We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable mountain lodge kind of place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Mountain Club
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast
Save
You added The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
16116 Mil Fotrero Ftg., Pine Mountain Club, CA 93222   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable mountain lodge kind of place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family pulled into the Old Bear after a grueling mid-day drive across LA with our dog, three kids (including a 16-month old), and tons of xmas presents from the grandparents stuffed into our minivan.... wow, what a welcome relief to be welcomed as we pulled into the driveway by David, the super-friendly (I would actually use the word "jolly") man of the house. As the house dogs wiggled their welcome around our legs, the two older kids ran shrieking out of the van to touch the snow, which we almost never see in our neck of the Bay Area.

David and his wife Maxine are the most warm and welcoming hosts we can remember having at a B&B (and we've traveled extensively in Europe, Asia, and North America). They were kind to our kids, and didn't worry a whit about the occasional spill or near-miss of something getting broken. Our dog was in seventh heaven, and we were grateful to be able to unwind on this peaceful property with a complimentary beer and a hot tub.

The bedrooms were warm and well-appointed, and breakfast was a full cooked affair with homemade baked blueberry French toast, sausages, fresh fruit, and good coffee. Another nice thing is that the tiny village main street is only 2 blocks away, with an antique/gift shop, homey pizza place, small general store, and more. We found great sledding just a few minutes away by car, and stables and picnic areas along the river which we'll explore in warmer weather.

We will definitely come back again -- this might become our regular pit stop on our route to the folks in San Diego. It's rare to find a B&B that not only accepts but welcomes kids and dogs, but is still a pleasing adult environment. This place is a great value for the money, and a great getaway for a couple or for the whole family.

Room Tip: Our daughters loved the Bluebird room - very sweet for little girls with the bunnies and birdies dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I love the Old Bear Bed and Breakfast! The place is adorable-- all wood, an old fashioned fireplace, giant hot tub in the middle of the forest, and all of the comforts of home. David and Maxine, the innkeepers, are fabulous-- funny, warm, and worth the trip all on their own. Added bonus-- rooms are SO reasonably priced. My boyfriend and I stayed at the B&B over Memorial Day weekend, and because we loved the inn so much, we brought back three other couples for New Year's Eve. Needless to say, the place was even more fun-- and even cozier-- surrounded by snow. I highly recommend Old Bear to anyone looking for a destination that feels a world away (but is really only an hour and a half from Los Angeles), anyone that needs a retreat without cell phones, a romantic getaway, or a fun weekend with friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I travel extensively, so we were expecting more from this B&B. We were staying in someone's house, and not a true bed and breakfast. Our room was off the family kitchen and laundry room, down a small flight of stairs.

The bathroom was up a small flight of stairs, located off the laundry room. There was no shower or tub with the bathroom, just toilet and sink. The cleanliness was more in step with the owners suitability, and not for paying tenants. We left the next morning before breakfast, so we have no comment about the food. However, the owners were pleasant and friendly.

The Pine Mountain Club village is walking distance from this house, and is quite cute. The village has a nice outdoor summer theater. They have two little shops, a few restaurants, gym, realtor offices, general store and gas station.

Room Tip: If I were to return to Pine Mountain Club Village, we would stay at the hotel in the Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I recently stayed at the Old Bear with some friends for a few days, and we couldn't be happier with the experience! David and Maxine are fantastic hosts -- the food was delicious, and they were so much fun to talk to. Not only that, they were endlessly helpful to us as we planned hikes and explorations around Pine Mountain Club. The house itself is cozy and cute, and it's the perfect getaway. What a great place to escape from the crazy LA life and get a breath of fresh air -- literally! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary in Pine Mountain Club at the Old Bear Bed and Breakfast. We have been very busy, in the middle of school and work, and needed a refreshing getaway. This was perfect. The hosts, Dave and Maxine, were born to run a bed and breakfast. They are friendly, accommodating, generous and fun to be around. They have five rooms to choose from, and we stayed in the Garden Room. It was cozy, warm and had it's own tv/dvd player, comfortable bed and homey feel to it. Our hosts informed of us several hiking trails, and we went on two of them. One to a small waterfall and the other to a view overlooking Pine Mountain Club. They were both fun, easy, and great hikes. They also recommended several restaurants to us, offered to let us borrow snow sleds if we wanted, provided us with popcorn, snacks, coffee, etc. and free reign of any movies they had. The house was clean, well maintained and only a 5 minute walk to the heart of pine mountain club (it's not very big so everything is pretty close) If you want a great getway trip to relax and recuperate, or just want a fun weekend away with your love, this is the place to go. Dave and Maxine were also very good at not meddling with our privacy. We had great conversations with them when we arrived and at breakfast in the morning, but they did not pester us. They know the perfect balance of interaction vs privacy. (Breakfast was delicious BTW!) You won't be disappointed. If you want a 5 star hotel with the hustle and bustle of the city, go to LA, but if you want a 5 star experience, surrounded by peacefulness and quiet, check it out! We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: the garden room has its own private entrance and small portable heater that is not noisy and keeps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

This B&B is way up in the mountains off of Highway 5 (which is flat and hot and full of oil rigs). It's in the pines. So you can go from 100 degrees to 75 degrees in 30 minutes and feel like you are in Yosemite. For us, it is a halfway point between Santa Cruz and Las Vegas. The owners are so friendly! The price is reasonable. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The only thing some people might have a problem with is that the 3 upstairs bedrooms share a bath. But the ambiance, great breakfast and price outweigh that (and the two downstairs rooms have private baths). I would highly recommend this place. There is also a big hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I were heading through central California and uncovered this hidden gem of a place. We had the most wonderful time at The Old Bear. It felt like we had come home for Christmas or something! A welcoming log fire, friendly dogs and the most hospitable and lovely hosts. David and Maxine deserve every success with their B&B. They clearly love what they are doing.
Pine Mountain is a lovely place to visit. The mountain setting is beautiful, peaceful and awe inspiring. If you want an affordable, cosy retreat for a day or two (or more - we didn't want to leave!), coffee in the morning and the BEST home cooked breakfasts then we would thoroughly recommend The Old Bear.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast

Address: 16116 Mil Fotrero Ftg., Pine Mountain Club, CA 93222
Location: United States > California > Pine Mountain Club
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Mountain Club
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, scenic, quite, and home-like. The perfect place to rest and relax. We provide a full breakfast for our guests along with other amenities such as hot tub, DVD movie library, games, and more. Come for a visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bear Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.