We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Santosa Villas & Resort

Save Saved
You added The Santosa Villas & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Santosa Villas & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Senggigi
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only had lunch there but it was fantastic and the service was good.

We couldnt find an area with air conditioning to eat which was disappointing as it was so hot.
They had nowhere ready for us to have lunch although we were quite early. The beach in front of the resort was nice and the pool area and gardens were lovely and not too busy. The staff were all polite and helpful. The service was good.

It looked like a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We didnt stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServinStephane, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments, we are actually looking at closing the main area of our Seaside restaurant in order to provide dinners with an aircon area, it is true that during the rainy season, after heavy rain the place can feel hot despite the ceiling fans.
We will let you know when it is done and some photos will be posted on our facebook page.
Hope you had a good trip home, and looking forward to your next Lombok visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    66
    53
    31
    7
See reviews for
38
74
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I visited Lombok only for three days, with my husband, my mother, and my two years old daughter and I decided to stay at Santosa after reading reviews @ tripadvisor. We stayed in two deluxe cottage rooms. They even gave me discount, I paid less than 100 USD for a room a night.
The reception: they had guests lining up in front of the reception desk. But they didn't keep me waiting. They allowed me to fill in registration document at lobby, with four glasses of delicious vegetable juice as welcome drink.
The hotel: Simply wide and green! Very refreshing atmosphere.
The room: it was GREAT! More than I expected. Clean and beautiful. And the bathroom was also good.
The facilities: they had great pool and nice water tube. We could use it for free. They also have several games but I didn't use it. The woman at spa service was very friendly too. And they had a boutique, selling souvenirs.
The food/restaurant: it was quite expensive, but they served large size. And I love their sunken bar! They also had nice snacks.
And when I called for reservation, they offered me a driver to pick us up from the airport and take us to the places we want to see. I agreed, and I thank God that I agreed! The man was very friendly, he showed us great places (he took us to Tanjung Aan and that was just stunning) and delicious restaurant with reasonable price. He got along very well with my daughter, too. Thanks, Santosa. You made my short trip very memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and comments, I am glade you enjoyed your stay and our lovely island, I will pass on to my staff your kind words, and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed in Santosa for 4D/3N with my big family during the Eid holiday. When I first arrived in this resort, I was surprised by the sheer size of it. This is a huge hotel! So huge that when we were brought to our rooms, my dad complained about how far his room was from the reception area. When I asked the staff if I could switch to a room closer to the reception, we have to wait for about 10 minutes before my dad finally can get a room much closer to reception area. The hotel is big with beautiful gardens, huge pools and the buildings were well maintained. Room was spacious and cozy enough (deluxe suite). Breakfast was a bit average in taste and variety. Service is a bit lacking. My room was not provided with bathrobe, while my dad's was. the bar soap was not replenished everyday. But the location is very strategic, in close proximity to good restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
First of all I would like to apologize for your bathrop and amenity issue and I will personaly look into this matter. I am glade we could accomodate your father with a closer room and we do hope to see you in lombok again.
Thank you for your comments as they are very important for us to see where we must improve in order to provide you always with the best possible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

nice resort and the hospitality, but hot water in room should be improve, nice breakfast too and I will come again with my family for a couple of night. the bathroom especially bath tub need to renew. I would like to find some food for breakfast such as rice crispiest or cornflakes, but can't find it, cause I love it for my breakfast

Room Tip: stay at Villa it will be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and rest assure that we are focusing on refurbishing all our bathroom, remind Reservation on your next trip and we will do our best to allocate you a room where the bathroom has been done, as it is still in progress at this stage.
With regards to cerels, please do ask the staff, we do not put them on the buffet any more as some fo the guests were packing for a week of cereal in one morning and briging them home...
They are available but on request to our service staff.
We do hope to see you again in the future for another good family break
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

First thing, the hotel staff are very nice and smiley. The room service men are helpful and totally wants the guest feel homey. The furniture, as the hotel looks old, are quiet vintage and smell old but the wodden floor feels clean and smooth. We stay in what they mark as terrace room which have a balcony facing the garden. The pool is huge and fantastic, the kids love it, so do I as it face tru the beach, altough you can not see the beach directly from the pool. The bathroom also old but clean, the ceiling look older than the bedroom. The bathtub very standard but as long as all clean and the hot water running smooth, it's OK for us. We enjoy our stay, especially because the great pool. Probably will come back to stay at the suite room.

Room Tip: Pool view maybe more interesting, terrace room are so average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we do proceed at this time in the upgrade and renovation of most of the rooms in the main building, not in construction but in massive clean up so that your next stay will be more enjoyable. Rest assured that I will pass on to our staff your input as to better serve all our guest, we do hope to see you again in Lombok and at the Santosa.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Ok enough stay, $70/night through Agoda. Rooms are sort of bare bones. Very spotty wifi, only available in lobby. Had to ask many times just to get the correct login info. Wouldn't it be easy to just hand a copy to guests?

Our real problems began after we left. My fiancé had forgot an expensive pair of glasses in the room. After emailing the hotel three times with no response, we finally got through on a Skype connection and received terrible customer service. It seemed to be all about how we could help them, not how they could help us. Easily could have been delivered to the our next hotel in the Gili's, but now we are waiting in Kuta for the glasses. Fingers crossed they arrive before we leave the country. They hopefully will finally be shipped, four days after our first email. Stressful way to end our trip. Thanks a lot Santosa staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for our review and comments, and I do believe you have received your forgotten glasses by now, It is correct that internet was troublesome while you stayed with us as telkom was doing some maintenance on the fiber optic cable, That also explained why calling with skype was not the best way to communicate. I was at the front office when you called and the line was so bad that we could not understand a word, but despite all this we emailed twice the Warung Cho Cho ( without answer) where you stayed and called them to make sure they were aware that your glasses had been already sent by express courier to your Bali stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Visited this resort in December 2011. It is very well located at the center of Senggigi. The beach was okay, better go to one of the Gilis for much better beach activities. But if you aim for swimming, the pool is great especially for kids.
The breakfast was delicious and the choices were abundant.
We stayed in a standard room which was clean. It has a verandah where you could sit and enjoy the greenery. The bathroom is quite small.
The service was okay, but it took them years to get me a hairdryer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Santosa, General Manager at The Santosa Villas & Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
On behalf of the management we would like to thank you for your comments and to make sure your next stay with us is better, be advised that we have started to put hairdryer in all rooms, it was long overdue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Santosa Villas & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santosa Villas & Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 8, Senggigi, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Senggigi
#13 Spa Hotel in Senggigi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Santosa Villas & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Senggigi, The Santosa Villas & Resort offers a range of accommodation styles from hotel to private pool villas with all amenities. The free form lagoon size pool, right on the beach, is the focal point of the resort to relax and enjoy the sun setting over Bali from the Sunset bar. Other facilities include bars, restaurants, 24 hour room service, tennis, kids club and conference center. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Santosa Villas & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Santosa Villas And Resort
The Santosa Villas Hotel Senggigi
The Santosa Hotel
Santosa Hotel Mataram
The Santosa Villas & Resort Lombok/Senggigi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Santosa Villas & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.