We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Railay Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
194/5 Moo 5 | Tambol Saithai, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Improve this listing
Visit Railay Beach like an insider
$31*
and up
Activities: Snorkeling
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Railay Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Took a longtail boat from Aonang,which was probably the best part of it.

Yes the beach is quite nice & the sea nice to be in to cool off abit,but it can only be described as a tourist trap.I would hate to be there in high season,May is low season & still fairly busy.

It was just your typical beach,afew bars / restaurants,probably expensive,quite abit of litter around.

Stayed an hour & left.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    436
    200
    71
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful place - totally spoiled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a most beautiful island that is totally wrecked by being totally bombarded by day trippers taking long boats and speed boats to it each day. If I had known what it was like I'd never have done it. The long boat trip we bought at the beach at Ao Nang was easy to accomplish, what was less easy was the return trip since they neglected to mention that they had more than one pick up and drop off place. We were dropped at the main beach that day trippers go to and waited 2 hours for the longboat to return to collect us. We found out, by talking to other people we recognised from our boat, that they picked up on the other side of the island, a walk that takes you right through the middle of another resort. Once we dragged ourselves and all our stuff to this beach we were eventually able to find a long boat from the tour company we'd used to return to Ao Nang. Thank heavens for helpful locals who directed us.
This island must once have been beautiful but I truly feel sorry for the people that are actually staying at the hotels there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rock climbing with King Climbers at Railay East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best climbing experience ever! My friend and I had planned the trip to Krabi to experience the rock climbing scene over at Railay. We booked the climb package offered at our guesthouse and its inclusive of climbing equipments (etc. harness, climb shoes, chalk bag), transportation and lunch if you are doing a full day climb. Our climb was being led by guides: Chong, Bale and one more guy with curly locks from King Climbers located at Railay East. The group size was relatively well matched with the number of guides, like in my case we had around 10 participants to 2-3 guides so everyone gets a try at each route. It was a low peak season so there's not too many climbers at any one climbing spot. We signed up for a half day climb initially but decided to extend our climb to a full day one as the climb was real good and the guides are real good at guiding. The routes that are set up varies from class 5 to class 6A and is doable for all and even those who are first timers. I would definitely be back for another climb with King Climbers come Nov or next year!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourves, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“spend a day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Railay beach is one of the niciest beaches on this world, Take a longtail and spend a day there.Don't stay too long there, the prices of the longtails are expensive once too late.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“lovely sunset view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

u get to see lovely sunset view here...u can walk to Phranang caves from here also rock climbing, swimming, kayaking etc etc

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.