels in our itinerary that cost double the price !! We just did another mind-boggling trip through Thailand, mapped out for us by anda;an adventures - looks like they send their high end customers to the same set of hotels judging by the reviews here. But anyway, we wanted something lower priced for Railay, to stay within budget, and Railay Village was just aces! The beach -- one of the world's top ten beaches !! i cannot comprehend how some posters could complain - if you dont find this beach impressive, i wonder how you must feel on regular, run-of-the-mill beaches. Take our word for it : Railay Village's beach WILL blow you away. Seriously. Staff was friendly and helpful at all times, all 7 days of our stay here. The architecture and materials was almost identical to resorts double the price - just wicked value for money in our opinion. we already decided we WILL be back here

Room Tip: our agent got us the villa closest to the main pool (enormous + beachfront). nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The place has some ups and downs, but all in all it was rather nice. We stayed in the poolside rooms not the villas and they were clean, modern and comfortable. The bathrooms aren't fancy but are more than adequate with separate showers and a nice soaking tub. Room was large, mattress comfortable and the AC was good as was the balcony. Pools was very clean.

Breakfast is basic and could easily be improved. Bad reviews for the food otherwise kept me from trying the menu at any other time. Location on Railay West is nice - but because of the design of the hotel there is no such thing as a beach view room. The poolside rooms are way back on the property, almost halfway between the two beaches (which isn't a big deal 5 minute walk). Beach is very pretty but I have to imagine that it gets packed in the high season.

Downside: Hotel comes off badly for trying to charge $30 extra per day for an "extra bed" when all they do is put sheets and pillows on the divan/couch which is certainly not big enough for an adult but is fine for a kid. They really should rethink this policy as two families who were there the same time we were felt very ripped off by this.

Place is quiet and comfortable. Good location. I'd certainly go back.

Big tip here is book your airport transfer directly with the hotel. Everyone who did was very happy - 45 minutes door to door instead of 2 plus hours and having to haggle and struggle with everything. Pretty good deal too as you get a whole van that will easily fit 10 for the same price (believe it was about $40).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This was a brilliant place to come and stay, it was maybe the best place we stayed in our comprehensive and lengthy tour of the region custom built to our requirements by Andaman Adventures (great job thanks a lot to them). The view is absolutely magnificent, even at night, when the rock formations of the one-kilometre-long, 200-metre-high Sleeping Indian wall look like – a sleeping Indian.

The Railay Village’s location on the most prime real estate on Railay is what gives it its wow factor, it makes it such a pleasant place to chill out – just relax, watch the view, wonder why the rock climbers can be bothered to scamper all over it, contemplate the next meal or cocktail – bliss. Don’t be in too much of a hurry here, as this is not a city hotel with lightning quick service, the waiters take their time a bit more here – they can do this without causing a problem though, as the restaurant is located in such a magnificent place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Jacuzzi villa: it rained and the roof leaked and cut of the electricity & Aircon 3 times in the night. The rooms are dark, gloomy and musty inside and need a refresh. The mattress is also hard like those in China hotels. They also have ponds around them which looks nice but is great breeding ground for mosquitoes. I was bitten very badly, it would be better if they filled them in as a garden feature instead. Would recommend the pool villas instead. The swimming pools were nice and clean. Overall landscaping is nicely done. Staff are friendly.
Breakfast is uninspiring with stewed coffee, they could do with a decent coffee machine.
The lunch/dinner a la carte Thai food was excellent and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose a pool villa not the Jacuzzi Villa as they look newer, brighter inside and are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Negatives:
In the restaurant, a very basic salad dish took 35 minutes because of 'a big party' - actual party size of 12. And only one other couple in the restaurant at the time. 2nd time that a simple lunch snack has taken longer than 25 minutes to arrive.
Asked for chocolate milk, but only do milkshake. Waiter told me to go to the resort coffee shop which was 15 meters away (and not open when I attempted 10 minutes earlier), but waiters regularly walk 150m to the shop on the Main Street to buy alcohol for guests.
Horrible 'sewage' smell by the spa and rooms 1031 / 1032 on some days.
TV remote batteries stopped working on the 2nd day. Asked reception for assistance but nothing happened. Continued to use the tv without the convenience of the remote.
Wifi coverage is almost inaccessible for most of the day and night in the rooms despite wifi allegedly being advertised as a free service - unless you sit at the front of the hotel (outside the coffee shop or reception) where it is available, but it can be slow during busy times.
Bed linen not changed for first 6 days. Air con, even on low, in the room was noisy.
Service from the female assistant in the coffee shop on first visit was quite rude. The levels of hospitality demonstrated by the restaurant staff varied widely.
On site shop open occasionally.
The path to east railay is signposted 'staff only', but guests do use it. Rubbish and scrap just left at the side of the walkway which is unsightly and a potential health hazard.
No loungers overlooking the beach (which is by far the west side of the islands best asset and something some of the other hotels provide).
Limited tv channels (approx 5) - much needed when there is a storm and little or no wifi coverage in the rooms.

Positives:
The spa staff were very helpful and welcoming as were the reception staff and the odd site staff.
Room cleaned daily. Fresh towels every day.
Breakfast choice very good, and timings were very expansive (7-10am).
Pool cleaned regularly. General outdoor area is kept clean. Restaurant toilets were clean.
Good location, the front of the hotel - the restaurant area overlooks the long beach.
On the penultimate day, we were asked if we could move to another room because there had been a mix up with another booking by a family who needed adjoining rooms, so we were moved to a villa at no extra cost be it less than 24 hours before we were due to leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. It is an odd lay out for the hotel but after seeing the fancy hotel location on the crap beach id say we did good especially as the beach area is the best. Also railay bay resort is next door and looked just as nice.
The jacuzzi was great, watched a movie with a cocktail in the jacuzzi when it rained and it was great! I had lots of hot water too which previously seemed a problem in past reviews.
The breakfast gave me some tummy issues and was the poorest we had on our 2 week stay near the area.
The night life was good, not sure why people said not to stay here as theres a boat bar and some nice bars to see right at the end of the nightlife are was a good chill out, tew lay bar think it was called, great views.
Would not go bk as had severe food poisoning from a restaurant in railay but it can happen anywhere so dont be put off it was a great stay.
Tip- dont pay for transport before going as is cheaper to get a long boat when leaving for cheap

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.