We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, shame about the service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sand Sea Resort to your Saves list
Sand Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   39 Moo 2 | 39 หมู่ 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 548 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super location, shame about the service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at sand sea for 4 nights. We had the junior cottage suite-definitely worth getting this for the huge TV and jacuzzi bath.
The room was spotless and location right on the beach-lovely.
The cons: indifferent, uninterested staff and a pantomime check out procedure. Also, a slightly odd smell around the chalets in the resort was offputting.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    255
    122
    36
    49
See reviews for
83
290
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

After reading some not so favourable reviews of this resort we didn't have such high expectations but was pleasantly surprised that it was better than we expected.

Pros
- on the gorgeous stretch of Railey West, perfect for sunbathing, reading and resting with ALOT of greenery

Cons
- Average service and massage (convenience shop workers find it hard to crack a smile, some difficulty in the staff understanding or speaking english)
- We experienced 1 power cut one evening and woke up to no water supply the next morning, HOWEVER they were rectified within 10 mins and it was due to the construction next door , which is slightly noisy so best to get a room more closer to the reception
- had a BIG issue with the MOSQUITOES! my husband was severely bitten and what was worrying was all the still water being kept (in front of the rooms and pond) which could be a breeding ground. Recommend to ask the cleaners to change it or empty it out if possible!
- housekeeping doesn't seem to understand much
- breakfast was average and amenties only in OK condition.


Overall we got a great deal on the price for the hotel since it was low peak season, and the weather was perfect throughout so we were happy with our stay in this resort. If we had paid PEAK season prices, then wouldnt think it would be worth the value.

Dining tip : if you are looking for cheaper meals (all of Railey is way overpriced), take a stroll to Railey East...more backpacker scene, smaller restaurants..The Last Bar food and cocktails are good!

Room Tip: Since consturction is going on at the back, get a room closer to the reception area, pool area. Nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friends and I booked at this place because we figured if we were going to stay at Railay, we might as well stay on the West beach. Also, it was one of the nicer places that was in our price range. We had rather low expectations after reading some of the other reviews.

When we arrived, we were dropped off in the water in front of the hotel with our heavy bags. As Railay is only accessible by water, this is just part of the fun. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it suited us just fine. The breakfast was good, lots to choose from. I can't remember bugs being an issue for us, just a few mosquitos at times, but what do you expect when you are staying at a gorgeous beach surrounded by jungle?

The scenery was just breathtaking, and you could eat dinner at the hotel while watching the sunset. We were there at high season and it was not overcrowded in the least. The food was fine, the service was okay, and I can't say it was worse than the service we had received anywhere else throughout our trip.

The pool was great, especially after a day in the sun at the beach. You could lounge in the pool and still enjoy the view of the beach and cliffs, or use the Wifi in that area. The biggest downside for me was that this resort does not serve alcohol, but as we did not pay for all inclusive, it made no difference really.

Sidenote: if you are into snorkelling, I would recommend that instead of doing an organized trip/tour, get a small group of people together, pitch in some cash and hire a longtail boat for a day. Ask the driver to take you to all the beaches of the surrounding islands, we did that for about 15$ a person (there was only four of us) for a full day and it was just unreal. At times we were the only people on some of these gorgeous beaches.

Sadly we were only in Railay for three nights, but it was the best times we spent in Thailand (we had spent the first three nights in Phuket, which was altogether unfortunate).

All in all, although our expectations were low before we arrived, and we LOVED Sand Sea, LOVED Railay Beach, and would all go back and stay in the same place, because to us, the location couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the most expensive of the 6 places we stayed at during our 3 weeks of travel in Thailand but we received the WORST service, food ETC ETC. The reception staff are quite happy to watch new arrivals navigate rain, high tide, bags and children but are unable to get up and assist them. Breakfast is poor with ants in the juice, chipped coffee cups, broken saucers etc and during the day restaurant staff can be seen resting there heads on the tables...after the first lunch meal with disinterested staff and 'fake Fanta' we never ate another meal there ! The restaurant has a lovely view except you can't see anything through the dirty blinds ! if you attempt to relax in your room be prepared for : noise from building renovations, mosquito bites and smell of sewerage which even woke one at night. Towels in the rooms are stained and floor mats are old and frayed !The beach and views are stunning - this is obviously what keeps this resort going but rather pay more elsewhere and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Railay Beach hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

great value for the location! I stayed in an air conditioned bungalow which was spacious clean and peaceful setting. sipping coffee overlooking west railay beach each morning was bliss.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Having arrived at the resort, following our rather unique transport (wading thigh deep out to the long tailed boat, carrying luggage above our heads!) we were absolutely captivated by the tranquil location.
Our bungalow, set back from the beach, was a good size, as was the bathroom, with huge shower area. There were complimentary bathroom essentials and bottled water, replenished daily. The gardens leading to the bungalow were well tended and tidy.
Although the swimming pool was being repaired during our stay, there had been an arrangement made for us to be able to use the pool next door, which was lovely, with comfortable sun loungers.
We enjoyed relaxing on the veranda, watching the squirrels in the trees, and after a walk to an inland bar, one day (up a hill, but amazing view!) we saw monkeys in the trees above our heads!
There was a very good choice of food for breakfast, and it was lovely to be able to sit overlooking the beach while enjoying it.
Overall, the resort was very relaxing, with just a handful of small bars/restaurants serving good food.
An absolute must on this holiday, is to try the massage. A fantastic experience, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in an air-conditioned bungalow for five nights while travelling with friends who were staying in different resorts nearby on Railay West. While the West side of the Railay peninsula is certainly the nicest as far as the beach goes (the East side is covered in mangrove trees and is not swimmable), the accommodations are more expensive.

At the time we stayed there, the Sand Sea was the cheapest option. After hearing about and seeing the rooms that our friends had at the neighboring resorts for marginally more money, I wish I had chosen differently.

The main issues I had were with the amenities of the room. The air-conditioner was clearly quite old and didn't really cool the room as much as it blew humid air around. A huge issue was the water; we noticed one night that there was no water (so no washing, showering or going to the bathroom) and alerted the staff, but it didn't seem like anything was done. The water would come and go and was never really reliable. The hot water was basically a mythical creature that I observed once for about thirty seconds and never saw again.

Other small grievances were with the quality of the food, for how inflated the price is from normal Thai fare (about 3-4x). It was impossible to get a real cup of coffee (though the smaller, less-posh huts on the other side of the peninsula have no trouble pouring you some).

Overall, it just felt like a facade of a nice resort on top of a very mediocre accommodation. I would have happily paid a bit more for better experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2 | 39 หมู่ 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Magic land of the sea where you can have enjoy privacy in one of the most beautiful places of the world. We are provide you with many comfortable room which are either naturally air and feature air conditioning. We also offer range of delicious Thai and Western cuisine. Come to place where you are close to nature, sandy beaches crystal clear water and an amazing under water world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.