We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8.4/10 -- Not Amazing, but Still Worth It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asmara Restaurant & Bar

Asmara Restaurant & Bar
Jl Raya Senggigi | Senggigi Beach, Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia
+62 370 693619
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 51 restaurants in Senggigi
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: German, Indonesian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tranquil dining in Senggigi, just a stroll from your hotel. Enjoy lobster from our aquarium, succulent seafood, excellent steaks, authentic German, Indonesian and Lombok dishes, or choose a delicious alternative from our mouthwatering menu.Opened in 1997, Asmara was the first international restaurant in Senggigi, keeping its high standards of quality and hygiene throughout all these years. We offer a great choice of gluten free dishes!
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“8.4/10 -- Not Amazing, but Still Worth It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We ate at Asmara for one night while staying 7 nights in Senggigi. It was a bit more expensive than other places along the strip (**you can always gauge how expensive a restaurant is based upon comparing the price of a large Bintang with other restaurants. Seriously, it's a great food-market indicator!). The quality of the food was good, the staff was very attentive, and it's far back enough from the road that street vendors won't hassle you throughout dinner. So, food and dining atmosphere is nice.

They also have a free taxi service to take you back to your hotel after your meal, which is a nice touch! This was a restaurant that was very good (we had no complaints!), but was not quite good enough to make us go back a second time. Worth a visit though, if you're unsure! We tried several of the restaurants across the road, and they were not as good (despite being cheaper).

Pros: food, location, service, free taxi
Cons: price is slightly higher than others

Overall: 8.4/10

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    90
    89
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went here quite late with friends but they were still quite crowded. It's located near the hotel where I stayed.
People clearly enjoyed their time there cos I saw people dancing to the record played hehe..
The staff was friendly, he can recommend which drink you would enjoy more according to your preference but the drink itself was just so so. I didn't order any food and only stayed for an hour or so but it was not bad.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food & Attentive Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of local, Asian and European options. Staff were excellent.

Lots of nice little touches - like an anti mosquito incense at your feet etc.

Definitely worth checking out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely decor, food good but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a mix of western (German) food and local food. The local food was amazing and the western food a bit odd, just not quite right. But when in Indonesia you should be rating local anyway. It costs a bit more than other places due to the set up but it is a lovely place to enjoy dinner. Staff were friendly and attentive.

The place was totally full and we got the last table so that tells you it must be good.

Also important for Asia the toilets were super clean and very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, honest food with very friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Eating outdoor is always a pleasure. Especially when the service is this friendly and the food non-pretencious and good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asmara Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Senggigi, Lombok
 

Been to Asmara Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asmara Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.