We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rayavadee Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rayavadee Resort to your Saves list
Rayavadee Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Railay Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
bangkok
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unique. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Living in Thailand, we are fortunate to be able experience resorts like this and when comparing it to others, it is very good. Service wise, it's excellent in a country that prides itself on service excellence. The ambience and setting is also excellent, the grounds are immaculate, the views incredible and the monkeys are a cute interlude. The rooms are a bit 'old school'. If you want dripping marble and chandeliers, this is not for you; but then you would not come to Krabi for that anyway. Krabi is about the scenery and ambience.  The food at the restaurant next to the pool was very good.  The spa is also excellent. 

The resort is not clearly cheap, look for a package that includes some meals. It's also a bit silly to charge $2 for drinking water in the restaurant when you get it by the pool for free.....go figure.  About the only downside is that there are no private beaches, that's just Thailand and not an issue for the resort, but the beach can get crowded. 

Room Tip: Make sure to get a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    151
    55
    30
    27
See reviews for
195
541
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

As Leaders Club member, we were upgraded to a modernized villa. It was well maintained, but still dark and felt old-fashioned and tired.

Breakfast is good, but there is little love in it, nothing to make it stand-out from other 5* resorts. The Thai restaurant served the worst Thai meal I've ever had. We didn't dare to try the other restaurants.

There is no proper hotel bar where people would meet for drinks at night time. You can have a drink at the beach restaurant at Raley beach, however, where they have live music and nice chairs facing the beach.

The beaches are within a stunning setting but at least Raley beach is not really suitable for swimming. There are rocks/dead corall on the ground and its very shallow, so you have to walk miles into the water (and hit the rocks with your feet, I was cursing) before you can swim properly. The other beach appeared pollutes with some foam on the water (and even more backpackers). To get from one beach to the other is a long walk or you have to order a buggy. There are neither chairs nor service on Raley beach and both beaches are crouded with backpackers and at least Raley beach also by longtails and speedboats (didn't check our the other beach at daytime).

The gym is ok for cardio equipment, but really bad for resistance work-out. It is quite small and there are neither a locker rooms nor steam/sauna with it.

The spa has only female therapists, which is bad if you prefer to get your massage by a man (which I do).

The only upside was the hotel team, which are extremely friendly. The pool boys even knew our names. Shame that the rest isn't worth the €500 or more they charge per night (early December!).

We had 4 nights booked and fled after 2 nights. I'd rather go back to The Datai if the new management haven't ruined it by now...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Amazing hotel. Super pricey. Try to get a package deal off their website- we got 1 of 4 nights free, 3 free dinners, a private rock climbing course and a couples massage. Very happy we got this because prices for the rooms are expensive enough but prices once you're at the resort are beyond insane-- ie food, drinks, excursions, spa. Prices are all equivalent to high end London. Crazy.

Arrival - we were picked up from Phuket in beautiful, comfortable van and brought to Boat to transfer to railay beach. Greeted by 4 staff members including the hotel manager with flowers and amazing welcome drink.
Service overall was fab. Every staff member was so friendly and helpful.
They gave us a nice bottle of champagne as they knew it was our honeymoon.

Villas are awesome- like your own little two story house. Very comfortable and pretty. . Shower products were AMAZING and extensive. Lots of little freebies. Bathroom could have been a little nicer, however. I think they are renovating.
Complimentary waters, soft drinks, beers, chocolates in rooms too. That was nice.

Tons of monkeys all over property. Really cool.
Property is huge but laid out really well. Staff is there in a snap to drive you anywhere in golf cart too.

3 beaches were really fun to get to know.
Nammao: ts is where entrance is- amazing rock climbing. So fun.
Railay: great beach. Pool overlooks this beach. Its beyond gorgeous. One of prettiest settings ive ever seen. Right outside the resort is "walking street" with tourist shops and local restaurants.
Phranang beach: our fave. Also beyond gorgeous. Free kayaks here you can take out. Dont miss the food boats that dock here during the day- one of the best meals we had in thailand came from one of these!

Food was very good. We loved the breakfast and our meals at railay terrace. Our meal at the fancy thai restaurant (forget name) was very underwhelming.

Spa is so pretty and well done. Our massages were just ok though. We were slightly disappointed as we were expecting something great.

Also note property is like a high end jungle with its foliage and animals-- i loved it but my husband had a real issue with mosquitos.

Overall i would highly recommend-- worth the splurge!!! Hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As noted above, please bear in mind we stayed here in 2011 so it has been some time but our experience overall was unforgettable unfortunately for negative reasons. I will give the positive impressions we had first though, the staff are sweet and kind towards guests no doubt about it. We were received off the boat in the main lodge with a welcome drink and flowers, nice touch. As we were led to our villa in the jungle I was amazed at the diversity of plants and how immaculate the grounds were esp considering there must be alot of leaf debris that comes down as you are literally in the middle of a rainforest area. However, the stay went downhill from there. As we entered our villa, we were taken a back by how small it was, how dated the accomodation really was (for example, the swing seat was hanging by threads it seemed and the pillows were dirty) the TV was an older model and the bathroom was leaking as well as rusting around the handles. This could of course been updated since then but when we went we felt this was totally unacceptable being the hotel was sold to us as one of the best in Thailand and certainly the best in this area.

There are limited dining options, basically two casual restaurants (one by the pool and one near the boat entry area) and the Thai restaurant which amazingly for Thailand was not very good at all. I genuinely had better food in the markets in Bangkok for next to nothing.

We asked to be moved to another room and we were moved to a beach front villa which despite being a bigger villa we didn't realise how busy the beach really is. There are boats with diesel fumes coming and going all day, tourists constantly coming to beach via them and not to mention spillovers from the surrounding backpacker hotels. The beach is in and of itself not a beautiful one and the fact it is so busy makes it an unrelaxing experience.

A plus point is the pool however, it is a large infinity pool and sparkling clean.

All in all, I don't feel that for our style of travel this is a hotel or area in Thailand we would return to, next time we will probably look at the Four Seasons in Chiang Mai, guests at this hotel had arrived from there and were keen to cancel this portion of the trip and return back. The city stay in the Peninsula Bangkok was possibly the best city hotel I have been to - ever.

Room Tip: Jungle side if you want peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This review is more than just an appraisal of a fantastic hotel where we spent a few wonderful nights on holiday; it is an overdue debt of gratitude that we owe to the marvelous staff at the Rayavadee for the unforgettable experience that they made our wedding in December 2011.

In preparation for the big day, the wedding planner Lisa was exquisitely particular to detail and facilitated the difficult task of organizing the flowers, the vows, travel arrangements, the food, the photographer, videographer and all the other crucial components required to make the event run smoothly. Any queries we had were always answered promptly over email. We were fortunate enough to be able to plan a trip over the month before the wedding and even though we couldn’t stretch to stay at the hotel for this short stay, we were received warmly and enjoyed working our way through the menu with the manager Reza selecting the various dishes that would be presented to our guests… not to mention the wine and cocktails!

When we returned for the wedding itself, the Rayavadee staff met us at the airport in a luxury, air-conditioned vehicle which was to transport us and our guests to the port for the short boat trip to the Railay Bay. Waiting there was a beautiful deluxe speed-boat like something out of a James Bond movie! We felt like film stars by the time we arrived, not to mention a little awkward and embarrassed for haggling over the price of this amazing transfer service during the planning phase! As ever, the staff could not be more polite or helpful; at pains to ensure that the all-important wedding dress made it to the ceremony without taking an unplanned dip in the ocean.

Having seen the rooms on our earlier reconnaissance trip, we had an idea of what to expect when we arrived but we were still bowled over by the sheer tropical opulence of the every aspect of the hotel. The rooms were like 5 star treehouses, immaculately presented over two floors with the upstairs containing a luxurious bedroom with an enormous spa bath complete with colourful petals floating on the surface for our arrival. The downstairs was a relaxation area with an outdoor Jacuzzi where you could watch the playful monkeys swing in the trees to your heart’s content. The room provided the sort of splendid isolation ideal for a romantic getaway and there was always a golf cart at your beckon call should you wish to be transported to the spa, the tennis courts, the gym, the beach, the pool or any one of the several swanky restaurants housed within the resort.

On the wedding day itself, the Rayavadee put on a spectacular show. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating with Reza and Lisa ensuring that everything went to plan. We must also mention the amazing buffet put on by the catering team. It was every bit as pleasing on the eye as it was the palate and many guests remarked that it was as impressive as any culinary display they had ever witnessed.

In closing, it only takes a cursory look at the price lists to stop you in your tracks and ask yourself what could possibly justify such a huge expense but, in the case of the Rayavadee, seeing truly is believing, and this is one experience of a lifetime that you cannot afford to miss.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms/Pavillions are amazing, set over three different beaches, they are spread around a gorgeous 'jungle' setting. The rooms are decorated beautifully and huge! The only slight down side is that the restaurants are really expensive. Just to get a drink laying by the pool felt a bit painful. I think two soft drinks was about £8.00! There are places you can go outside the resort but its a bit one extreme to the other, either very expensive or 'backpacker'. The three beaches is actually two (which is fine as two is clearly plenty of beaches!) but even the other two were not what I would describe as perfect white sand beaches. Railay is stunning with very dramatic scenery, but is pretty busy with long tail boats and you will find small debris on the beach. Phranang is lovely, but again has boats along a good deal of the beach. We had a lovely honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but if you are looking for pristine white beaches I think there are more affordable options.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just like the title said. It is a very expensive resort, but if you can afford it, you shouldn't even look at other options (such as banyan tree or ritz phulay bay). Sure, they do not have villas with cutting-edge technologies like a Bose ipod dock that you might expect from a regular 5-star hotel, but if you're looking for a resort that truly blends in with the nature and not some ultra-modern-annoyingly large villas that interfere with the surroundings, this is the place to go. Of course, the monkeys are absolutely adorable. But they might take your fruits. They're still adorable. **btw, don't go in summer during raining season unless you're extremely lucky, because it will rain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rayavadee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayavadee Resort

Address: 214 Moo 2, Tambon Ao-Nang | Amphoe Muang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rayavadee Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayavadee's setting on the edge of Krabi's National Marine Park at the heart of the stunning Phranang Peninsula perfectly blends lush foliage, limestone cliffs, white sand beaches and the emerald waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort's award winning architecture and tropical landscapes were inspired by the atmosphere of a southern Thai village. Rayavadee's enchanting two-story pavilions and beachfront villas are spread over 26 acres of coconut groves, their spacious interiors and décor providing unsurpassed comfort for the property's highly discerning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rayavadee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayavadee Hotel Railay Beach
Rayavadee Resort Krabi
Rayavadee Hotel Krabi
Rayavadee Krabi
Rayavadee Resort Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rayavadee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.