We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the restaurant and bar” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Opuwo Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Opuwo Country Lodge to your Saves list
Opuwo Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opuwo, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Opuwo Namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just about the restaurant and bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to go up for drinks and a meal last weekend. How disappointing that in the midst of this beautiful hotel with perfect views the lunch we were served was inedible! We were also offended by the over familiar, cheeky, waitress who obviously had no training in customer service. Unfortunately the Manager wasn't around for us to speak to.

I have to say that the staff in this place are usually very polite and well mannered - even if the food is not always great. This particular day, in addition to the rudeness of the waitress, we felt unwelcome as though the staff wanted us to leave quickly - continually bringing our drinks bill even when not requested!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    74
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
25
79
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recently visited Opuwo Country Hotel.. Great service, such friendly people, including staff members (genuine), beautiful views and the food is superb!

Would definitely go back again!

Its also a stopover to Epupa Falls if you are keen.

Room Tip: Ask for the luxury rooms, great sunset views from your own balcony! :-))
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had the camping in Opuwo Country Hotel. The desk had problems with the numbers of the camping places but the rest was excellent. The pool, and especially the view from the pool is superbe. To get to the hotel you do not need a 4x4 but it is borderline. The organized trip to a himba village was. A place to recomment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 one night occasions on way to and from Epupa. As others have commented hotel is situated at the end of a very bad steep road right above the town. Campsite is even further away. Although the campsite has grassy pitches, access to them is very poor, over very rocky ground and there is no shade. It was very difficult to find a level site, important if you have either roof tent or campervan. At the end of our first visit we asked to reserve specific site (No 11) which they did, but many people arriving after us were trying to access different sites before deciding which one to take, so I am sure No 11 would have gone if we had not been there. Some people didn't stay at all. Ablutions were plentiful and OK. The views over whole surrounding area were quite stunning, Staff were friendly and buffet dinner on deck, (again with outstanding views) was very varied and of good standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Located in upper position above Opuwo you can get a spectacular view. Rooms are very comfortable and large and all have a terrace where you can seat, relax and enjoy the landsacpe. The structure is largely built in wood in real African style. Large common areas are available. Dinner buffet is very rich with a large variety of game meats. A pity to stay only one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very bumpy road to reach the hotel, better to use 4x4. Hotel has a great location and reception area. The rooms are very basic and dusty in the bathrooms you have to use water from the 10 ltrs bottle to was your hand or brush your teeths. The restaurant has a great view but the food variety and quality poor. The staff in the restaurant and reception was helpfull and friendly. Our children had an unforgettable experience and time in the Himba Village which was our aim for our visit to Opuwa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Opuwo Country Hotel's campsite twice in five days recently, the campsite itself is situated on a hillside with quite good views over the surrounding countryside. Campers are allowed to use the hotels infinity pool which has stunning views and has to be recommended on a hot day. The campsites themselves are in general somewhat smaller than otherwise found in Namibia which isn't a problem if using a roof-top tent type of vehicle, however for larger overland type vehicles some of the spaces are far too small. For this reason we booked both times, requesting a larger space - on the first occasion the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful or clear, suggesting site number 3 for its clearance which turned out to be perfect. On the second occasion we were answered by a different receptionist and requested the same site to be told that it was already booked but that site number 9 would also be ok and we therefore reserved it. On arrival we checked in at reception (which is at the lodge, not the campsite - this is important to note) to be told that site 9 was already taken but that a variety of other sites were available and we could "go and choose for ourselves". On inspection each of the "available" sites was either miniscule or already occupied. Returning to reception (a walk of approx 1km) the receptionist could not understand the issue, clearly did not want to help and only resolved (very ungraciously) the problem after great insistance on our part. This took almost 2 hours of our time - not a relaxing start to our stay. The difference between the 2 receptionists attitudes was like chalk and cheese!
The campsite ablutions are ok - not very clean, but not as bad as some others - beware of the water running out occasionally though!
The approach to the hotel is somewhat difficult - a steep sandy and deeply corrugated track of perhaps 2km out of the town (well signposted though). This would be interesting in a 2 wheel drive vehicle - and particularly so for those without good ground clearance.

Room Tip: If you have a large vehicle for the campsite, request site No 3, 9 or 12 - and insist on them respec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Opuwo Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opuwo Country Lodge

Address: Opuwo, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Kunene Region > Opuwo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Opuwo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Opuwo Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Opuwo Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opuwo Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.