We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, attentive staff....a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asmara Restaurant & Bar

Asmara Restaurant & Bar
Jl Raya Senggigi | Senggigi Beach, Senggigi, Lombok, Indonesia
+62 370 693619
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 51 restaurants in Senggigi
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: German, Indonesian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tranquil dining in Senggigi, just a stroll from your hotel. Enjoy lobster from our aquarium, succulent seafood, excellent steaks, authentic German, Indonesian and Lombok dishes, or choose a delicious alternative from our mouthwatering menu.Opened in 1997, Asmara was the first international restaurant in Senggigi, keeping its high standards of quality and hygiene throughout all these years. We offer a great choice of gluten free dishes!
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive staff....a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Enjoyed good food here and the staff were wonderful and very attentive. Hotel pick up was very useful too.

On the downside, a 15% tax and service charge ( really?) was a bit of a sore surprise but if you take into account the free pick up I suppose its ok. I just would have preferred to know about it before hand.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    87
    87
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matsusaka, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good mix of east and west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went here twice - once I had a pizza margherita, and the other time, the tahu tempeh dish. Both were really nice, though it would have been nice if the tahu tempeh had had some little side salad with it to break up the heavy protein.

Service great, nice furnishings, a bit noisy if you sit at a table in the front, but in the tables up the back it's a lot more peaceful

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in the heart of Senggigi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great food here, Indonesian and German dishes available on the extensive menu. There's entertainment on Friday nights as well, but you might like to check that first, as it sometimes changes. Lovely, friendly attentive staff....and cold beer!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place for dinner. A 5 minute walk from the Sheraton which was most convenient and they offer free pick up and drop off from your hotel after 6:30pm. This is a great service! Food was tasty and nice atmosphere even if it is located on the road and not beach side.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The return hotel pickup service was very useful. Everyone knows Asmara. The reception can just call the restaurant and they can arrange the free pickup service easily. Our grilled prawn appetizer was delicious. The fish and beef pelecingan were also well made. They easily accommodated our request to take away the cheesecake desert. Service was warm and friendly. In our mind, the prices were a tiny bit cheaper than the Square restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asmara Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Asmara Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asmara Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.