We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, great views, ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissinghurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse
Save
You added Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse to your Saves list
Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great views, ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The house is right on the doorstep on Sissinghurst Castle itself, so ideal for getting in early before the crowds arrive. Fraser and Sue made us feel very welcome and our room, Hazledean was lovely, a huge big bed and a great view over the main tower. It's also a great spot from which to explore some of the other great National Trust places in Kent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    8
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The best bit about staying here, apart from the wonderful view of Sissinghurst Castle tower has to be the magnificent sumptuous super king-sized sleigh bed in the Hemsted room, which totally enveloped us in clouds of luxurious white duvet. I would definitely recommend this room, for the view and the two windows, providing a lot of light. If it hadn't been for wanting to see the castle and the grounds, I'd have gladly stayed in the room the whole time.

The bathroom was a little on the small side, but adequate and worth it to have a private bathroom, as this has been added to the original room.

Breakfast was well-cooked and presented, but perhaps not as generous as it might be, but this did not deter from a fabulous stay.

Our host was most welcoming and I loved the dog roaming around aimlessly in the hall not really bothering anyone, but I'm a dog person.

The whole place is steeped in history and the renovation has been done tastefully. I loved the big staircase and the whole feel of the place. It was a bit more expensive than our usual B&B rates, but worth it for the luxury bed and historical experience.

Would happily return. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

A lovely experience again. A beautiful room in a fantastic house. Great views from our room. Sue, Fraser and Inca the dog are excellent hosts! Thoroughly recommend it. Will be back again next year.

Vicky and Greg

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

A wonderful bed and breakfast, which is more than a farmhouse, it is a beautiful grand house with a very warm welcome, luxurious bedrooms and scrumptious breakfasts... thank you for a fabulous way to spend my birthday!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back of the house for views of the castle and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed at the Farmhouse in its pre-National Trust lifetime. Loved it then. Now it is even better, with great new interior decoration and bathrooms. The Nat'l Trust outdid itself in preserving the character of the original, but with a new luxurious feel.
I'm on foot, so the location is perfect for going around the gardens (outside the moat) before breakfast, going again when it opens, walking into Sissinghurst, heading out to Cranbrook for shopping and eating at the George.
I'm glad Sue is the proprietor; she is so relaxed and eager to help in any possible way. We hated to leave, and plan to come back in the springtime...the bluebells in the woods are incredible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were in Sissinghurst for a Golden Wedding celebration and decided to make a weekend of it. Wanting to visit the gardens we choose Castle Farmhouse as it close by, indeed it is part of the estate. A delightful old house with a carefully updated interior taking account the history of the building. The welcome was warm with a cup of tea. we had time for a short walk round the lakes before dinner in the village 20 minutes walk so that both of us could enjoy some wine. A perfect nights sleep, a beautiful day of warm sunshine and a freshly cooked breakfast. Cannot think of what more one would want from a B & B

Room Tip: Leave the choice to the owner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We spent a long weekend here. Sue was the perfect host. The house is lovely - beautifully furnushed and decorated. The rooms are light and comfortable and in keeping with the rest of the house. We were given tea and cake in the lovely garden on arrival and played croquet. It is only a few steps to the Castle and gardens - so a great location if you want explore Sissinghurst. Restaurants and pubs are a pleasant 20 mins walk away. The breakfasts were lovely with home made jams and smoothies and anything you wanted cooked. A perfect weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse

Address: Biddenden Road, Sissinghurst TN17 2AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sissinghurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sissinghurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian grandeur and quirkiness of the Farmhouse has been retained in an extensive refurbishment offering luxury accommodation and high quality hospitality within the stunning historic setting of The National Trust's Sissinghurst Castle. Just 100 yards from the World famous gardens and in the glorious Wealden countryside, the seven en-suite bedrooms and quality hospitality will ensure a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse Hotel Sissinghurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sissinghurst Castle Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.