We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rewarding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Railay Beach Viewpoint

Railay Beach Viewpoint
Railay Beach, Krabi Town, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Railay Beach
Type: Lookouts, Landmarks
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
917 reviews 917 reviews
379 attraction reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
“Rewarding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything is so mobbed with people around this place that coming up here really delighted me.

99 percent of Railay tourists will be put off by the steep rocks and ropes, bit of mud and need for decent shoes.

Its not a long trip up, but feels sort of adventurous and you get to a great viewpoint far above the crowds below. Beautiful.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    27
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was strolling around in flip flops a bathing suit and cover up, when I saw on a map lagoon and viewpoint. Ohhh how do I get there? The lady at the store told me you have to climb, so I thought this meant only rock climbers. Not so. It is a climb and there is a rope, but you don't need it. It's very protected, and there are lots of nice rocks to hold onto. Flip flops weren't the best choice, but manageable. This isn't for little kids, those easily afraid of heights, or people that can't pull up their body weight if skipping rungs on a ladder. The make it to the lagoon is more challenging because once you get up you have to climb back down a very steep area to get to the lagoon. And of course the way in is the way out. So you have to do it all again to get home. People are really friendly in the lagoon. I guess because the experience of getting there bonds you a little. I'm glad I went for the adventure, but it was muddy and hot in the lagoon so don't feel bad if this part is too steep for you. The highlight was the viewpoint.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well what can I say, just the most stunning view but make sure you do it early before it gets too hot and wear decent shoes. The actually climb does look a bit daunting when you see the start but there is honestly nothing to worry about. There are ropes which are there to aid you in pulling yourself up if you require them. One thing I would suggest though is to carry some water and don't wear good clothes. Your hands will be a sort of an orange colour once you have finished and parts of your clothing if you sit down for a rest.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Must Do - Amazing View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

You MUST do this when you come to Railay. The photo you take will be an instant winner and will hit all your social media feeds as soon as you get back to your precious wifi signal. I'm speaking from experience of course. ;)
But seriously, the view is worth the short steep climb. Shoes recommended but not needed. Something closed toed (like my Sanuks) worked fine. Usually lots of people up there in the small space, but take your turn, get your photo, enjoy the view a minute, then get out of the way. Proper tourist etiquette kids!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Short but steep climb. Good views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Climb is steep but short. Fully enclosed and secure footwear recommended. We did the climb with a one year old in a backpack so it was slow and steady but do-able. Go left at the fork at the top of the climb for the view point and right for the lagoon. Lagoon track is quite tricky and not possible with a little one. Worth the effort down if you can. Kind of feels like you're back in time with the dinosaurs.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Railay Beach Viewpoint also viewed

 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 

Been to Railay Beach Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Railay Beach Viewpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.