We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* +++ amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Railay Village Resort to your Saves list
Railay Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“5* +++ amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Best location, amazing Pools, staff, rooms, cannot fault the experience.
We chose a deluxe villa because it was our honeymoon and my 30th birthday!
of a 4 week Asia adventure this was the highlight. Only three nights was not enough.
Day Spa - luckily had 50% so we booked the 4.5 hrs treatment together. Staff are really nice, sweet friendly and genuine, but not very well spa trained. (i am previous spa therapist and have visited many spas so am a fair judge of quality)
Restaurant had good food one day, average the next. It definitely costs more than the local shops, but really beautiful location right on the beach.
Side note: For the adventurous, head up to the view point and lagoon behind phra nang cave. not for the light hearted its not too easy.. very steap and you need to use the ropes provided to safely navigate the climb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    197
    86
    27
    18
See reviews for
81
224
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel really represents excellent value-for-money. Perfectly located on the West side of Railay Beach (only a few steps from where the long-tail boats drop you off), Railay Village Resort is the perfect place for those looking to enjoy a high-quality hotel experience without spending extortionate sums of money.

The rooms are spacious, clean and have well-appointed bathrooms. The pool area which runs in between cabanas on either side is lovely and aesthetically pleasing.

The staff are friendly and well-informed regarding attractions, transportation, etc.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for almost a week as part of a 3 week tour of the region organized by Andaman Adventures (who did a great job, totally recommend them). Our room was spotless and large, the maid came every day and kept it perfect. We booked a pool room and I thought it was very good value for the money we paid (we got a discounted price through our travel agent, who also requested us one of the rooms with a better view, which we liked).

The staff here were pleasant and always did the thing with the hands together when passing. Breakfast was adequate if nothing to write home about, the egg station dished up pretty good omelets.

The best thing about this resort is its location, bang smack in the middle of West Railay beach. The restaurant is right on the beach so you get a good view while waiting for your food, which was just as well, as service was definitely on the slow if smiley side. It was a bit irritating that you couldn’t get a beer here, but you can walk down the beach a bit and buy drink at a minimart, then drink it at the resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We expected more based on reviews, but this hotel was just average for the price. The rooms were nice, but we had issues with the AC unit in our room. The traditional thai massage at the spa was excellent. We did the Four Island "snorkeling" tour that the front desk recommended and it was not good at all, it is probably better to book outside of the hotel. The food at the hotel was good and reasonable although the breakfast included with the room was not nearly the quality of some the other locations we stayed at.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

For me this is the very best place in Thailand. We have stayed 3 times as a couple and we have always loved it.

The area has more hotels each year but I guess this was always going to happen so I hope the do not spoil the fantastic landscape.

The staff have always been great and the food fantastic.

I hope anyone planning a visit enjoys the resort as much as I did

Room Tip: The privacy bungalows are amazing but been happy in all and really depends on budget. Don't feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort with our two daughters and had a fantastic time. This hotel is located on the West side (most beautiful, with a great beach), and had two pools. Our family room was a deluxe pool room, and easily fit the four of us. The room was clean, spacious, and perfectly situated next the pool. The staff was amazing, and we especially enjoyed getting to know Sang, who went out of his way to show us great places on the peninsula. It included a great breakfast buffet and the we also ate two dinners at the restaurant which was delicious, with beautiful sunsets. The grounds and the rooms were gorgeously maintained, and the hotel was right by Walking Street with shops and bars. FANTASTIC stay that we would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here (in a pool apartment) for five nights and enjoyed it a lot. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Nice bathrooms, free fruit every day. We did have a complain on arrival that the bed was incredibly hard, and the staff offered to move us to another room.
If you are looking for a very familiar atmosphere, this is not the place. We never got the feeling of being recognized as “the once living in room xx.” The staff in both the reception and restaurant is more professional than personal. And the atmosphere in both reception and restaurant is among the weaker points about this place.
It is no big problem though. In walking street right next to the resort you find Flame Tree restaurant and bar which serves good food (both thai and western) and serves the beers you cannot buy in the resort.
The pool is amazing, and so is the sunset on the beach. But you won’t have it on your own. If you are looking for a quiet beach this is not the place. It’s not that there is much of night life going on but there are lots of long tail boats and guests coming in from other places near Krabi/Ao Nang.
To sum it up: The resort is not cheap so you should expect something. The rooms are great, the service is fine, the pool is great, the location very good. But I missed a little bit of charm and atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Railay Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Village Resort

Address: 544 Moo 2 Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Railay Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Village Hotel Railay Beach
Railay Village Krabi
Railay Village Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.