We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grabone” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SeaChange Beach Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
SeaChange Beach Cafe
79 Bream Bay Dr, Ruakaka 0116, New Zealand
9 432 7639
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Ruakaka
Cuisines: Continental, New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Grabone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Bought a Grabone to the value of $39.80 with the only exclusion (scotch fillet main) ordered Vegetarian Burger $10 with fries $5.50 fries refused owner said I had to pay for the fries (very confused) cancelled fries as I did not see why I should pay for something when I had only spent $10?? Then ordered Quiche slice with side Salad (not sure of the value) plus minus $15.00 but I was denied this as the owner said it was not on the Grabone deal (remember the exclusion!!) and I had to pay for the Quiche and the Salad, so once again I cancelled my order. I ordered the Corn Fritters minus the bacon value $16.00 so my total order was for $26.00 I am still confused as to why I could not get the Quiche, Side Salad or Fries!!?? The owner said that she would look this up on the internet as this was her first time using Grabone and walked off, I never saw her again as she could not be bothered to come back and explain the confusion to us! What made matters worse was that my friend in front of me ordered the Chicken Burger with Fries and got her Fries! Discrimination against Vegetarians or just plain confusion...... Bad management! The waitress that served us was outstanding, thank you. No problem with Grabone, fantastic service, but Seacharge Beach Café........ sort yourself out! I was not the only customer that was unhappy there that day, just the only one that spoke up!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    9
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely service, Fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is yummy, great little gem, just what you need after a day of swimming, sunshine, walking and admiring how beautiful this part of the world is ...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Warm service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were driving from Auckland to Paihia and needed to make a quick stop for lunch. Happened to find this restaurant by chance when I googled the area. The food is very good value for money. The staff recommended the Fish & Chips special, pan fried or friend in battered for $9.99 which was superb. All the ingredients they use are very fresh. The owner even came out and shared her cooking tips with us. They have a good selection of cakes too, but we didn't get to try them this time. Would definitely recommend anyone who desires a nice lunch to try this cozy place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food, Very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The seafood we have there was very fresh and the home made dressing for the salad taste really good. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have been to SeaChange Beach Café a number of times and there is always a good selection of both cold and hot food available. Staff have always been friendly and helpful and the service is prompt.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaChange Beach Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Ruakaka, Northland Region
 
Ruakaka, Northland Region
Waipu, Northland Region
 

Been to SeaChange Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaChange Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.