We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only go here if you a poor budget traveller!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Railay Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa
Save
You added Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa to your Saves list
145/1 Moo 2 | Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ya Ya Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
LONDON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“only go here if you a poor budget traveller!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

we stayed in this resort for 2 nights during when we were travelling with a group tour!

on first sight it looked like such a quaint place, and i loved the idea of climbing up the steep steps to get to the bungalow type rooms stacked on top of each other!!

but the reality is, it was quite difficult to get up and down the stairs with your luggage!!
the room was REAL REAL basic! i would say one of the worst ive ever stayed in!

the bathroom was suspect, ants crawling everywhere in the bathroom, and some in the room. there was no air con! and in the sweltering heat, you need it!!

the room was small, and confined, and we couldnt wait to get out of there! luckily we were only there for 2 nights, so mostly was spent outside exploring!!

location was perfect. middle of everything!
and dont expect any amazing views out the window!

so if you are a budget traveller, then this place is for you!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    11
    12
    24
See reviews for
2
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The room was small and basic, but clean. The building was wooden, and had a treehouse/bungalow feel to it. But the rooms seemed to be crammed in to all available space. Overall, fine if you're planning to spend the majority of your time out exploring, climbing, sailing, lying on the beach etc. But definitely not for you if you're looking for more of a 'resort'. I think there may be a pool you can pay to use, somewhere, but the beach was what I was looking for!

We had a fan that only seemed to have one speed and we couldn't get it to stop blowing straight onto us. Not a bad thing through the day, but a bit too much when you're trying to sleep. Turning it off just meant the room turned back into a sweatbox though. Just tolerable for 2 nights, but if staying longer, I probably would've switched to a room with aircon.

Location-wise, it is bang in the middle of East Railay, and just an easy 5 minute walk to West Railay. We ended up staying for this reason, really. As whilst there are other budget places around, this seemed to be the most central of them. Then again, nothing in Railay is too far away... unless you have a super heavy bag to carry!

In most other places in Thailand, I'd call this overpriced. But I suppose in Railay terms it is budget, and overall, tolerable.

The staff that we did encounter were also pleasant and helpful. And we were able to leave valuables at reception without any problems.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, request a room on the ground floor. We were on the first floor, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This is a good budget option if you are planing to spend most of your time climbing and being outdoors. The resort is a group of three story wooden bungalows full of character set amongst trees and winding paths. The rooms are mostly wooden with fans and could do with updating. The bathroom is adequate at best and we did have problems with the water supply. The rooms on the higher levels offer more light, privacy and peace.

The resort is well located in the middle of West Railay and everything is only a short stroll away. Check in was easy and the restaurant provides good food. Staff are a little inattentive but their friendly attitude makes up for any short comings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Previously called Ya Ya resort, Princess Budget Wing is all you need in beautiful Railay. Treehouse type bungalows in the middle of a forest, the rooms were clean, hot shower, a great fan that was very strategically placed directly over the bed and the staff very friendly. Our first room wasn't the best, at the back and looking over a washing line, but we asked them to move us to a front facing room which was perfect. Lovely to lie in bed looking out the window into the trees. Great location - right in the middle of the East side, 2 minutes walk to the beautiful West side and very close to all the restaurants and bars on the East side. I'll definitely stay there again, just ask for a front facing room not on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok (Australian)
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've given this hotel 2 stars because it is a 2 star property not because we had a bad experience. This hotel was formerly called Ya Ya resort.

We booked online last minute and stayed over new years (mainly because everywhere else was full). We paid 2200baht for 2 nights. It was a little noisy one of the mornings, but otherwise it was reasonably quiet (we weren't in our room often)

Only thing to be aware of are that the stairs are really steep, so if you're not as fit as you used to be or have bad balance maybe book a better room/ask for a room on the ground floor or stay somewhere else. Other thing to note is that the room was really small! So if that's an issue don't book the budget wing.

Breakfast wasn't included, but we ate up the road and had great meals.

Railey is beautiful!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninh binh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Some rooms better than others (we had to change around as there were different numbers of us at different times)

Rooms have a bit of character to them as they are wooden, could say a bit dingy. I liked it though.

It's in a good location and one of the cheapest in Railay so I would stay there again.

Nothing to write home about though...........

Room Tip: higher floors I found better. Nice to have a balcony and generally more airy and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Hotel and rooms are very basic, but if you life not on 1st floor, be very careful - because stairs are very very dangerous! :)
Staff is ok, prices could be lower, but it`s ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa

Address: 145/1 Moo 2 | Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand (Formerly Ya Ya Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort & Spa Hotel Railay Beach
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort And Spa
Princess Budget Wing At Railay Princess Resort & Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Budget Wing at Railay Princess Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.