We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Railay best beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Beach

Railay Beach
Railay Beach, Krabi Town, Thailand
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Hiking Trails
Activities: Snorkeling
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“West Railay best beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

East Railay beach is certainly picturesque, but West Railay the much nicer beach - proper sand, very warm and nicely shallow waters, and enough eateries to satisfy most tastes. Do NOT drink at the highly overpriced Flame Tree Bar (at the beach entrance to Walking Street): the worst, smallest and most expensive cocktails locally. If you're not obsessed with sunsets, go to E Railay to drink and eat! Phra Nang beach is also pretty, with views out to the islands, and more shade in the lee of the rocks; here, catering is limited to boats at the waters edge for (mainly non-alcoholic) cheaper drinks and hot or cold snacks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    257
    136
    46
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Railei Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Visited the Krabi area and stayed at Railei Beach. An absolutely beautiful place to stay, very picturesque with lots to do without having to leave. But if you want to venture further afield to do dirt bike riding, horse riding on the beach, zip lining, Phi Phi Island boat trip etc there are booking agents to arrange everything for you at great prices in walking street. Some reviews i read before going complained about the long boats making lots of noise all day but they are restricted to a small section of the beach and i hardly noticed them. There are lots of cheap and delicious eateries so you don't have to venture off to do a food shop if you don't want to. I am very glad that i decided to stay at Railei, it is a great place, highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, was paradise once !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On reaching Railay Beach, you can experience what can sudden burst of tourism if not properly managed can do to a place. There were lots of tourists and to provide all the services to this much amount of people, beach has suffered a lot. Overall, I would say:
-- Good place to visit once if u just want to relax, u can find food and most of the services on this beach.
-- Don't expect much as you can find a lot of similar beaches in Thailand with a more quieter and calm environment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Railay West, paradise interrupted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was going to call it “Paradise Destroyed” but decided to be optimistic about it. My love affair with Railay is in its 7th year, and I truly hope it will survive the “seven-year itch”. In this seven years I have seen one construction project. This year I see three.

The worst offenders are the Sand Sea Resort, and the Railay Bay group.

The Sand Sea Resort decided to upgrade their facilities. Fair enough, but the end result of it is a row of extra rooms (the beach can barely cope with the current number of people on it), and, for the time being, a very, very ugly barge in the middle of Railay West. To me Railay West is my peaceful spot, where I “go” mentally to relax. It is still there, and still lovely, but now I see this huge barge, with trucks going in and out.

But at least the barge will leave at some point (the construction is 6 months late, but one hopes). Much worse is what the Railay Bay group decided to do with the old Yaya Resort. This was a charming, if rundown collection of huts, that became the “budget wing” of the ageing Railay Princess. No more: the “reform” actually meant razing the Yaya to the ground, and replacing it with two blocks of concrete three stories high. I know that they will finish it in a way that looks less ugly, but still, it is a monstrosity. And it won't be budget anymore. Gone are the cheap restaurant, laundry, and the cheaper taxi option from Railay to Phuket.

Unfortunately though, the main problem is the manyfold increase in the number of boats arriving both at Railway West and Pranang beach. I can appreciate the hypocrisy of a tourist complaining about other tourists, but I never left plastic bottles, cups, and/or paper on the beach. In fact, you can find me minutes before sunset with a plastic bag actually collecting trash out of the beach. People can and must behave in a civilized way. It is the very least we can expect of ourselves.

As I finish this brief rant, I am happy to say that the barge is gone, at least for the weekend (but it looks like it is gone for good). Cannot say the same about the plastic bottle brigade though. But fear not, I will be back next year, on my perfect spot, and doing a bit of cleanup before sunset. I would just hope to see more people doing the same.

Last word: check with your hotel before booking to know if it is near on in any type of construction site. Unfortunately they seem to be getting more common around the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very beautiful beach with high mountains! Sunset and sunrise! you have an impression of living on a tiny island. Lots of bars and restorants on both sides, however, the most of the fun is on the East side of the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Railay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Railay Beach to your Saves list