We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food and service, not worth it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Railay Village Resort to your Saves list
Railay Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service, not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

At first glance this resort is nice - spacious, spa with DVD player, doorstep beach. But several negative things make this place a terrible accommodation choice:
- shower water pressure is really weak, you'll spend at least 30mins for a usual 10min shower
- we ordered room service and the staff member tried to rip us off with the bill. He was also very intrusive, looking into our wallets when we were getting money out to pay. food was disgusting, old, smelly and made us sick!
- service is non-existent. The staff told us to approach the boat men ourselves when we asked about going to ao nang
- the room smelt like smoke and was filled with mosquitos
- spa was faulty when we used it
Really disappointed, what a waste of money. I've enjoyed staying at 2 star hotels more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    235
    97
    29
    22
See reviews for
94
276
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked into this hotel by a tour company and the reality did not match the website/brochure. Resort is long and thin with one of the thin ends on Railay West and the link to railay east by a long thin grotty walk through multiple construction sites. 2 pools are nice; we had 2 rooms overlooking the larger pool. No rooms have a sea view and there is no place to sit looking at the sea except in the dining area. Rooms were large and well appointed but the area outside them had a terrible (if intermittent) smell. My guess is that the septic tank or sewerage system is not working well and depending upon the direction of the wind, foul odours waft around thus sitting out by the pool was not always pleasant. Breakfast was OK, having eaten at the restaurant for lunch on arrival ( which was poor) it exceeded expectations but only because they were so low. Restaurant has no alcohol for sale but they allow you to buy from the next door bar or minimart and bring to the table.
You get to the resort by boat which was enjoyable; be prepared to jump into 2-3ft of water when disembarking however! The best beach for those who just like to sit and swim is phra nang which is about a 20minute walk but I suspect you could get there by boat if you prefer; most of the sand is underwater at high tide. There is extensive construction on railay East (and no beach) and this is not scenic or relaxing.
Staff are cheerful but the whole feeling of the resort is that it caters to backpackers having a little splurge, with lots of notices about how much one would be charged if things were lost/stolen/damaged. At checkout we had to wait at least 15minutes while someone went to check if we had used things from the minibar (we hadn't) and left things in good condition. They are in the process of renovation which is good as our sofa was sad and stained.
Although the scenery was wonderful, the area was not.....I think I was misdirected by my tour company as this was not the relaxing beach stay in a quiet beautiful area I had been hoping for

Room Tip: No sea views from any rooms; the small bungalow/cottages were further away from the bad smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Resort have an amazing see view . The beach , mountain , sun rise and set . The quality of the environment is the place went you have a dream holiday . The service of management is excellent . The Resort only supply a Halal food . No liquor . But we still can find a Cheng Beer by the side of the resort . We can do a lot of activity at the Resort . Like climb a mountain to see Railay Lagoon and the hole of the island, kayaking ,shopping and many more .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Beautiful laid back beach resort! We checked in to the spa villa and it really turns me on.

Railay beach WEST is nice...comparing to railay east, which are full of construction of new resorts there.Can't beat the west beach thou...although i've seen much more beautiful beaches in the world, railay beach east is still the acceptable splendid beach to go to.For muslims railay beach hv got abundance of halal food there.Most of the restaurants along the beach serves halal foods.Recommended to be back again...

Room Tip: Travel only during off peak months..it is much much cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is set in an amazing beach. Railay beach is outstanding and visually breathtaking. The hotel at first look seems nice, with spacious rooms, surrounded by trees, and a good size swimming pool. However, when you start to look a little deeper, things do fall apart. The breakfast is 2 star category, the pastries are horrible, the service nearly non existent, places pile up on top of the table nobody bothers to clean up, they use the same container for water and juices, so the water gets the taste of juices used at the breakfast buffet in previous days. Also, the empty water glasses by the buffet have a disgusting smell of cockroaches, i actually saw a couple running on top of the buffet.
Another disappointing thing was the lack of service minding. We were swimming, and we asked the staff to switch on the bubbles at the pool. First day the staff by the pool ignored us, and the second day we called reception, and they told us they could not switch on because is "automatic". We asked again to call maintenance to switch this thing on, and reception staff told us "i am only an employee here, if you want this on talk to the owner".
Another incident was regarding the boat station to go back to Krabi. They told us the wrong location initially.
I do not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms upstairs because the swimming pool gets super noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for about 10 days with my children. The room was spacious, the bathroom is large, too. The service was very friendly and polite. The hotel offered great tour packages. Affordable and great quality pick up from the airport makes your life much easier. Fantastic spa! The location and set up are wonderful, as the restaurant is almost on the beach, a great large pool is three steps away from your room door, another breathtakingly beautiful beach is a short walk away. The is a rural feel to it, with makes it a perfect spot for a low-key relaxing vacation with kids. If you want smith intense, fast-paced, luxurious, with lots of clubbing, shopping, dining-out, people-watching opportunities, this is the opposite!

Room Tip: We loved the pool-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is located on Railay west. If you take a boat there from Ao Nang you will be dropped off right at the entrance and by entrance i mean in the water, so, pack lightly. DO NOT TAKE THE BOAT FROM AO NAMMAO. This is not a place you bring rolling luggage or anything too heavy. Getting there and leaving are probably the biggest pains but everything else is fantastic. Easy access to beach and next to the walking street shops. The staff is so kind. Lots of extra curricular activities to enjoy (although way too pricey on the hotel grounds even for transportation back to the mainland). Go to Railay East to explore your options for transportation and extra curricular activities. I did everything on my own and saved a lot of money and enjoyed it to the max. I got the villa and I'm glad. More privacy. It was beautiful.The main hotel seems very impersonal. None of the rooms lead directly to the beach. Do not expect to sit outside your villa all day staring at the ocean. They are located inside a path that leads directly to the beach. The hotel is on the beach side of the island which is fantastic. The cleanliness isn't disgusting but I am a neurotic clean freak and the outdoor bathtub in the villa was a bit rusted along the jets and water marked.... definitely not something I'd soak in. Few spiders, beetles, frogs, crickets and monkeys. Lock your doors right and they shouldn't be a problem (the monkeys will steal everything in your mini fridge). I loved my stay here and will most likely stay again. I wasn't impressed by the "spa" but they had great pricing and very kind as well. On the beautiful beach facing the cliffs. Breakfast is also served in their restaurant facing the beach. All the bars and restaurants are on the East side so its nice that you just have to walk through the path to the noisy part of the island. This hotel is affordable and was wonderful to stay at. Definitely perfect to call paradise.

Room Tip: Get the Villas. Private. Comfortable. Closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.