We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family cycling holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velo Vercors

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Velo Vercors
Save
You added Velo Vercors to your Saves list
Montee des Usines, Saint-Jean-en-Royans, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Chamonix
1 review
“Great family cycling holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Fabulous fun trip to Velo Vercours - family mountain biking trip. We were a bit concerned that our youngest (8) would find the hills a bit challenging, but he did extremely well, and I kept the younger one on a bike seat. Found some good muddy mountain bike tracks, but also enjoyed the (new to us) road cycling. Great to have routes planned that would keep the family entertained - cycling to a waterfall, visiting amazing caves, a wacky garden, houses hanging off high cliffs, and also learning about the prehistoric people and the brave folk of the French resistance in excellent museums. And of course lots of wonderful scenery - especially the Combe Laval, which now features in the helmet cam video taken by my 8 year old. Roger and Teresa are great hosts, the gites have everything you need (including a good shower) and the swings and pool in the garden were a great hit with the kids. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

2nd family trip to Velor Vecors. Great cycling holiday, wonderful routes for all abilities and ages. Roger and Teresa are knowledgable and wonderful hosts. We feel like old friends. Great home cooking gives every guest a chance to meet up, share stories and make friends. Would recommend Velo Vecors to everyone not just cyclists.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent an extremely enjoyable fortnight at velo vercours. Teresa and Roger could not have been more helpful and attentive with a very natural and relaxed way with their guests, so that they create a little community of holiday makers. Our family (children aged 7 & 9) didn't arrive as arrive as cycling enthusiasts (well one of us was enthusiastic) but left inspired enough to be doing much more at home now. The region is easy to explore and with lots to do for families nearby, and Roger and Therese made sure we had routes and ideas for our trips. We even went to cheer on Wiggo on the tour de France - fantastic! The gite site is very picturesque, bordered by an old canal, and our children loved the swings in the garden, which are way bigger than you ever find in the UK.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were keen to find a holiday that would entice both our 20-year-old son and 18-year-old daughter to come along - and this was it! Both they (and mum and dad) thoroughly enjoyed the cycling - more challenging and satisfying than any routes we had done before - and there were lots of sights to see along the way. We would particularly recommend cycling the 30+km round trip to the Jardin les Fontaines Petrifiantes near La Sone - an absolutely fascinating place - and a visit to St Antoine L'Abbaye with its peaceful courtyard and tempting artisan shops. Best of all, of course, we all loved the restful atmosphere and outstanding hospitality of Teresa and Roger at Velo Vercors - we would endorse all the comments of those who have so obviously enjoyed it before us! From the delicious home-cooked meal with free-flowing wine on arrival, to the encyclopaedic knowledge of cycling and the Vercors region, we felt we were not so much holiday clients as very welcome guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a fantasic week we had at Velo Vercors, instantly relaxed the moment we arrived - met by the wonderful Teresa and Roger who were very warm and welcoming, we arrived to a delicious home cooked meal, with a glass of bubbly, no need to go off looking for restaurants when you have been travelling all day. Excellent service of fitting us with our bikes (2 Adults, 3 kids 16, 13 & 10) provided advice and routes to suit our needs. A definate recommendation, such amazing, tranquil scenery, very quiet but good quality roads with hardly any other traffic. The gite which was very comfortable and well equiped and extra small touches which made all the difference.
We would definately recommend this holiday and will be back for more!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Every once in a while I have cause to write a review that is so good that I'm afraid that, by telling other travellers, I will never be able to get availability at the place again. This is one such review, but I can't hold it back because I couldn't do that to our fabulous hosts Teresa and Roger.
We were in France on a 3-week holiday (2 adults & 3 kids of 7, 9 and 11) and wanted to have one activity week. I saw a feature on Velo Vercors in an Irish newspaper and decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed.
I'm going to start with the hosts because this is where the excellence begins. Teresa and Roger are the perfect hosts, with the right balance of helpfulness and knowledge, without being intrusive. They are always available for queries about cycle routes and the local area. As the week progressed we got to know them better, and it became like a holiday where we were staying with friends. Other hospitality managers could certainly learn from them!
The accomodation is perfect for a family (or couples/groups), with all mod cons. The gite that we stayed in was very clean and modern, with a terrace beside the stream for breakfast dining. You should avail of the dinner offered by Teresa on the day that you arrive. The food is excellent, and the meal gives you an opportunity to meet with the other guests.
You are fitted with bikes on arrival, and given a selection of cycle routes, all suitable for your 'status' (eg family with kids, casual cyclist, serious cyclist etc). And Roger is available every morning to discuss your proposed route for the day. We also took the opportunity to visit the Tour de France, which was passing nearby.
If you don't need a gite, they have 2 very comfortable B&B rooms.
Other highlights: Small swimming pool in the garden, and swings etc for the kids; lots of lounging areas, in the sun and in the newly created 'Grange' ; great bikes; nice local village within walking distance - try a meal at La Taverne ; great community swimming pool within 5 minute walk.
All in all, a great week's holiday, and we will be back!

Room Tip: Liaise with Teresa if you have any queries regarding your room requirements. She's very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for a holiday break with your family and you want to add some activity and different challenges for different ages of children combined with the South of France couleur locale feel (read local food and wine, warm French hospitality) we advise you to try the Velo Vercors. This is truly one of the most beautiful unattached French regions I have visited in my life. We have met some great people at the Velo Vercors including of course Teresa and John. Thank you to our hosts for their warm welcome and service, enthusiasm, and professionalism in offering an á la carte menu of activities including the different cycling routes, local restaurants, trout fishing, canyoning, jumping off waterfalls and cliffs, etc.... We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Velo Vercors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velo Vercors

Address: Montee des Usines, Saint-Jean-en-Royans, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-en-Royans
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A specialist one stop cycling holiday destination. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velo Vercors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.