We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Senggigi, Desa Krandangan, Senggigi Beach, Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Senggigi
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Although the staff is quite nice, like almost everywhere in that region, the hotel seems to be a bit outdated in its accommodations and the general maintenance could be improved since the prices compete even to hotels belonging to international chains.
The lobby and the entrance look quite great but do not expect the same style in your bedroom otherwise you will be disappointed like I was.
The room are big in size (and have aircon, tv and fridge) but deserves a three star hotel rating (old furniture etc). The restaurant serves very basic food too. As a conclusion, I would not recommend to stay there but feel pity for the staff that are all very nice.
I did not try the spa and was just trying to move out asap.
In general Senggigi does not seem to be the right place to go since it is overcrowded and seems today to face a consolidation phase due to an overwhelming tourism.
I was told that the South of Lombok is a better destination for the ones still looking for a genuine island atmosphere. Alternatives are the Gilis. Definitely not Senggigi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
10
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Had villa / room overlooking pool. Hotel is great. Clean, well positioned, good / friendly staff, good food, cold drinks. Great pool.
Highly recommended! Should have booked through agoda rather than direct as it would have been a little cheaper , but no big deal. Walking distance to great restaurants . It was our second stay and certainly would go back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This breach front otel is situated well outside the town of Sengigi, which is inconvenient.
But if offers a one-way shuttle service to the town. Some restaurants there are willing to pick you up and return you to the hotel free of charge.
We stayed in a fairly large room on the upper floor, which looked out on dumpsite. Unfortunately, there was no balcony. The bathroom was very basic.
When we arrived the air conditioning had not been switched on. It took hours before the room was reasonably cool.
The beach was filthy and uninviting.

Room Tip: Talk to the reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

I concur with every favorable comment regarding this property--especially as far as cleanliness, picturesque setting, and value for money are concerned. Reception was cordial; staff were friendly; grounds and accommodations could only be described as immaculate. Actually, the gardening is spectacular--in a lush, varied, and understated way.

As previously pointed out, rooms are dated but well maintained. Opened one year before the Asian financial meltdown in 1997, the Puri Saron was clearly intended for bigger things. Now most rooms above the ground floor are closed, and no money appears to have been invested in this property during the past decade. Like the rest of Lombok's tourist industry, the Puri Saron has suffered--the result of hard economic times, a pogrom that either wiped out or expelled the Indonesian Chinese, and intermittently poor airline service via Bali's Denpasar airport. As a result, hotel accommodations in Lombok remain a bargain, especially in comparison with Bali's ever-escalating room rates. Agoda offers the best deals and surest confirmations. My (superior) room at the Puri Saron was US$33, including tax, service, and breakfast. Food was just okay; there are better restaurants in town (Asmara, Da Quake, to name a couple). No shuttle service from the hotel to Senggigi, but Rp.10,000 taxis and motorbikes abound.

The only sour note: To Puri Saron's great dismay, an open-air karaoke has opened across the street. That racket continues until very late at night. In your room with doors and windows closed and a/c running, you can hardly hear the noise. But outside, there is much, unfortunate disturbance of the peace...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed at the Puri Saron in Senggigi for two nights on our way to Kuta Lombok. The hotel is slightly further out of town which some people may not find ideal, but we hired a motorbike so the location was fine for us. During our time there I think we only saw two other guests, so it was very quiet indeed. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, aside from a number of tiny ants parading inside from under the door. It's not nice to have ants in the room, but seems to be a common problem in a lot of hotels we stayed in across Indonesia, however, expensive/well kept. The pool was really nice, shared only with a little frog while we were there! The beach is accessable directly behind the hotel which was nice. The sand is black (volcanic) but soft. The weather wasn't nice enough for sunbathing, but the beach seemed very quiet and peaceful with no sellers which was a bonus. The wavers were absolutely huge, so no good for swimming, but good for the brave! I did not bother getting up for breakfast, but my partner got up once and reported that it wasn't that good. Generally speaking, I would say this hotel is nice and good value for money.
- Although unrelated to the hotel, if you are in Senggigi I would highly recommend The Square restaurant; a bit more pricey than other restaurants, but delicious food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

A very friendly hotel, most of the staff speak excellent English. This beach isn't the best but the pool more than makes up for it. Also a walk down the beach finds you in an area that the local kids use for body board surfing.
Good restraurant next to pool with very reasonable prices. Met Dutch and Germans starying there who come back almost year after year.
A big plus is its proximity to Senggigi making it really easy to get down there in the evenings to enjoyed the excellent restaurants.
We rented the local small motorbikes and this gave a great freedom for travelling around the whole area.
You can negotiate a really good price at the desk if you feel like just turning up. Otherwise price is $70 per night for a double room or $73 for a triple.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed in one of their "superior" (read standard) rooms. An older style hotel but well appointed. Not in the centre of town but located in a relaxing environment.

Included breakfast is a bit sparse and the restaurant food is not of great quality. There are three floors of room and no lifts, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, try and get a ground floor room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi, Desa Krandangan, Senggigi Beach, Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel is located at Lombok Island, Indonesia. It offers 48 guestrooms, consisting of 25 Superior Rooms with tropical garden views, 16 fully renovated Deluxe Rooms, 4 Bungalows with perfect location next to the swimming pool and close to the beach, and 3 Suites with the seaviews. Some of its amenities include swimming pool with beach view, high-speed Internet access, babysitting services, and ballroom, bar, and restaurant. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Mount Rinjani, Sendang Gile and Tiu Kelep Waterfall, and Museum Negeri Nusa Tenggara Barat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puri Saron Senggigi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.