We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good ambience and a nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of de Quake

de Quake
Art Market, Senggigi, Senggigi, Lombok 8355, Indonesia
62370693694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Senggigi
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in Senggigi’s Art Market, de Quake’s open-air restaurant and lounge looks out onto the bay of Senggigi and offers stunning, unmatched sunset views.De Quake features a unique menu of Indonesian and Asian food with fresh fish, seafood, meats and chicken together with fresh produce and local herbs and spices, all at a reasonable price.
1 review
“Great food, good ambience and a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved our dinner at the Quake restaurant. The staff was really friendly. The food was great and it had an all over good vibe to it. We sat on the balcony which has a nice view of the beach.
Two little points for improvement are to practise your English a little more and give your guests a new knive, spoon and fork after they used them with their starter.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Erik Jan B,

Thank you for the review, and yes, you should have gotten a clean fork and knife after your appetizer.

Happy Eating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    246
    65
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate at this restaurant last night and had a very delicious meal. The service was great and the staff lovely. We sat upstairs because the beach sellers drive you crazy if you sit on the beach. After reading tripadvisor reviews we ordered the banana cheesecake for dessert and it did not disappoint. You must try it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear jennyb_9,

hehehhe...2 reviews in a row on our Banana Cheesecake,

Glad you enjoyed it!

Happy Eating....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff, right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a really lovely evening at this restaurant right on the beach.

Even though at one point they were having some technical difficulties with their kitchen appliances, we were happy to have a drink and wait as the staff were so friendly and they were having a laugh with my partner about it.

The food was nice. Some aspects were lacking in flavour but still good. The meals were beautifully presented. Asian flavours presented delicately like French food would be. Very east meets west as would be expected with a French head chef.

We also had the banana no bake cheese cake as so many others on TA recommend. It did not disappoint! Beautiful. But get one to share though!

We really enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear oj_sb,

Another Senior Reviewer on TA with a great experience at Quake Restaurant. Thank you, and we're glad that you enjoyed your evening with us!

Happy Eating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Great lounge feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I went to this restaurant based on a review from a lonely planet travel book. We regretted not coming sooner. The food is great. the feeling of the place is a nice lounge feel and it is nicely located along the beach. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear tpas48,

Thank you for taking the time to write your complimentary review and we hope to see you back at Quake again soon!

Happy Eating...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Zero compromise - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Choosing a restaurant in Indonesia can be a bit hit-and-miss (which is what makes it fun!).

Sometimes the location is great but the food so-so, sometimes the other way around, other times the lack of both is made up for by great service.

De Quake has all three: wonderful location right on the beach, with the sound of waves lapping at the shore. Genuinely creative and good food (not just by local standards). And finally, friendly service, with all dishes arriving at the same time.

The restaurant and the kitchen are spotlessly clean, and the ambience strikes the right balance between cool and cosy

Booked to come back, straight away

No-bake banana cheesecake is my top-tip

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott052, Owner at de Quake, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your great review: *wonderful location right on the beach, creative and good food and friendly service *.

As you state, what a great combination!

See you on your next visit!

Happy Eating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Quake also viewed

 

Been to de Quake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Quake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.