We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location top class and pet friendly as well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Hinterland Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Byron Hinterland Villas to your Saves list
Byron Hinterland Villas
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   20 Elliot Rd, Clunes, New South Wales 2480, Australia (Formerly Suzanne's Hideaway)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location top class and pet friendly as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Had two nights at Suzanns and enjoyed every moment. The views were amazing from our very well appointed villa. We found Peter & Suzanne delightful couldn't do enough for us. We always travel with a 12 year poodle, to be able to stay in accommodation of this quality with a pet was fabulous and we would have no hesitation to revisit and recommending Suzanns to anyone traveling with or without a pet. Country hospitality at it's best.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
J&R, thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We've been to Suzanne's Hideaway three times now and every stay is just what the doctor ordered - so to speak! I'm sure spending time at Suzanne's would cure you of any illness :)
The cabins are comfortable, clean, light, bright and airy and the views are to die for... The tennis courts are in good condition, the pool is clean with gorgeous views of the hinterland and Suzanne and Peter's hospitality is 2nd to none. Not to mention Rocka, their legendary dog. They are very friendly, informative hosts who can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Villa 3 has the best views but the Bails has a great outdoor jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thanks M ... we look forward to your next stay at Suzanne's Hideaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Our 2nd stay at this delightful accommodation. We made our return visit in mid October 2011 and we were not disappointed – we booked the 2 bed villa which has amazing views across the valley over to the Nightcap Mountains. We were travelling very late into the evening but this was not a problem as Suzanne was happy to wait for our arrival.

The villa is well appointed and had far more space than the two of us required but it was lovely to be able to spread out and use the full kitchen – not that we did much cooking! (We can recommend the Thai takeaway in Bangalow – amazing.). There is a BBQ on the deck – we didn't use it this visit but we made full use of it on our previous trip. We love the huge verandah and spent a lovely evening enjoying a glass or two of red wine watching the stars – the master bedroom opens onto the deck and we slept with the door open listening to the night sounds – it was truly memorable.

We are so glad we managed to revisit this haven of peace and tranquillity – if you want somewhere peaceful with amazing rural views a place to relax and unwind then this is the place for you.

If we are lucky enough to get back to this area of NSW then Suzanne's will be on our must do list.

Wi fi is available on site - if you feel the need to be in contact with the 'outside' world.

D

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thanks DL for your very positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have recently stayed in a luxury spot on the beach in Byron Bay and on a beautiful farm in the Byron Hinterland which were not bad. And then there was Suzzane's Hideaway which, was, by far, the best. Not the cheapest but worth the money; The place is lovely, the cottage we stayed in was well appointed tastefully decorated and the little things well thought out. A four slice toaster, fresh coffee, good books and informative local travel/tourist info, DVD's to further enlighten, classic country views, a spacious, warm laundry, privacy, a spar bath....I could ramble on. There were no little signs asking to conserve the water etc.

The tennis court is in very good condition as was the adjoining gym, swimming pool and BBQ area. Again, tastefull, peacefull and in a beatuifull setting. Like a pleasant country home and not some gaudy holiday spot with no atmosphere.

An early morning walk down to the river was rewarded with rising morning mist over the orchards with their fresh spring growth and lots of activity in the water.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks R family for this very positive review. We look forward to having you stay at Suzanne's Hideaway again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

The most overpriced inadequate place I have ever stayed. The management were the rudest I have ever comeacross. I wish now that I had read the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
This reviewer emailed us before she posted on TA.
Her 1st email stated "Extortionist. You have totally wrecked my holiday you f.... b..... I hope you go bankrupt. Karma will get you." I have removed her unpleasant language!
Her 2nd email stated "you ripped me off, I will get even."
These emails are clear evidence of malicious intent. In the interests of fairness, we ask you to exercise editorial responsibility and remove the offending review, or alternatively, post our response sent to you in early October and acknowledged by you on 6 October.
Thanking you in anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Location - absolutely stunning. Gorgeous views of Byron Hinterland. A great place to relax on the balcony with a nice glass of wine.
The Room - was fine. Big rooms inside the Villas, and the Villa had everything we needed. It did seem slightly overpriced for what it was though.
The Best Bit - The views. And the location - nearby Bangalow is a real Gem.
The Not-so-good - The service. We found we were constantly being told about the rules, and being reminded not to do things wrong before we had done them. The location of the pool, tennis court and BBQ area is right beside the owners home, and it does feel like you are using their facilities (something they reminded us of often). We expected Suzanne's Hideaway to be something relaxing and where the hosts left us to our own devices, but this was far from the case.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We are very happy these guests enjoyed their accommodation, location and rural views. We try to be helpful and informative to ensure our guests enjoy our facilities and our region. Maybe we interacted too much for these guests, and are sorry we came across as overbearing. Re BBQ - each Villa has its own BBQ on its own verandah, ensuring our guests have privacy. The BBQ at the pool is a communal BBQ, and as such in not private.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011 via mobile

I would not recommend this place to anyone, due to the complete lack of customer service. I found the owner to be rude and over the top in regards to rules and regulations. The rooms and setting are nice however the price was excessive.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzHwy, Owner at Byron Hinterland Villas, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
We are sorry this guest disliked our service and price. However, they were a part of a large group booking, made by a family member, for a family gathering. The person who booked the accommodation did so because it suited their purpose and price. All our accommodation is self contained, and so not serviced during short stays. The person who booked the accommodation was aware of this, but perhaps not so this reviewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byron Hinterland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hinterland Villas

Address: 20 Elliot Rd, Clunes, New South Wales 2480, Australia (Formerly Suzanne's Hideaway)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Clunes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Clunes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Byron Hinterland Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and wedding venue. 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self-contained a/c villas with spa bath and Bails with outdoor hot tub. Full kitchen. Stunning rural views. Private, quiet and relaxing. Large pool and tennis court with lights. Byron Bay 25 min drive, Bangalow 15 min drive, Lismore 12 min drive and Clunes village with licensed general store and butcher 3 km drive. National Park with walks and waterfalls 20 min drive. Catering to people interested in yoga, cycling walking, tennis, family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Byron Hinterland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Hinterland Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.