We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived as guests, left as friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rankins Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rankins Restaurant
The Street | Sissinghurst, Sissinghurst, England
01580 713964
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Recommended by Michelin 2010 We stopped here by happy accident this Sunday lunchtime. Run by a husband and wife team the food is outstanding and excellent value for money. Just down the road from Sissinghurst Castle. Hugh's food and Leonora's charming service deserve a wider audience.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Arrived as guests, left as friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Rankins but will most certainly not be our last. It is a restaurant of modest size & the kind of cottagey atmosphere you would find in someone's home. In fact we were given a kind of welcome a friend would give you on arriving at their home. The menu is varied & interesting, with a good selection of wines. We had three courses with extras of cheeses & coffees. The food was delicious, delicately balanced so you could taste the variety of flavours, and beautifully presented. Our hosts, Hugh (chef) & Lee (front of house) were charming and made the time to chat to each table of guests and made us all feel very welcome. In summing up, this restaurant is totally unpretentious, serving wholesome meals comprising of the freshest of ingredients. We loved it & will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smarden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely restaurant, fantastic host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband took me here to celebrate my birthday. The menu had a lovely selection on it, the hostess was very attentive and advised on what wines to complement our meal. We thorughly enjoyed our evening and plan to go back for a family celebration. Thank you for a very enjoyable evening

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOUILLON, Burgundy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Robust food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

At last, private dining which is free of charge! Arriving 15 minutes early in the rain, we were grateful when Leonora (Lee), La Patronne, opened the door and welcomed us inside. Later, we also met with her husband, Hugh, who is the Chef/Patron. Both make a very welcoming couple. It is just a shame that we were the only diners the whole evening. Lee admitted that the restaurant does not wash its face, the business being kept afloat by the outside catering service that the couple offer.
Starting with an half bottle of house champagne whilst we perused the menu, we were happy to chat with Lee whilst listening to her recommendations.
Deciding to start with the goat's cheese and beetroot salad, we chose different mains, duck confit and lamb noisette with a mild curry sauce. All dishes were served promptly, simply presented and flavoursome. The premier cru red Burgundy that we selected proved to be an excellent choice, being a 2006 and not expensive at £33.
Choosing to pass on the cheese selection which would have allowed us to finish our wine, we moved on to desert.
All deserts were on the sweeter side that we would normally prefer but we surrendered to temptation and had the renowned 'Chocolate Nemesis'. A surprising lighter version of a torte and all the better for it.
In summary, an interesting experience spoilt by the high prices as compared to the simple almost rustic food that it available elsewhere at a lower price.
Somewhat cheekily, we suggested that Lee and Hugh visit Chapter One in Locksbottom to see what can be produced for a better price (Lee had not heard of Chapter One). Economies of scale is a fair comment but it could not be said that the good and straightforward dishes that we were served warrant the prices charged. Sorry Lee and Hugh but one has to tell it as it is!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful food and even more beautiful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is my second visit to Rankins. The first being a romantic evening meal for 2 and this one a family Sunday lunch. Two very different settings but both visits everything we could have hoped for. Our romantic meal was initimate and special our family meal, friendly and accommodating. Lee (our host) is so warm, kind and friendly; nothing is too much trouble. Our Sunday lunch included a 3 year old and a 1 year old and (although we are blessed with 2 realatively well behaved young diners!) Lee made sure we had everything we needed to make the lunch a pleasureable experience for all.
And of course, on both occassions, we left the restaurant having eaten the most delightful food prepared by the lovely Hugh. A superb husband and wife team who offer great food, great service at, what I believe to be, excellent value. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst meal ever experienced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The restaurant looks lovely from the outside. When one enters a very small room with a maximum of approximately 20 covers.
The owner is the waitress and maitre d. A more pretentious woman you will not find. She overflows with fake smiles and insincerity.
Very average food and overpriced for what it is. One has to have two courses - not a problem but the standard is no better than mediocre.
Children are made particularly unwelcome.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rankins Restaurant also viewed

 
Cranbrook, Kent
 

Been to Rankins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rankins Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.