We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lumley's Place - Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lumley's Place to your Saves list
Lumley's Place
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Johannesdal | Johannesdal, Pniel 7681, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pniel B&B and Inns
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lumley's Place - Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

June 2010

My name is Dave Calvario. I am the Dean of Students at Waynesburg University, located in Pennsylvania, USA. We are a small Presbyterian institution. Faith, learning and serving is at the core of our institution’s values.

I led a group of nine Waynesburg University students on a mission service trip to the Cape Town area, May 20-June 3, 2010. We partnered and served with students from Stellenbosch University during our stay. Part of the trip immersed us in the richness of South Africa’s history and culture, and part of our trip was in direct service in Gugulethu. Everywhere we turned we were greeted by warm and welcoming individuals.

For me, this was my third mission service trip to beautiful South Africa. While in the Stellenbosch area, we stayed at Lumley’s Place, a Bed & Breakfast in Pniel. Benita and Peter have a lovely place that is new, clean and an outstanding staff. We were treated like royalty. I highly recommend Lumley’s Place. They will spoil you.

Go Bafana Bafana!

Sincerely,
Dave Calvario

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
thanking you for this raving review. thanks for sharing your life and travel experiences with us. We have learnt so much from your group, the diski dancing and so much more. thanks for the promotion of our venue and village as such. 2010 was an outstanding year for us and you and the students contributed to much of that as well. Do hope to host you and your group on your next trip to University of Stellenbosch, again. Go well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My friend and I were looking for a cozy B&B to spend a night in the Cape Winelands after our full day of wine tasting. This place was amazing! We stayed in the Blue Gecko room. It is beautifully decorated, very cozy, and the views from the building of the surrounding valley are incredible! What an amazing getaway location. I only wish we had been there in the summer to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
thanking you for review. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay whilst travelling our beautiful country. We do cater for all ages and love it when young adults finds our venue and village awesome as part of their travels. God bless you in your travels and do hope to see you reserving a room on your next trip here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

During our visit to Cape Town, we decided to head out into the Cape Winelands to check out the countryside and of course the wine. Found Lumley's Place to be an absolute hidden gem! An unbelievably beautiful venue with great views of surrounding mountains. Owners and staff we're very friendly and helped organize an excellent wine tour. The rooms are cozy and since we visited in the winter were very thankful for the in-floor heating! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
thanking you for this rave review. thanking you for al the assistance in creating marketing blocks for our establishment. it was much appreciated. we have learnt so much from all the advise given. we do hope to host you on your travels to SA and thus Pniel again. We have awesome guided hiking trails and the views from the Silvermines are awesome and you need to experience to appreciate. God bless you on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Address: Johannesdal | Johannesdal, Pniel 7681, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic mountain views,safe neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-en-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close by Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5min from Car muzeum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumley's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.