We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dirty, Location So-So, Lot's of mosquitos, but nice staff.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ao Nang Beach Resort, 142 Moo -2 Ao Nang | Railay East beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Railay Beach
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Dirty, Location So-So, Lot's of mosquitos, but nice staff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We arranged for the hotel to help us with our bags, but they didn't help us with our bags out of the long-tail boat which required us to trudge through waste deep water for 1/4 mile with our 50 pound bags over our heads. Needless to say, we got our exercise for the day. As we walked to our room, we were surprised at the condition of the surrounding hotels and the mangroves. There is a lot of construction and the man groves appear to be muddy and very dirty (as it was low-tide). The rooms were large, but very dirty. Their were stains on the comforter, the walls, and the floors and the jacuzzi bath tub area was very musty, enough so, that I wasn't going to take a bath in there. But, probably the worst part of the hotel, was the sheer number of mosquitos in the rooms. We had numerous bites in the middle of the night even with pounds of heavy duty deet on our bodies. On the positive side, the staff was nice, and the breakfast was decent, but definitely not worth the money at all. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    108
    50
    27
    20
See reviews for
42
182
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at Bhu Nga Thani in Feburary end. It was a pleasant stay. The resort is well appointed, clean and comfortable. The landscape is well maintained giving it a beautiful tropical feel. The staff is very responsive and eager to help. Spa staff is well trained however the experience at Spa lacks an oomph. The location of the resort is not very good. The resort faces east shore of Railay beach which has mangroves and is not at all picturesque. The right side of the Railay beach is west, which is a 10-15 min walk from the resort. The only saving grace for us was the sea view room which gives a beautiful panorama of the east side from up top (3rd floor). The sunrise looks beautiful from the room.

Room Tip: If you are staying at Bhu Nga Thani book a deluxe sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Rooms are nice we had a lovely sunken bath. Fan was very noisy and needs to be turned off before going to bed.
Buffet breakfast was very good, the Vegetarian pad Thai was amazing wish they had that as an option every day. Room service was quite good paying a bit more than restaurants.
The pool was lovely and clean and has a great area for children to play in.
Walking distance to beaches and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Son, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

An excellent resort with very friendly and serviceminded staff. Nice and spacious rooms. The restaurant was excellent with a good mix of thai and western food. Suitable resort both for couples and families.
Situated on the east side of Riley gives you a short walk to the best beaches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelmola, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the place is very nice,unfortunably there are bulding other hotels on the sides of this hotel destroing all the nature around.
Rooms,swimming pool and garden are very nice.
The staff is friendly but sometimes not too profesional.
excellent breakfast , dinner discrete.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach front side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firfax
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I arrived by long tail boat to visit our son who was staying in Tonsai - without a reservation to stay anywhere in what was probably the busiest time of year - during Chinese New Year, right before Valentine's Day! The first 3 hotels we tried were booked solid - then we saw Bhu Nga Thani and were told they had just received a cancellation. The staff was very professional, courteous and friendly. They showed us the room that was available and it was beautiful! Spacious, outdoor shower, indoor sunken tub, indoor shower - and plenty of space. We were thrilled! We stayed there 5 nights and were happy we were on the East side of Railay, away from the constant noise from the long tails on the West side. Breakfasts were delicious and the pool was fun. The staff at the reception desk spoke English, which was helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Amazing hotel - everything was so clean and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely and very relaxing. The hotel grounds were very well maintained.

We had a deluxe room and it was lovely. There is a terrace outside the room with a bed for you to lie in and relax. The room is spacious and the bed is very big - you could fit 4 adults in the bed - I didn't realise my husband was in the bed with me most of the time! The bathroom area is lovely. Everything is so clean and they even give you complimentary robe and slippers.

There was a great choice for breakfast - they cater for everybody and the restaurant staff went out of their way to make you comfortable and brought you things rather than you having to stand and queue up. Jessica was very friendly and we enjoyed talking to her.

The only bad points are the view of the sea from the hotel (which is nothing at all to do with the hotel) and the journey with your luggage from the West Side beach. The East Side sea is not very nice and you cannot use this sea other than for getting a boat to a different island. The West Side sea is lovely and only a 10 minute walk away. I certainly would not let this put me off of staying at the hotel as after looking around the whole of Railay Beach I was so glad that we booked this one as it looked the best hotel on the island. This hotel made our stay at Railay Beach and I would definitely recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa

Address: Ao Nang Beach Resort, 142 Moo -2 Ao Nang | Railay East beach, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bhu Nga Thani Hotel Railay Beach
Bhu Nga Thani Resort And Spa Railay Beach, Krabi, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.