We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is without a doubt, the worst experience I have ever had in a game park.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Inverdoorn Game Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ceres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inverdoorn Game Reserve
Save
You added Inverdoorn Game Reserve to your Saves list
Cape Winelands, Ceres 6835, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
cape town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is without a doubt, the worst experience I have ever had in a game park.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We arrived with 5 friends for a day at the park. I had been here several times and had, in fact, recommended the trip. On this occasion we were short-changed. Our guide was new and really kept checking his watch to make sure we were back in time for lunch. We had people on board who did not speak English and talked th the whole time in loud voices. We stopped twice for over 15mins to "view the lions and the cats. When I asked when we were going to see the buffalo and the rhinos he looked very suprised and said"Oh, you have been before?) When I said yes, he said, we havent got time. We spent ages just driving round and "looking for animals" I was told by a previous guide they were chipped and they new exactly where all the animals were. When we got back I complained, and was told they would look into it. They did not. When we went to pay, the owner said.No discount, all or nothing. We elected to pay nothing but they took the full amount from my credit card anyway. I ha ve complained to the tourist authority but they could do nothing. I would NEVER advise anyone to go there.
I felt so sorry for our guests.
"

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    17
    19
    9
See reviews for
48
85
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marmora, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

This was the best trip I have ever been on, we travel all over the world and I will remeber this for life, the animals are amzing with plenty to see. The care and attention to detail from the animals to the lodging is awesome. The people so friendly and aim to please.
They care so much, the cheeta's are breath taking.
We were there for 4 days and it was not enough time to take it all in.
As far as the people with bad reviews I think they need to visit a zoo where the animals are caged and so are thier taste of traveling.
The staff are very knowledgeable and they look forward to keep you very informed.
The food is impectable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sting54
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Inverdoon was very much a disappointment. The safari amounts to nothing more than a short two hour drive along arid wasteland.

Prior to booking inverdoon we read the reviews on tripadvisor and wish we had taken more careful detail when reviewing the negative feedback posted here.

Having had the pleasure of visiting other game safaris, Inverdoon ranks very low in comparison. The key things you should ensure when going on a game safari to ensure a pleasurable experience is the length of time the game drive will take and discuss the likelihood of seeing the Big Five. Most other reputable game drives will offer a full day or half day visit as they know that this much time is required to have a chance of seeing some interesting game in the wild. The two hours, barbed wire, zoo like experience on offer by Inverdoon falls short of these expectations.

The only advantage to Inverdoon is the relative proximity to Cape Town, however I would strongly recommend trying an alternative safari with better reviews, or even travelling a little further up the east coast.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We found our experience at this so called "Safari" to be nothing more than a trip to a mass of waist land in which old, lethargic, almost dead animals have been placed for their final viewing before dying off. There wasn't any feeling at all of being in an indigenous environment where lions have been extinct for over 150 years as stated in your brochure, and were brought back. We viewed only one lion from a far distance, saw two rhinos that looked like they were stuffed, were exposed to two buffalo that looked like they had not roamed in years, and were off to see the illusive hippo, that never was. As far as seeing "Cheetah in full flight" which was also stated in your brochure, we saw three of them that looked like the were drugged up and had not been in full flight in years. We may have seen a total of 10 species as opposed to 550!

We were truly looking forward to walking with the Giraffe, which was also stated in the brochure. When were reached the area of the Giraffe, we were advised that we did not have time to walk with them, as we had to return back for lunch. We advised the tour guide that we would rather stay but he told us that he would get in trouble if we did. Before we arrived to this area, he spent about a half an hour talking to us in the heat about plants. This was a waste of time.

We realize that we were not going to a Safari camp like Kruger National Park, however, we truly thought that we were going to experience a lot more that what we did. I could have seem more excitement at a local zoo then spending almost USD $500.00 for a couple hours in a jeep, a van ride ,and a limited lunch buffet that did not even include a drink. In our opionion, this Game reserve did not offer us a true experience of African wildlife or a true "safari". We requested a refund due to the misleading facts about Inverdorn Game Reserve as stated on their brochure and the fact the we were mislead. Our refund was denied!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We didn't expect this to be proper safari like Kruger etc, so our expectations were correct.
But we really enjoyed the 2 safari tours we took, taking in lots of anmials which was great with our knowledgeable guide.
The accomodation and food were also good, although this was quite pricey.
A good option if you don't have time to head east to the larger safari areas.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

You arrive like royality, the location is perfect 2 hours from Capetown with a beautiful drive. The food is unforgettable, with the taste of the french. The resort it self is 5 star plus, you need to stay to take the whole atmisphere in, with the sun and stars.
The attention to details is awesome. The safari was amazing with the sights of the animals in the natural habitat. The gift shop has everything you could look for in a unique shopping experience, from small gifts to a cherished keepsake.
This was a life changing expereince, walking and seeing the cheetas run and learning how precious they cats our to us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Everything about the place was brilliant. the quality of service and the food were excellent.
Our room was really nice but beyond that the attention to detail of the room service was superb.
We have had several safaris in Kenya ranging from put up yourself tents through to luxury lodges and the quality at Inverdoorn is up at the top. You do forget you are in a small reserve and the safari drives are excellently managed. If you are in the Cape Town area and looking for a relaxing couple of days of safari and pampered relaxation then you can't go wrong with choosing Inverdoorn. it is a gem of a place and the drive from Cape Town is a pleasant experience in itself
the value for money level of this lodge is really good indeed and nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff - they even turned all the lights off at the end of the day - just so that we could experience the brilliant starry sky and take some photos without the camp lights!
Added to all this then if you love Cheetahs then here is the place for you

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inverdoorn Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverdoorn Game Reserve

Address: Cape Winelands, Ceres 6835, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Ceres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Ceres
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Hotel Western Cape

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inverdoorn Game Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.