We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sissinghurst Castle Garden

Sissinghurst Castle Garden
Biddenden Road | near Cranbrook, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
01580 710700
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owned and maintained by the National Trust, this famous 20th-century garden is actually a series of ten smaller "garden rooms," each uniquely different from the others.
UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Thank goodness that we have the National Trust who care for and open these fascinating properties to the public.
The gardens alone are worth a visit but climb the tower for amazing views of the surrounding countryside, and go into the library - beautiful building and furnishings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    109
    36
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Templeuve, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“wonderful garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

a very beautiful garden where you can stay and relax on a bench if you wish to do so. The garden is like magic and changes when you cross edges, it's really wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“WHAT THE NATIONAL TRUST DOES BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was not our first visit and hopefully it will not be our last.
Although there is not too much to visit in the way of buildings, it is the gardens which are the main attraction.
These are beautiful and inevitably change in how they look depending on what season one visits.
Whenever you visit they will be spectacular. It just depends how spectacular they are at any given time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not by Public Transport/pick your season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Once you get there, it's pleasant and enjoyable BUT - it may be ok if you drive yourself or ride with someone - however, getting there by pubic transport is not for the faint of heart. There are buses and trains that would get you within a mile and a half and the length of the walk is manageable if you are fit BUT the road is perilous - imagine narrow country roads with fast cars coming both ways and there is NO FOOTPATH.

This is the end of summer and the gardens are gearing toward autumn. Much of the summer blooms are gone so the gardens are looking worse for wear. I was desperate to see this garden due to the literary connections and the hype but I must admit to being somewhat disappointed. It's a National Trust cash cow and they are now going to open 7 days a week so instead of closing for maintenance work they just carry on mowing and what not while you are there. The noise and pollution from the mower was offensive.

Again, as I find with most establishments with a monopoly on catering; the food is less than ordinary and poor value. The two small patties in my lamb burger were hard as rocks; the burger itself consisted on a flabby white roll with no sauce or any condiments other than 2 slices of under ripe tomatoes and about six small salad leaves. The patties must have been cooked a couple of hours ahead though this was half an hour after they opened. They must also have been cooked after the sausages had been on the hot plate and the plate was not cleaned because the burgers stank of old grease.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a fantastic day out here. The rural setting is stunning and the gardens are wonderful. One good touch is the amount of labelling of the plants. From the number of cars in the car park my wife and thought it was going to be packed inside but there is so much space we were often alone as we did the circular walk and in the formal gardens.
The restauarant was pleasent and the food perhaps a little costly but very very nice.
All in all a truly lovely place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sissinghurst Castle Garden also viewed

Lamberhurst, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Hever, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sissinghurst Castle Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.