We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short, but Sweet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Turtle Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 6 # 153 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$80 OFF Coupon CTPR
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lajas
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Short, but Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

While we only stayed here for one evening, the staff was very accommodating with a late-night check-in and an early check-out. The rooms were clean and spacious and the bathrooms were well-sized, with a comfortable stand-up shower.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
VeronicaSF

Thanks for taking the time to describe your experience at Turtle Bay Inn. Very peculiar the way you title your comments-Short but Sweet-.Others can call it - good impression at first sight.I can see that you have ranked few other Hotels-and that tell us that you have good experience discriminating between- excellent, good, fair and poor service/hotels.We are honored to be part of the Hotels you have considered to be overall on the high side -top qualityone.
Hope to see you back one of these days-for us was a real pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    30
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
26
62
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The price was very reasonable. The beds are big, bathroom is comfortable and everything was VERY CLEAN. The TV was a little small, but it has cable. The pool is not for a olympic swimmer but hey it's big enough just to relax. The breakfast was good. They also have private parking. The employees are very friendly and eager to please. Thebyoung man even offered to make a fresh pot of coffee at 1am just to please it's guess. The owner is a very down to earth person, takes care of her customers with respect and makes you feel like family. I love the fact that the hotel is ECO- FRIENDLY. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a family friendly place, awesome service and a safe place to stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Adriel, we are so pleased to be able to exceed all your expectations about Turtle Bay Inn. Reading your review, was like reading little portions of our MIssion and Vision statement--. Our first goal is Quality in all aspects of our services and amenities. Our second goal is to provide a service with "value added""--where we give the extra mile to make you feel better than home. Turtle Bay Inn is a very peaceful place where guests can rest and relax 100% of their time. Not easy, sometimes to please guests--but our Room Rental Contract- allow us to ensure that Hotel Rules and Policies are followed by all guests checking in. Was a real plesure to serve you-thank you for taking the time to let others know -who we are at Turtle Bay Inn.,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is nice, clean and environmental friendly small hotel in La Parguera, I was impressed with the neat and cleanliness of room and facilities. Hospitality and service were great, they help me with a rush print and scanning info I had to deliver. Although is not a luxury hotel with a lot of amenities, it is certainly an excellent place to stay in La Parguera. I recommend it and encourage management to keep it up.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Pancho, your comments are very encouraging and definetely motivate us to keep up the consistent excellent job that we provide at Turtle Bay Inn. We try our very best to fulfill all our guests needs to extent we can. Assisting with your rush office matters was a pleasure, and we are very surprised that you took the time to thank us for our Service and great facilities. Guests like you that appreciates Excellent Service makes a real difference in our Tourism Industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just returned to Florida from staying at Turtle Bay Inn. It was just what we needed. We had to come back to PR for my father in law funeral. We hadn't visited for 4 years. This place made everything easier to deal with. The price was very reasonable and the accommodations are awesome. The beds are big, bathroom is comfortable and everything was very clean. The TV was a little small, but it has cable. Besides, PR has so many things to see, that you wont spend too much time watching TV. The pool size is appropriate for the size of the hotel and is very clean. The breakfast was good and different every day. They also have facilities to wash and dry your cloth for a reasonable price. They even allowed us to save something in their fridge. I like the fact that they enforce the rules in the hotel, to make the stay enjoyable for every guest. We stayed in room #4 and it was very quiet.
The employees are very friendly and eager to please. The owner is a very down to earth person, takes care of her customers with respect and makes you feel like family. I love the fact that the hotel is Eco- friendly and is making a difference in Puerto Rico. It made me feel very proud to stay there. My kids( 18 and 14 years old) were crazy for the place and enjoyed having WI-FI. We made the reservation at the last moment and were thrilled to stay there ( and believe me, there were plenty of places to choose from). I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a family friendly place, awesome service and a safe place to stay. We would definitely stay here again and wish the owner success in her business.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Liza and family; Guests like you are the ones that motivate us to keep up the good job we do every day and force us to exceed visitors expectations. Specially when you are from our Island and can differentiate between Good and Excellent service. For us it was a pleasure to have you in our facility for almost a week. You are always welcome-Thanks a lot and very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here while in the area to do some birding at Guanica State Forest, Cabo Rojo lighthouse area and Parador Villa La Parguera. The room was a nice size and very comfortable. We were within walking distance to the center of town so it was easy to find a restaurant. The breakfast contained lots of choices and everything was fresh. Front desk and service personnel were all helpful and very professional.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
IronLenny, greetings and thanks a lot for taking the time to write such an encouraging review.
We feel honored to have you- a Senior Trip advisor reviewer -rating us as you did.
No question that you have had many experiences while travelling the World-, and can distinguish very well between Excellent, Average and Poor service.
Reviews like yours are the ones that encourages us to continue giving the extra mile for our guests.
We have learnëd a lot from Bird watchers every time they visit us. We are lookiing forward to have you back soon.
Our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Made reservations from 28Sept to 29Sept and when I arrived on 28 Sept with a bike (wife had race in Guanica) we were not allowed to have an ice box kooler, nor could I have my wife's $2,000 bike in the room. THEY wanted to store the bike in the breakfast room. I DONT THINK SO!!!! We decied to leave and the person at front desk said that they were going to charge me for the stay anyway...sure enough they charged my credit card for the 29 Sept. Eventhoough we found another hotel close by, THE NAUTILUS and we could keep the freaking car in the room if we wanted to. Now I am disputing the charge. The IRONY of it all, THE FREAKING HOTEL TURTLE INN WAS EMPTY...they couldn't accomodated me..come on!!!... no wonder it was empty!!!....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZRR, Owner at Turtle Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Alex I, please accept our sincere apologies for the misunderstandings during and after the check in process. We realize it is the quality of the service and the hospitality offered that can make the difference in the guests’ experience. Please note that we take pride in the reputation we have earned for the quality of our team, our facilities and services. The shortcoming in the situation that we tried to manage with you is not reflective of our standards and will be addressed in this response for you and others planning to visit us in the future.

I am genuinely sorry to know that your experience at Turtle Bay was not what you expected. Due to the diversity of special needs that each guest can have at any point in time, we had to come up with a set of rules before we complete the check in process and take the guest to his room. It is at that instance, that we can negotiate deviations to those rules if we consider them to be fair, safe and non-disruptive to our normal operations. Once rules are accepted and approved by the client, is our responsibility to make you have the best relaxing time of your life.

Bringing ice boxes inside rooms and the pool area is one that is difficult for us to accept.

However, many of our guests have been more than pleased with the option to use our refrigerators to store any special food items that they may consider important to keep cool. Regarding bikes inside the building and guest rooms; we had to stop that practice about a year ago for two main key reasons (1) safety of our customers (2) protection of our furniture and hall walls. We have sponsored for two years in a row a big biking event that takes place in La Parguera between August and September. I personally do biking as a sport with my partner and everywhere we go we ask before we make reservations, if bikes are allowed or not.
In our website and in Trip advisor, we clearly indicate the extent of our services and the cancellation policy. Under no circumstances we pretend to mislead a potential client.

We tried our very best to negotiate with you options for the ice box and for the expensive bike. However, we were not successful in our genuine attempt to find a win-win solution to your situation. You just left the facility saying that you will find another place and will cancel your credit card to ensure no charges could be made.

We take pride in the relationship we have developed with many guests who return to Turtle Bay Inn, month after month and year after year. – We did not have the opportunity to impress you favorably in other aspects of our service, staffing and facilities.

I am confident that your experience was going to be very positive with our team of employees and our VIP facilities if you could have given us an opportunity. Comparing us with facilities that have no ranking or history in Trip advisor-- is not fair. Letting guests do anything –everything they want does not seems to be a “Best Practice” to adopt. We are different –and that is one of the many characteristics that visitors like from us.
Please note that the Hotel was not empty at all-that weekend -we had 10 rooms out of twelve occupied. Yours was one of the guarantee reservations.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit La Parguera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel,clean rooms,good service or a quiet place to stay with your family during vacations; this is your hotel! For fun I recommend playa santa and the trip to the lake in the night! (La laguna biolumimiscente)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Inn

Address: Calle 6 # 153 | La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Turtle Bay Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Bay Inn in the heart of La Parguera Bioluminiscent Bay in Lajas, Puerto Rico.New with twelve modern and spacious rooms with Queen size beds, Free internet, parking and complimentary breakfast, dish network, laundromat, Swimming pool facilities and personalized service. Offers the elegance, prime service and amenities of a large hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Turtle Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Lajas
Turtle Bay Inn Puerto Rico/Lajas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.