We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot spoilt by poor PR skills of Management.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park

Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruakaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park
Save
You added Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   21 Ruakaka Beach Road, Ruakaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great spot spoilt by poor PR skills of Management.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

While the camp facilities are well maintained a stay here is often spoilt by an overzealous camp manager who has no idea about how to talk to people. While it is necessary to have rules to ensure that the campers do not interfere with other peoples' use of the camp facilities, the rigid application of these rules, whatever the situation, and the manner in which people are censured for breaking the rules leaves a bad taste in many campers' mouths. The camp may be half full but park your vehicle on a vacant site and wait for all hell to break loose. Fail to have your vehicle out of the camp grounds a few minutes after checkout time on your departure day and get threatened with being charged an extra days' fees. Understandable perhaps if new campers are fighting to get in the place but when the camp is less than half full, you have vacated your site, and are just saying goodbye to relatives staying on, it seems a little over the top and unnecessary.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for your comments, sorry you have had a bad experience, but unfortunately our Park Rules are to help make everyone's stay safe and enjoyable. The simple rule of having your vehicle parked on your own site not the one next door is to enable the next customer to be able to set up on their site they have chosen and not have to unnecessarily ask for vehicles to be moved. The sites are big enough to accommodate a caravan & awning (or family tent) as well as a gazebo and one vehicle. Check out Policy is 11 am, you are most welcome to check out and then visit your friends for the rest of the day as a visitor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manukau, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very rude people running this camp, wouldn't let us sign in 5 mins early and then it took 30 mins to sign in because of all the people she had told to wait.. Massive amount of road noise, Park rules were overboard, Nice Beach. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that you had to wait to check in. Unfortunately this is a busy time of the season for departures and arrivals where it is important for customers to check out by the time of 11am enabling us to have sites tidied up and office procedures prepared for the new arrivals from 1pm onwards. Although you felt our Park rules were overboard, these simple rules are in place to help make everyones stay safe and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ruakaka hotels

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely New Years break in Ruakaka, the campsite backs onto the Estuary and is a short walk from the beautiful beach. A short drive to a boat ramp and we had lots of fun playing on Kayaks and sailing boats that we'd taken up (there was kayaks for hire by the boat ramp).

Unfortunately, the trip was somewhat dampened by the management of the campsite and the tendency for the owners to jump down the throats of those not adhering to the many campsite rules (no bike riding, no water pistols or paddling pools for the toddlers etc...) On NYE we gave the kids sparklers to celebrate, management approached to explain the rules against such things, but rather than leaving us to deal it, went over to the kids and snatched the sparklers to stamp them out, causing tears. Later, without prior request to minimise noise they called the police to our site (at 10pm on NYE). The police didn't feel the noise warranted the call out and had words with management.

Finally, the toilets were only cleaned once a day which was not enough given the full campsite. The portaloos were very close to our sites and not emptied. Male management frequently entered the ladies toilets to empty tokens without warning or care to the young girls getting changed, very inappropriate!

Overall we still had a good holiday but our group of 5 sites would not return, despite the fantastic location, unless there was a change to manangement.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Sorry for your concerns.
At the time of your stay our District Council had a regional fire ban in place and also asked that we encourage to be water conscious due to the drought we were experiencing. We are on Department of Conservation land which has a complete fire ban all year round as well.
The Police due routine checks and only visit sites if they feel that it is required for the safety of all campers.
Staff are required to enter all amenity blocks to ensure there is sufficient toilet paper and to clear token boxes when required, this is done in a professional and courteous manner. The dressing rooms/showers are cubicles with doors on them where customers get changed privately.
Our Park polices and rules are given to all our customers on their arrival, this is to ensure the safety of all our customers and to help everyone enjoy stay.
We do have a lovely location and are glad you did enjoy it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We only stopped for one night on the way up to Pahia. I remember staying at the Park as a kid and walking around bought back some fantastic memories! Anne-marie and Mike are awesome people and very happy to share the knowledge of the local area. They are obviously very proud of their Park and it shows because the facilities are immaculate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay reminiscing, thanks for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again soon with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This park has good facilities but the staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. The womna in charge of the camp is rude, does not give you enough information about the camp operation on arrival and is quick to jump down the throats of anyone who unknowingly breaks any of the camps abundant rules.

We had a lovely weekend with the family but this was severly dampened by the bad attitude of the camps manager.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, sorry for your experience with our Park staff. We have since had our staff do some training courses. Our staff explain to our customers on their arrival their site location on the map,closest amenity block and the rules of our Holiday Park. These Park rules and policies are for everyone's safety and to help everyone enjoy their stay.
Glad you enjoyed your weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park

Address: 21 Ruakaka Beach Road, Ruakaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ruakaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ruakaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront sites with beach view, powered sites suitable for campervans and caravans, tent sites and backpacker cabins. Family orientated camp ground, open all year. 2 minutes off State Highway 1 travelling North, 1.5 hours North of Auckland, 30 minutes south of Whangarei. Hot showers, kitchens, washing machines, dryers, internet, tennis court, playground. Safe swimming both in estuary and beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.