We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Jamaca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Jamaca to your Saves list
La Jamaca
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Reparto La Borde | Collinas La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Lajas B&B and Inns
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for three nights and was pleasantly surprised. This was a mid-week visit so the place was quiet as was the town of La parguera. This is a small, cozy hotel with a small pool and home made beach area with hammocks. many place to sit and relax in the outside lobby/pool area. A restaurant/bar is available for breakfast and dinner on the weekends. The beds/pillows and comforters are the best you will find. The staff is helpful. Kevin especially. Rooms are small but clean. Shower is hot. Pool or beach towels are available. Could use a little upkeep. But overall it is very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your comments and for recognizing our staff and property ammenities!! We work for it!! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    12
    13
    11
See reviews for
59
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's a very nice family-owned inn. It has a lot of charm. Carlos was very friendly, gave us a lot of information about La Parguera, Guenica, and surrounding areas. Very quiet place! Rooms are very simple and unpretentious but charming in their own way. Each room has a porch with a hammock. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our premises. We are please to know that we fulfill your expectations. Looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Review of La Jamaca, La Parguerra PR, 1/9/2013:

We tried to stay here in January of 2012, on our first trip to Puerto Rico. They never answered several emails, never returned a phone call. We found another place.

This year we tried again. They quickly answered emails and we reserved two nights.

The place definitely has a personality all its own. Funky would be a good way to describe it. There are odd things stashed here and there all over the property: a parking meter, ship portholes, light fixtures with bird’s nests in them, an oar, a ship’s lantern, small old pieces of rusty machinery, lots more. This is all an attempt at art, and it works. There are a couple of cats running around, the usual assortment of small lizards, birds coming and going, even a rooster that struts around like he owns the joint.

La Jamaca is designed for comfort, not for speed. It’s up in the hills above town, away from the noisy tourism-oriented places down by the ocean. You need a car; it would be a goodly hike down into town, and an even more arduous one up a couple of pretty steep hills to get back.

The rooms – ours at least – are small and spartan. A double bed, a small TV with cable, a serviceable bathroom, a balcony big enough to stash a cooler. That’s about it. The place seemed quite clean and there was some painting going on while we were there. True to its name, there are hammocks everywhere, probably more than a dozen. There are four right next to the cute little pool, more out back. Areas for laying around reading, writing or cruising the net on the wifi are nearly everywhere.

At one time the place had a full-service restaurant but while we were there (Tuesday and Wednesday) only breakfast was available and, we were told, dinner on the weekends. There is a little bar next to the pool. The staff is pretty small – a couple of folks. They were very friendly and checked in with us periodically to see if we needed anything while we were lounging in the hammocks. It was a simple matter to run a room tab that we settled at the end of our stay.

And it was quiet: it seemed as if we were the only ones there. Perhaps we were. At night it is VERY quiet, and if you listen carefully you can hear the surf half a mile away.

We had just come from the wildly frantic Three Kings Festival in Ponce and were getting ready to meet a high-energy friend in Rincon. La Jamaca functioned as a rest period, a place to just lay around, read, write, recuperate and generally do absolutely nothing of any consequence.

If you’re looking for a clean, quiet, affordable place to simply veg out, with just enough personality to make it memorable without being jarring, La Jamaca fits the bill.

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor overlook the pool and you can see the ocean from the back of these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your review! We are glad that you were able to spend enough time in our premises to provide so many details!! It is our intention for our customers to have a peaceful time! Looking forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

La Jamaca was great! Really close to La Parguera but with enough distance to avoid the noise. Was really easy to find the La Jamaca, just read the signs in the road. Alex (in front desk) was very helpful, he fixed our reservation and give us valuable advise for places to hang out. The only complaints about the place was about the time of the restaurant (breakfast until 10am and dinner until 8pm), I really wanna try the Sangria Bombon (maybe next time) and the size of the parking lot (for about 5 cars).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for your positive feedbacks and for recognizing our employees hospitality!! We definately agree that our place is well located and this is something that our customers love. We are glad you enjoy our place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile


Very peaceful place certainly honeymoon place! Overall I would stay again loved that its apart from crowded areas. Employees very respectful. Enjoy the pool area. Beside jamaca everywhere very cool so u can relax while drinking or just being relax

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llvvmmaa, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking your time and provide such nice feedbacks to us! We sure appreciate your comments! Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen rock pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

A nice family owned business. If your looking for a place for a shower and bed, along with swinging in a hammock this is the place. If your looking for luxury it is not. They were very helpful, we got a refrigerator and coffee maker which was great. Very laid back. John was also able to take us out on his boat for the day at a very reasonable price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Puerto Rico is under developed so you have to ask around on how to get to beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding our propery. It is our commitment to serve you and assure you have a great time in our B&B! You have been very assertive in commenting that our guesthouse is not a luxury hotel but do met all your needs! La Jamaca commitment is to providing our guests with nice and clean rooms, serve all your needs and assure you come back! We are looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Manangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, null, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

It is quiet but has good facilities. The service is poor but there is an employee who makes a difference. A rather poor breakfast and the room is not well done. The bathroom is very small and the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemba24, General Manager at La Jamaca, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,
Thanks for providing your feedback to us. La Jamaca commitment is to assure all of our guests feel comfortable from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave. From your comments it seems you were not comfortable with your room and our staff. It would of have been great that at the moment your were feeling uncomfortable you should of have reached one of our associates, I can assure they would of provided you with alternatives, particularly knowing that you were on your honeymoon! We try to please all of our customers but do recognize that it is impossible! Lets be realistic. Probably your expectations were higher with the room, we dont know, yet I do guarantee that if you werer looking for a room with additonal ammenities such as but not limited to a bathtub, shower caps, refrigerator, two king beds etc, you will have to pay much more that what you pay in our facilites, Our rooms are equipped with your basic needs such as soap, shampoo, towels, tv with cable, air conditioning, we have rooms with queen beds, double beds. Our facilites provide a pool for our customers, areas to lay down and relax in hammocks, pool bar, restaurant, free parking, wireless internet, but most of all a great hospitality!! Also if you need a coffee maker, refrigerator, iron board, blower we will provide it to you!! We are more that please to welcome you again in our premises!

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Jamaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Jamaca

Address: Reparto La Borde | Collinas La Parguera, Lajas 00667, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Jamaca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Jamaca is a 13 room guesthouse which offers fully equipped accommodations. It is a place surrounded by trees. We have a swimming pool, restaurant open Fridays through Sundays, free parking, internet wireless, decks with hammocks for the use of guests. It is a property endorsed by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Jamaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jamaca Hotel Lajas
La Jamaca Puerto Rico/Lajas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Jamaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.