We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIET GETAWAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumley's Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lumley's Place to your Saves list
Lumley's Place
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Johannesdal | Johannesdal, Pniel 7681, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Pniel B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“QUIET GETAWAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

LUMLEY PLACE is a quiet getaway to relax and enjoy the scenery.Not much to do, but relaxing and clean.Thanks for the friendliness. GOOD LUCK and may your business grow from strength to strength. I feel you could serve supper aswell, to generate income and interact with the guests.

Room Tip: The ghekko room has a balcony to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
thanking you for the positive review regarding your stay. Your review contributed to more guests viewing our venue and enqiuring for a function or stay. We have started offering inhouse meals especially when guests requested. We do not really offer the dinner because we are within close distance of the best world class restaurants and would like guests to enjoy those whilst staying with us. i have taken note of the fact of mingling more with guests. Will do that from now on -thanks.
God bless
Benita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
20
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

For an amazing night's sleep and delicious home-cooked breakfast after an evening in Franschoek or wine tasting in the amazing Helshoogte, try the Gem in Pniel. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A little off the main road but a gem to be sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for this awesome response regarding your stay. So glad you loved our beds. We researched it well and then bought the best for our guests. God bless and safe travels. Waiting on your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The guest house is situated in a very small town, Pniel. Not much to do however it is a very nice and neat guest house at reasonable rates. From here you a very close to tourist towns like Franschoek, Stellenbosch, Paarl and many excellent vineyards.

Save on accommodation costs and have more money to wine and dine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanking you for taking the time out to write the review. it surely was mentioned by another guest that booked at our venue. We have in the meantime have numerous new products in teh village in line of new tourpackages, shuttle services, free wine tastings on a few wine farms neighbouring Pniel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The guesthouse was slightly in the middle of nowhere, but it was not far to drive to the gorgeous vineyards of Stellenbosch; Delaire and Tokara were just 10-15 minutes away. we had already spent 3 nights in Stellenbosch and thought this was in Franschoek but it turns out it was about 20min drive to Franschoek so we should have looked more carefully on the map :) We got the Blue Gecko room that was big and comfortable with our own little terrace overlooking the pool. No AC, but the fan was fine. We were the only guests there that night so we were well catered for at breakfast. Good location if you are visting both Franschoek and Stellenbosch, nice to have a pool and gorgeous view over mountains. If you are only interested in Franschoek I would stay more in town, lots of vineyards were within walking distance from the center. Staff were friendly but didn't know much about the vineyards of Franshoek, we managed to get a map at one of the vineyards over the whole area.

Room Tip: Blue Gecko room was nice and had good view over pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
thank you for your review.we are truly centrally located to a traveller wishing to visit Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl on the same weekend or getaway. We are glad you liked our surrounding attractions as well as what our venue has to offer. World Class restaurants and wine estates are close by like you mentioned- Molenvliet 2km, Tokara 3,4km, Delaire Graff 3,6km, Le Pommier (petting zoo ). We are amidst all the wedding venues on the R310 between Stellenbosch and Alluee Bleue. the staff has been trained and educated regarding the surrounding wine estates and a list of what the valley has to offer had been added to the room file as well as being attached to guests requesting accommodation. We also send out a mail about events happening on that week or weekend that guests are due to arrive or put the note in the room. Blue Gecko and Peerboom will have airconditioners by Mid Feb 2013- thus will be there with your next visit to us. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I where visiting Franshoeck, for a few days, and lummleys in Pniel was perfect, the price was great value, the owners were so nice.
The cleanliness was outstanding.
highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanking you for this review it was mentioned by another couple that they booked because they read your positive review.
Johannesdal, PNIEl is an awesome village with rich culture and history. We pride ourselves to serve and yes we try our best in giving value for money especially in these tough economic times. God bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyUk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Absolutely stunning wedding venue. Staff are very accommadative, friendly and hospitable. Food was fantastic. Quiet and beautiful countryside with views of vinyards and mountains.8 to 10 min away from the main town Stellenbosch for a supermarket shop or ATM/cashpoint. However there are some really good restaurants and tea gardens that serves top qualitly meat and high tea aswell in the surrounding area. We didnt use the accommadation to stay overnight but from what ive seen, the rooms look spacious and theres a swimming pool at the back of the building as well. I'd recommend it to anyone, and knowing that its one of the most beautiful places ive ever been, i know you will love it. Thanks so much Benita and staff, much apprechiated.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LumleysPlace, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
thanks that you entrusted your Mom's special day in our hands. What a stunning ceremony and reception. We do hope they will be back for their first wedding anniversary . We will spoil them. thanks once again for choosing Lumleys Place. Do hope to see you at our venue with your next home visit. God bless. Benita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Great little bed and breakfast. It was a little farther from town then we thought it would be but still next to some stunning vineyards with great restaurants. After being in Stellenbosch for a few hours we were actually happy we were outside of town. The view is gorgeous, very accommodating staff, large breakfast, and very nice rooms. Thanks Benita!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumleys, Owner at Lumley's Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am glad you decided to stay irrespective of the distance to the hustle and bustle of the two closes cities, 18 minutes to Franschhoek and 10 minutes to Stellenbosch. Our neighbourhood is extremely quiet and safe and the villages very guests friendly. thanking you for taking time out to review us. We were blessed to host you as guests. We will forward our hiking trail packages as promised. Do you hope to see you soon on your travels through our beautiful country. God bless. Benita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumley's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley's Place

Address: Johannesdal | Johannesdal, Pniel 7681, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Pniel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley's Place 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic mountain views,safe neighbourhood, warm hearted villagers, friendly capable staff.4-en-suites,hearty breakfasts, small garden, pool for lazy summer days. Private Shuttle services to golf estates, Boschenmeer,Pearl Valley,Stellenbosch,De Zalze,Devonavale,15min drive to Cullinary Capital Franschhoek, 12min to Stellenbosch. 40min to Cape Town international and 30min to nearest beach.Close by Wine tastings, Solms-Delta,Tokara,DElair Graff, le Pommier, Zorgvliet, Molenvliet all internationally known wine and event venues.5min from Car muzeum,15min from Franschhoek cullinary capital of Western Cape.Family owned B&B in rural village Johannesdal, Pniel- rich slave history, hands on service from owners, mobile spa services,10min LE Bonheur crocodile farm. 20min to Butterfly World Klapmuts as well as Paarl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Lumley's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumley's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.