We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, average resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Railay Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Awesome location, average resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Railay resort for 3 nights in the middle of March. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite (not a cottage) because they were closer to beach and everything. We read the reviews on trip advisor and figured that the location was more important than the quality of the hotel. The other reviews people have written are bang on - average quality but over priced hotel that gets away with its prices because of the out standing location. Would we stay here again? In a heart beat. The location easily makes up for the lacklustre attitude that embodies the entire staff, which I believe boils down to a management issue.

I wont go into great detail of the entire resort but Ill highlight a few of the greats and a few of the poors....

***Pros***
- Were waiting for us on the beach with a dolly when we got off the long tail to take our luggage. They were the only hotel on the strip doing this.
- Location, Location, Location - enough said
- Great and clean pool only feet away from the beach
- Breakfast had a surprisingly good selection, and was good.]
- Shockingly smooth airport transfer that went down with no glitches (1200 Baht. Includes boat and car transfer)

***Cons***
- Our first room (#0204) smelled like cigarettes (non smoking room) and then flooded when we took a shower. We obviously switched rooms. In the second room our sink drain was 90% clogged but it didn't bother us much, so we settled.
- Reception was very lacklustre, along with most of the service in general. They seemed to spend more time joking amongst themselves then attending to the needs of the guests. Expect to get four different waiters during dinner and repeat yourself each time only to still have something wrong, more organisation needed badly.
- Lots of flies on/around food during breakfast...a lot.
- Overpriced drinks (beer,water,juice,cocktails - everything) but this is to be expected.

Like I said at the beginning - we went into this expecting all these things and it made it easier to accept, and we would book here again just because it was a good enough hotel to sleep at in order to enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: Don't stay in suite # 0204 it smelled like cigarettes and had draining issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    456
    288
    127
    97
See reviews for
229
640
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I used the hotel transportation service which picked me up from the airport with their private van, then it was water taxi to the hotel, tractor type vehicle from beach to golf cart to hotel check in. I got in after dark so I highly recommend this option. It's hassle free and you don't have to lift a finger or get your feet wet. Granted, it's half as much if you arrange transportation on your own but it may be hard to get a boat in the evening. The water taxis will wait for 6-8 passengers before making a trip.

The restaurant food in just fine but there are cheaper options in the other hotels or restaurants on the east side. Breakfast get's old after a few days due to limited variety. The restaurant is beach front so the sunsets are fantastic and that's one thing that doesn't get old. I had dinner one night at Rayavadee, the high end resort next door, superior service and food but you pay for it. Nice option during your stay.

I stayed in the deluxe cottage but then transfer over to the privacy cottage due to room issues (leaky sink, broken door lock & power outages). The outdoor shower and hot tub makes the privacy cottages a more ideal choice.

Service, as stated by many, is below average. A few exception but for the most part the staff is not thrilled to be there. No issues with towels in the pool by west beach but not many too be found in the other pool which is centrally located. English is limited, this may annoy some of you. No fruit plate in our room on arrival, again, inconsistent service. On certain days it took them a long time to make up the room, 5pm+.

This is a family friendly resort. If you're looking to party, this not the place for you.

Railay beach is beautiful. No garbage in the water, sand is very fine, water is gentle and shallow. There are a few rocks/coral in the water so you do have to tread lightly. The water taxi traffic is sectioned off so it does help with some sense of order. Phra Nang beach, only a short walk away is even more spectacular.

Water taxi to Ao-nang is a flat 100THB, 150 after 6pm. I suggest staying at Railay if you're looking for a nicer beach. Ao-nang is a bit dumpy but cheaper in many regards. Ferry to PhiPhi is 450 THB one way.

The resort was less than half full. I think if the service was much improved it could be different but then again, half full is better sometimes.

Overall, if you want to stay at a beautiful and quite location and can overlook the below average service, it's a very nice place to be.

Room Tip: Confirming everyone's feedback. Privacy cottage is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After staying in Ao Nang before Railay, the difference in standards was a bit of a shock. In short, prepare to pay more to receive less, just for the privilege of staying on Railay.

The English standards of the staff was generally quite poor. I often had to repeat myself several times, to multiple staff members. The restaurant service followed the same theme- we ate there at least once per day, lunch or dinner, and we did not have one meal that was correct.

We had a triple room that was quite nice. Ours was very close to reception, so we were close to West Railay which was great. The bathroom was pretty poor though- there was mould in the bath, there was no shower curtain so the whole bathroom had a shower when I did and the "cupboard" under the sink was just unfinished concrete. We were travelling with a 2 year old so we were also more conscious of factors such as the curtains not being blockout and we couldn't turn the balcony light off, so the room was quite bright day and night.

It was nice to enjoy Railay before/after the daytrippers invaded, especially eating at the restaurant overlooking the beach at sunrise/sunset. However the 4 nights we spent were more than enough and we were happy to leave when we did.

Room Tip: Garden cottages are all located closer to East Railay (not as scenic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is located partway between the west and east beaches of Railay. Upon arrival to the east beach it seemed a bit underwhelming, but moving through to east the view is spectacular! Our bungalow was located midway inbetween convenient for the shop and cash machine and a small walk to the main restaurant and pool. The walk in between is a bit grimy but not too bad! Pool area is great and directly on the beach and never had any issues with getting a sunbed. This is the perfect place to watch the sunset also. The room itself was very spacious and the bathroom was like a mini-spa. The food in the restaurant is very nice and value for money but the service is sometimes very slow, it seems like more staff are needed. That said the staff are very friendly and welcoming, especially Jenny the manager who always waved a friendly hello. All in all we were very impressed with our stay, id definately reccommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the privacy cottage. The room was big and appeared clean on first glance but little attention was paid to detail. The jacuzzi outside was filled with dirty water upon arrival. Our welcome fruit plate was bitten up by some animal and the bellboy said they'll replace it. I later found the plate right outside our door and we never received a replacement. The toiletries were not replaced until I requested some more at reception. The wifi only works at the restaurant which I feel is a cheap way to get you to spend your money there. The breakfast selection is large but the first day the fruit trays were completely covered in flies. On subsequent days they had a basket covering them. The pool is clean. The worst part of the hotel has to do with the layout. To get from our room to the reception, restaurant and beach, you have to walk for 3 minutes down an ugly corridor with air conditioning units on one side and a concrete wall with loose hanging wires on the other. It smells like garbage and is very unpleasant. The beach is pretty but between 9am and sunset there's a lot of noise from the longboats bringing in boatloads of tourists for the day. Not sure if all the boats cause the sand in the water to be slimy. The sunset seen right from the resort is beautiful. They say Railay West is the most beautiful beach in Thailand which is reason enough to come here. Will try another hotel on west beach if we visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a Privacy cottage which was quite ok except for a few things:
- mould and cobweb in the shower area. Is $200 cheap enough not to clean properly? We stayed in the $50 hotel in the other town and bathroom there was in an absolutely perfect condition and looked just new.
- the garden is a joke unless you can call bare ground a garden
- jacuzzi looks dirty both because of the stone color and because it must have never been cleaned anyway
Besides that the room was clean and spacious, the bed was big and comfortable and the staff was ok. We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant after reading bad reviews.

Our friends were not that lucky as their Deluxe cottage was not cleaned at all when they arrived there and was not cleaned despite the number of complaints. It seemed that the bed linen has not been changed after the previous visitors, too. They ended up WIPING THE FLOORS THEMSELVES and windows, too, imagine how dirty they were.

Room Tip: Don't take the Deluxe cottage, take at least the Privacy Cottage. Don't expect perfect clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Perfect from word go, great pick up from Airport, so helpful even to the point of carrying the pushchair onto the boat with our Daughter fast asleep inside. Check in was quick & even though my request for a cot in the room was done it was rectified in minutes (must thank Don for his help) as for Privacy Cottage well just what is says Private. Had heard some bad reviews on the restaurant but must say it was great & the food was lovely & service was quick. The tour service office were outstanding & organised a tour for us at short notice with a Private Speedboat for the day & was worth every single Baht truly outstanding day. All I can say there is nothing the hotel will not try & do to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Don't think it's anything the hotel can control but if you are prone to get bitten by mosquitoes then bring some repellant & spray (these can be bought on site) I get bitten everywhere I go but if your not used to it will be a pain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Railay Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railay Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 145 Moo 2 | Ao Nang Amphur Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Railay Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A pearl in the Andaman for you to touch." Railay Bay Resort & Spa is part of an exclusive group of resorts that have beach front access to the renowned Railay Beach, which is perfectly located in Krabi, a most picturesque province. You will find that we are the only beach resort that has a West to East orientation at Railay Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Railay Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railay Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Railay Bay Resort And Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.