Starting with the positive:
-stunning location between two beaches, one of them "Phranang" probably the most beautiful beach in the world. This is not advertised enough in their websites...
-boat pick-up: small speed boat with crew and captain, felt quite a VIP! Journey at Rayavadee started with the boat pick-up which was the only real luxury touch of the whole stay. Altough they didn't even say hello/ welcome to Rayavadee neither did they ask for our name when we got in...very strange.
Getting cold water after our long trip would have also been a nice touch...
-complimentary beers, soft drinks and snacks in the fridge
-wide grounds, although we got lost many times and its not well lighted at night, we loved the "jungle feeling" of the resort. Gardens are not manicured and perfect but rather a bit wild, was quite nice to feel we were in "real nature".
-beautiful infinite pool located in front of the beach
-really nice Spa
Now, the negatives...
Felt the management is not present, poor Staff organisation& inconsistent service. They also seem under-staffed and some of them just work too much, it made me feel very very uncomfortable.
-Staff: would not automatically greet or acknowledge us, seems it only relies on the staff personality than a proper quality service training required for this kind of price range. Don't expect the golden rule "Hello-Thank you-Goodbye" from everyone...
When asking a buggy standing right in front of us, one cold-faced lady "Jazzy" just told us: "you have to wait because buggy is busy to pick-up luggages first...". Felt luggages were just more important than us, quite a disturbing answer!! Anyway we waited, she jumped on the buggy as well and jumped-off to her next duty place without even saying goodbye or anything...???sorry to disturb lady...
Also witnessed Staff on night duty (8pm-all night long at the reception) still helping at breakfast at 12pm...I asked her if she slept she told me "no sleep yet! But I'm used to it!"...made me sick and uncomfortable. I am not spending my money to exploit people.
Same at check-out, only 1 guy in his 50's came to pick-up our 60kg luggages (by walk, not buggy or luggage carriage). It made me sick, 2 people should be mandatory.
- We were upgraded for a Pool Villa, nice but not Waou. Ground floor looks a bit old fashion (brown curtains, heavy brown furnitures, cheezy wood carved bambous and marble alike wall!!). The pictures on their website are a way more sleek...
We loved the 2nd floor: pristine white bathroom, really good quality bed.
Terrasse was just ok, few sun and we would have appreciated to be warned about the monkeys: we were attacked by 5 monkeys after peeling 1 mango outside, that was quite a scary experience!!
-At the end of our stay we asked the hotel to organise for transportation until Ko Samui. This is how our stay ended in nightmare...
Without explaining us anyting about the travel conditions (which we would have refused) they booked us for a bus-boat transfer. Assuming we are requesting to a "luxury" hotel and not a travel street agency, I completely relied on them...Don't!!!
A mini-van already full of backpackers came to pick-us up at the pier after the boat ride,no Staff was there we had to load our heavy luggages ourself and to travel 2 persons in the front by the driver with no security belt working... Then we had to change for a bus, still the luggage issue and full of backpackers! Impossibe to sit together with my fiancee.
Then the boat.
Ok let me get that clear, they could have arranged for private car transportation to the boat. We were not even offered with the option, the money was not an issue and we could have enjoyed the resort much longer rather than be stuck in a slow bus with cheerful backpackers...I was very frustrated.
So basically this hotel is not consistent. Sometimes its luxury, sometimes its just ok or low-quality. They have so much potential to grow and become a top destination. Good luck to them...a lot has to be done. Paying same money there as let's say the Four Seasons is a joke.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Rayavadee with us on Trip Advisor. I believe our General Manager sent you a reply last week to follow up on your feedback regarding your transfer experience but please allow us to reply here as well. Firstly, we are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your stay and as per your note to our GM after your departure saying that you felt that “Everything was very nice during the 3 days at Rayavadee. We received lovely villa upgrade and spent nice time. Few small mishaps but the nature and beach were magnificent so we did not think twice, and left you a very positive comments".
We are glad that you appreciated the surrounding nature and the jungle-like gardens which are part of the natural appeal of the resort. We apologize if the monkeys, which inhabit the cliffs around the resort, startled you. We do make an effort to tell our guests about them and based on your feedback we have included a paragraph about this in our arrival letter. Thank you for the suggestion.
We are also glad you enjoyed the five-star arrival experience in the resort’s own private speedboat, our beautiful beachfront infinity pool and our spa and that you appreciated the small touches such as the complimentary beer, soft drinks and snacks provided to you daily in your pavilion as well as the décor of the upper floor of your pavilion, the bath and the bedding. We are sorry to read you did not really like the décor on the ground floor. It is a brand new design and we receive many positive comments on it and all of the small handcrafted details such as the bamboo fittings which are inspired by our natural surroundings.
We do need to address your feedback on our staff and apologize here if you did not find their welcoming warm and friendly. They are our greatest asset and we normally get wonderful feedback on the excellent and caring Thai style service they provide. We have taken all of your comments however into consideration and have shared them with the team to see what can be done to improve in this area. I would like to assure you that while our team work hard, they have normal schedules and no one is taken advantage of/exploited or required to work beyond their scheduled hours. I appreciate that you had this impression and felt concerned but it is simply incorrect.
Finally, regarding your departure arrangements to Koh Samui, we feel very badly knowing that you had an uncomfortable and unpleasant experience with this outside operator. Our staff did try to explain the various options available to you, including the private hotel van transfer which we do indeed offer but which is a much pricier choice. Unfortunately, they understood wrongly that you were not interested in this more expensive option. I am afraid that the message just did not get through and for this we are truly sorry.
We thank you sincerely for your comments and for sharing and will continue to strive to improve our guests experience and stay. We wish you all the very best and hope that we may have the chance to welcome you back again one day in the future.
Director of Sales & Marketing
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.