We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell on earth!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Private Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Private Resort to your Saves list
Diamond Private Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Mu 1, Tambon Ao Nang | Ampur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hell on earth!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This has to go down as one of the worst hotels i have ever been to! Myself and my boyfriend book into a mountain view room for 3 nights and paid for it before we arrived..we stupidly believed the lonely planet guide! The stairs upto reception were very dangerous, the staff were unfriendly and the room was dirty with plastic bags filling up cracks in the wall! The bathroom had ants, rat dropping and stagnant water...the list goes on!

Dont bother staying at this place, it is very expensive for what it is - we checked out straight away and lost our money : ( If you want to see the beautiful, amazing side of Railay treat yourself for a few days and stay at Railay bay resort and spa!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    8
    11
    26
See reviews for
9
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The hotel was recommended by Lonely Planet, so we booked three nights. Later, we read terrible reviews on Tripadvisor and were very apprehensive. However, we enjoyed the hotel so much that we booked four more nights.

Sure you have to climb a steep flight of stairs to get to the hotel, but once you're up, you're awarded with a great view. There is a nice, tropical garden and the view from the pool is super. The hotel must have been very beautiful when it was new. True, it does need to be refurbished. In particular I disliked the carpeted floor in our cottage. But I loved sitting on the balcony looking at the lovely bay below and the fascinating mountains while listening to the sounds from the jungle and watching the monkeys jump from the trees to the roof of our cottage.
The bathroom fixtures looked outdated. But still, it's good value for money.

Our teenage kids stayed in a two storey building where the bathroom was not very appealing. and really should be refurbished
Thus, the cottages would be the best choice for a stay at this hotel. The long stairway up to the hotel needs to be renewed. But once up, you're in a peaceful location.

Breakfast is included and is ok, too. So for the money, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

The hotel looked fantastic on the website, but it appears these photos were taken some years ago. When we arrived we were confronted by over 100 steep, rickety wooden steps up to the hotel, which were described on the website as 'about 20'. (There was a pulley system for the luggage!) Jane had torn the ligaments in her ankle two months previously which were still problematic so this was a major hurdle for her. Breakfast incidentally is served at their sister hotel so these steps have to be negotiated every morning. This didn't trouble us however, as despite booking and paying in full two months prior, they had managed to double book us! As we were waiting to be sorted out we should have perhaps paid more attention to the two English girls who were complaining they'd caught a mouse in their room. We go to Thailand every year and speak a little Thai, so we weren't suprised at the Thai staff's reaction of bewilderment, as they didn't understand what the fuss was all about. There were three completely empty floor to ceiling fridges so we couldn't even get a beer without renegotiating the steps of death. They eventually showed us to a delux building pool view room which was frankly horrendous. There were mouse droppings in the bed, the sheets hadn't been changed, there was a sticking plaster on the ceiling above the bed, the decor was old and moldy, the fittings were loose with broken plaster and rust, the bathroom was so disgusting we couldn't even force ourselves to have a shower (after 24 hours of sweaty travelling!) so we freshened up in the pool. The music from the resort just below pounded away till 3.30 in the morning, but this was almost drowned out by the noise of about 20 backpackers having a pool party from 2.30am onward right outside our door. The staff offered us alternative accomodation in their sister hotlel, the Diamond Cave, but we'd stopped there for a drink and received awful service (nothing like the usual friendly Thai service!) so we decided simply to leave. We headed to Koh Samui where we had a fabulous holiday, despite having to spend an additional £2000. To sum up, Raillay Beach east is a real backpackers haunt with poor food, hotels and hospitality. Fine if you're backpacking (as I once did round Thailand) and you know what to expect, but for a fortnight's holiday I'd advise everybody to give it a miss. Raillay west is more upmarket with great food and friendly service but it obviously costs more. As a regular visitor to Thailand, Raillay which was truly beautiful when I was there in 1997, has lost the plot. It's too quiet and small in respect of providing enough entertainment for a week let alone a fortnight, but it's also as noisy (providing noisy bars for backpackers) as Koh San Road having lost the tranquility which made it one of the most beautiful places in the world.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The view from the bungalows of the rocks is incredible and the view from the pool is very nice as well. Compared with other hotels on the east coast the price is good as well.

The staff are helpful , but the hotel does have many facilities, no food or drink, or tour events.

The rooms are a bit tired but perfectly acceptable. The place must have been great when it first opened. It now looks like its not been touched for 10 years plus.

Ok the steps....
The steps could be to much for many, my girlfriend was not happy with them and after 2 days we changed our room to one nearer to the swimming pool. Basically this hotel has something like 80 steps to the swimming pool/reception area. The basic rooms are located next to the pool, but the bungalows are higher still , ours was probably about another 60 steps up , and ours was not at the back. Because the hotel sells no food or drink you do find yourself going all the way down to the beech a number of times a day to get drinks/breakfest etc...

there is a bit of noise from a night bar called stone bar below the hotel, but this would effect most hotels around not just this one. And with the doors closed the noise is mostly knocked out.

Wifi is available but a bit pricey. It cheaper from internet cafes down on the beech.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Dont do it... Up a big hill with broken timber stairs, big price, poor service and dirty rooms. In the past it may had been good, now over priced, broken down and a rip of. They will take you to the worst room next to the rubbish tip first dump you there until you pleede and beg your way to the actual room you paid for,, plus charge extra 400bart for the relocation. We watched this happen to client after client. Breakfast is crap dont take this option, theres no sun shade around the pool and no chemicals to prevent the tummy bugs that most clients end up with. There is way better acommidation on the island for cheeper prices.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We were with my husband , daughter of 17 and myself. We just arrived in the area and stayed there 4 nights. We had a room at the pool (just four steps away) the terasse aside the pool had a great vieuw over the sea and the coast: the hotel is on a hilltop.
A safe wooden stair leads to the hotel, bit a trouble with the suitcases: you phone them to take you from the boat to the hotel.
Directly under the stairs is a line of bars and shops: many good choices for everybody. The noise of this part does not reach your room.
Know that the beach in front is not for swimming. You must walk 15 minutes along the shops to reach a magnificant sunsetbeach: the most beautiful ever seen. Ask for a room close to the pool or one of the houses naerby.The breakfast was great: free and you can choose what you want from the cart.
The staff and manager were very friendly and helpfull. We booked through internet, but discount was offered if we would stay longer.
The rooms were good, very clean and fresh. Aircon and seen no animals as others wrote. Many good trips were offered in the shops below. Taxiboats chaep. A really good choice above the croided Ao-Nang and Krabi.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

This stay at the Diamond Private gave us a very bad experience of Thailand and people of Thailand.
We stayed for 2 nights only (thank god...).
During that time we changed room 3 (!) times. The room was booked for 2 adults and one child (extra bed). The had no extra bed, I understand why. There was no room for it. The receptionis insisted to place a bed acroos the floor that was 1x1,5 sqr meter. I told her that we could walk in the room. So... we chabged to another bigger room. That room smelled garbage the whole night. We talked to the manager the day after. After that we changed to our third room..
That was OK.
When checking out the worst thing happened. We asked the staff to help us carry the bags to the reception. Ok, 200 baht, we accepted. It took them 20 minutes to do that. We understand why, when we reached Krabi town we saw that our mobile phone was missing (value 570 USD). It was stolen by the staff, we 100% sure.
+
When moving to our third room at the resort, we forgot to bring us beers and other things from the fridge. When we noticed that (after approx. 5 min) the staff had already opened the beers. They had to pay us for the beers.
+
No helpful staff at all. inpolite
+
* Very bad breakfast
+ more...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Private Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Private Resort

Address: 36 Mu 1, Tambon Ao Nang | Ampur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Private Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelBookers so you can book your Diamond Private Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Private Hotel Railay Beach
Diamond Private Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Private Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.