We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Railay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Tropical Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Sunrise Tropical Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Railay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Loved this hotel...one of my favourite in Thailand! My only regret is that I didn't spend more time in Railay.

The location is fantastic - less than a 10 minute walk to either West Railay beach or Phra Nang beach. About 5 minutes from the restaurants and bars on East Railay.

Our room was large with a comfortable king sized bed and the bathroom was huge with a separate tub and shower. Everything was clean as well, the staff were always friendly, and there was a great selection for breakfast (including an omelette station). Although there was construction at the hotel next door, I never heard any noise and it didn't impact our hotel stay at all.

My only issue was that our room seemed to have mosquitos in it and although we killed a few before bed, I woke up one morning with several bits on my face (I should mention that mosquitos seem to love me and my husband didn't have a single bite). However, friends of ours who were staying next door didn't have this problem at all. We might have just been unlucky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    230
    88
    36
    11
See reviews for
67
229
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travelled to the Sunrise Tropical resort, with my Girlfriend in January 2013. We spent 3 nights there and really enjoyed the hotel, and Railey beach.

We arrived at Railey beach, on the afternoon ferry from Phi Phi. Getting to the hotel wasn’t the easiest as no one was at the West Beach ferry drop to meet us. This was my fault really as I forgot to email arrival details in advance. It was probably a 5 min walk from the West beach, to the hotel. Luckily a helpful hotel worker from another hotel (based on the west beach) could see we were struggling with luggage and helped us with his trolley. He made 100 baht, and saved us the hassle. We were all happy!

On arrival at the hotel, check in was easy and quick. The hotel porter quickly transported our luggage to our room. We were booked into a one bedroom villa. He showed us around the villa, and it was really nice. Spacious, spotlessly clean, huge bed. Nice bathroom with a good shower area. Separate dressing area. Safe in wardrobe, free wifi, TV, aircon, lovely balcony looking into the tropical garden grounds of hotel. We were really, really impressed with it.

The pool area at the hotel is nice, but due to trees and buildings, a lot of the sun beds appeared to be in the shade for quite a lot of the day. The pool itself was very cool, just what’s needed when the temperatures get a bit much!

The hotel serve a very good breakfast which is inclusive of the room price, it has many hot items, as well as fresh eggs, fruits, pastries, cereals, yoghurts and juices.

The location is great, its located next to Railey east beach, which isn’t a swimming beach at all. In fact, it’s more a muddy mangrove which does smell a bit at certain points of the day depending on the tide. However, don’t let this put you off. You have 2 great beaches within a 10 min walk. Also, all the main restaurants, and bars are located on the East side, plus, I believe it’s cheaper for accommodation on the east beach.

A must do whilst in Railey, is take a walk to Phra Nang cave & beach. There is a lot of rock climbing going on here which is pretty cool to watch, the scenery is stunning with huge lime stone cliffs, and the beach is up there with the best I have seen in Thailand. I don’t think there is much in the way of snorkelling here, so that lets it down if that’s what you want. Personally, I felt Railey was much nicer than Phi Phi, it is much calmer and more chilled, but with enough to keep you entertained for a few nights.

There is a small walking street that links the East & West beaches. There are a few small shops, and restaurants here, but all of the main action is found bordering the East beach.

The only negative we experienced at this hotel, was construction noise. We were advised that there would be construction happening at a neighbouring site. When we made the booking, we were told it was due to finish in November 2012. It was still on going in late January 2013, and after speaking with reception they think it will go on until April 2013. There is a small sign at reception saying affected rooms get a discounted rate. Our villa didn’t qualify for this rate, however after the first night when construction kept us awake until 2am we complained at reception. We were given a refund so as we paid the discounted rate for affected rooms. This was more than a satisfactory resolution, the construction noise was minimal at night and didn’t prevent any further sleep. It was a little annoying if sat by the pool, but we spent most of our time away from the hotel so were not overly troubled. Might be worth bearing in mind if travelling with young children though.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Sunrise tropical resort, and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone who is thinking of visiting Railey.

Room Tip: We had a villa, was really nice and not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the vila (the bigest one) room for 2 night, booked with Booking in a better price 5,200 THB insted of 5,700.

Pro:
Room has 2 showers
Great big bed
Good breakfast
Great service
Great location (in the middle of the east side)
Great restaurant (dinner/launch)

Cons:
Outside shower is filled with ants (not in the room although, and disepear when you open the water)
Bed sheets has small stains on its
Frogs outside the room making a loud nosie (for very sensitive ppl it will be a bit hard to fall a sleep).

This side is a better side for staying, only 10 min walk to the west beach, diamond cave and the south beach.

Enjoy...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Located on the 'swamp' beach side of Railay, but this didn't bother us as its only a short walk to either of the two better beaches on Railay.

Our room, although standard , was massive and as was the bathroom / shower area and was modern and spotlessly clean. We had a nice porch with table and chairs where we could have an evening drink. Wifi in the room was patchy. The hotel ground were kept very clean and were well presented

Breakfast was a buffet affair and had a good choice. We didn't eat here at night so can't really comment on the restaurant in the hotel.

The pool area was small and not many sun loungers but we spent most of our time on the other beaches.

We loved our stay at this hotel, don't let the location put you off!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We might have been influenced by the beauty of Railay, but this resort made it perfect. Staff was more than helpful with everything, we were upgraded to a water, pool view which was delightful, espec in the mornings with the monkeys swinging around the mango trees. Even though no beach on east Railay, the location is great, 5 minutes to West Railay Beach where the prices were higher for everything but the scenery is amazing. East Railay has the most choice of good restaurants, any price you want and great energy. Sunrise Tropical includes a dynamite breakfast buffet, with an array of fruits, we had to ask what stuff was, in addition to thai, western, whatever you desired. Excellent food! We kept prolonging our departure and would def go back to this bit of paradise.

Room Tip: The pool/water view room was super, with a little porch. We did change to a room in back for one nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sunrise is a very nice resort, with very reasonable prices in comparison to other places in Railay. It also compares very well in terms of standard of accomodation. Being smaller than other places of simialr standard, you get good services and we found the staff freindly. We had a bit of confusion on arrival because of a change of rooms (there 5 of us) to move us away from construction noise (it is everywhere in Thailand and you can't avoid it no matter where you go), and we didn't end up with the room configurations we initially booked. However, it was a room upgrade to the very nice Villa Plus's and the manager subsequnetly checked that we were ok, so that all worked out nicely.

While not on West Railay, that beach is only 5 minutes or less work. In any case, the best beach is Phra Khanong, and Sunrise is the second closest hotel. The tidal East Railary is fine, and has its own picturesque charm and character. There is also a better range of bars and restaurants in East Railay.

We also found the hotel restaurant reasonable with very nice food. Tip: get the seafood kebab and bring some beer or wine to put in the fridge.

I recommend this hotel and couldn't see another hotel in Railay of similar standard at a simialr price.

Room Tip: The Tropical Villa Plus's are beautiful, but all rooms look good. Check when you book if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This accommodation is on Railay East... Basically, the side of Railay which doesn't have a beach. This shouldn't put you off.. Still great views from the front and literally a 5 minute walk takes you to the West side with it's wonderful beach and nice quiet bars a restaurants..

On the west, everything shuts down at 10:30 with quite a few of the resorts and restaurants not serving alcohol, this isn't a bad thing as it does help you stay off the stuff or you can always go to the mini mart, buy some beers or wine and take them in with you, they are happy for you to do this..

Sitting on the beach at night with a beer and just relaxing is amazing... I've been to Phi Phi and although granted, it is postcard perfect with the paradise islands, it's far too busy.. Railay was perfect in every way...

On the East there are busier bars if you want music till late, fire shows etc... It has the best of both worlds..

Sunrise was nice, we opted for a villa which was really nice.. Free water, bug plug and refill provided, slippers etc etc...

We had a villa which sat right next to the main path that took you to the West side, this meant from 6am you got the workers, tourists leaving etc etc... A bit annoying bit we weren't wanting to move as it wasn't that bad, just meant you felt that despite a lovely villa in really pretty grounds, you had 2ft one way a path with constant traffic..

Another issue we faced was 30GBP was taken out of a bag, we only noticed after leaving, it was our own fault as we didn't use the safe. I e mailed sunrise when I got back, just so they could track any trends with certain staff, they replied asking to clarify if it was house keeping. I replied saying I can only assume so... No reply, no apology etc etc... It was our fault but an apology would have gone a long way...

Staff ok, most speak enough english to get by so that's fine..

All in all, lovely destination, good, clean accommodation so we would go back...

Just select room away from path and as with any destination, use the safe as the money that went missing is probably more than a months wage... Possibly can't blame them if we are sill enough to leave to unattended in bags..

Good choice though and will be back..

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from path which runs along resort... We stayed in villa but chalets looked fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Tropical Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang | Railay Beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Railay Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunrise Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Tropical Resort, an exclusive resort on Railay East Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Tropical Hotel Railay Beach
Sunrise Tropical Krabi
Sunrise Tropical Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.