We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Poor value for money"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Rucheliere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Rucheliere to your Saves list
La Rucheliere
6 Place Jacques Ledoyen, 49330 Contigne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Contigne B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Poor value for money"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly, we had a problem with our booking (through booking.com) because we booked to stay in the gite for three nights but after booking I had a call from Carole to say the gite wasn't available for the first night and could we stay in the hotel for one night, so we had to stay in the hotel for one night and in the gite for two nights.. We were disappointed by the hotel, it does smell musty and mouldy and is very dark and dingy and this was the summer! We do not see how other reviewers have given it an 'excellent'. The breakfast is also very expensive for 12 euros per person. One croissant each, plain yogurts, pots of fruit compote and a small bowl of fruit, one choice of cereal and 2 or 3 of different breads and jam. Had to ask for fresh hot tea, as had been left pot from previous guests. The church bells do start ringing quite early in the morning and is very noisy in the hotel because there is no double glazing.

Carole and Olivier were very pleasant to us, but they seemed very tired and stressed and not at all relaxed and were always watching what children were doing especially in the pool. They kept a lot of guests waiting to check in and kept making up beds in the second dining room - perhaps other guests were happy with this - but we thought probably more errors with reservations and not enough rooms?. Olivier did reserve a table for us in a creperie in Daon, which was very nice and good value.

The pool is not a Spa. It is a small simple inside swimming pool - not great for young children really because they want quiet for guests but our teenage children did enjoy it. The outside Jacuzzi is charged 19 euros per person for a short time - very expensive! We did not have a massage.

Small garden area with a couple of swings, hidden by trees near the gite. There is a table tennis table which we enjoyed using but bats falling apart.

The gite itself was very nice and a complete contrast from the hotel, very modern, spacious and clean. They really need to up the hotel standards to meet this! But again a problem because she asked if we had our own sheets and towels for the gite but this was not mentioned on the booking!! She did however provide all free of charge - so they should for the price. Booking.com also offered reservation of free bikes for the property but when we asked she said she could possibly provide 1 but otherwise we could pay to have some from nearby hire shop.

There is nothing in this village, so you need to drive at least 15 - 30 mins to river or nearby attractions. A bakery in the village was not open while we were there but a big supermarket in a village 5 miles away and has everything. We did drive to Angers which was lovely and visited Chateau Angers which was good value at 8 euros per person - many of the large chateaux now charge a lot to get in.

This is a very average hotel. As a previous reviewer said, beware of the mixed reviews for this place. Although the gite was very nice inside, we would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    65
    9
    21
    15
See reviews for
31
127
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pornic, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I loved staying here, peaceful, relaxing and a very good atmosphere created by Carole and Olivier.

The pool was amazing and it was great to swim and relax in the winter - to recharge our batteries.

Oh and Thank you for a great cup of English tea and a fantastic breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a wonderful and charming hotel. The hosts, Carole and Olivier were warm and gracious - no request was too large or too small. Our rooms were delightfully appointed and comfortable. We loved sitting in the living room having a glass of wine and appetizers. The breakfasts that were provided were very good. We went to nearby restaurant one evening - right on a river - but ate at the only restaurant in town - "Le Bon Boeuf" - the other two nights. We loved exploring the countryside. I would go back again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was our third visit to this wonderful old house, we always wish we could stay longer ! Our hosts Carole and Olivier have always made us feel so welcome and helped us arrange restaurants and places to visit.
The rooms are all unique with antique furniture and sumptuous beds [ do'nt expect a t.v here, that would spoil the peace and tranquility ] the bathrooms are very good by french standards again with many antique features and plenty of hot water.
Nice breakfast,safe off road parking, and so relaxing, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and different and very quiet, room sizes vary from small to very large,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Only stayed here one night on a business trip but was delighted with the hotel. Owner could not be more friendly and hospitable, rooms were charming and lovely location. I would certainly want to return and spend more time here in the summer to take advantage of all the amenities this lovely hotel has.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The old presbytery was really enchanting as a place to stay. We only spent a night there, stopping on the way down further south, but if we had known what it was like we would certainly have stopped there for longer to begin our holiday properly.

One of the best aspects for us, travelling with 3 small children, was the layout of the rooms. We had two large, beautifully decorated and spacious rooms which were interconnecting, and so it allowed us to get the children to bed and then have something of an evening in these beautiful surroundings. The whole ambience too was delightful - we spent a lot of time roaming in the garden with the children, and Carole was immensely hospitable in directing us to a good place to eat and, in general, in making sure things were good.

A special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrieres-sur-Seine, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I spent 2 nights la Ruchelière. This chambre d'hôtes is located about 40mins drive outside Angers in a small village next to a church. This is a charming house that is decorated with taste with a lovely garden with a hammock. The hostess Carole made us feel very welcome and helped us discover two nearby Michelin starred restaurants: Une Île in Angers and Châteaux de Noirieux (a member of Relais & Châteaux). Breakfast was good with a wide selection of croissants, cakes and juices. The parking is free and is by the church. There is a pool that is heated and indoors but opens out onto a small patio with loungers. I found the sound of the adjacent church bells charming. A very peaceful break. I highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Rucheliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rucheliere

Address: 6 Place Jacques Ledoyen, 49330 Contigne, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Contigne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Contigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just come and take time to enjoy our beautiful area. The Loire valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Rucheliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Rucheliere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.