We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, comfortable rooms and interesting conversations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antbear Guest House

Save Saved
You added Antbear Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antbear Guest House
Box 525 Estcourt 3310, Drakensberg Region 3310, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, comfortable rooms and interesting conversations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The views at Antbear are breathtaking and well worth the drive to get there - and the rooms are very comfortable (we really enjoyed the log fires in each bedroom as well!). At mealtimes there is a chance to talk with Phumlani - an amazing and charming man, with a fascinating life story and a very gentle & modest attitude to life. Conversations with him were amongst the highlights of our trip to South Africa. Andrew is also interesting to talk with, and the other guests are often good value too. The only minor gripe is food - the breakfasts are excellent (really excellent!!) but for dinner the choice was nil and the quantities quite small - plus the food was more average home cooked food than the range of culinary delights described in the website. It's certainly very edible, but 3 days in a row soup to start with and it all tasted much the same........don't come for the food but do come and enjoy the serene calm, lovely views and interesting conversations

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    20
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
55
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

At almost midwinter we spent three fantastic days at Antbear Guest House as convenient base to explore the Midlands and central Drakensberg - in accommodation that was comfortable, aesthetically unique and inspiring - with windows, doors and furniture handcrafted by Andrew and his father and Pumlani - incorporating various features to conserve energy without sacrificing comfort

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Antbear lodge is in a stunning location with fantastic views. We found the rooms very interesting and quirky with wonderful woodwork. The rooms are nice and spacious and we also had a fireplace in our room. The furniture in the bedroom was nice but those in the lounge area does seem quite run down.

The catering was somewhat of a let down. For our main meal we only got 2 ribs each which really isn't enough for a main meal. We were also not provided the opportunity to request seconds as our plates were removed immediately and replaced with desert. This is quite a disappointment as you have no alternative for dinner as Antbear is far from everything else.

We quite enjoyed the communal meals as we met some interesting people from the US and UK.

We stayed in a number of places around the area and find Antbear overpriced if we compare it to the quality of the accommodation, furnishings and dining at other places in the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a nice spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent 2 days in the Luxury Cave at Antbear Guest House and 1 day in a Luxury Suite. The accommodation was wonderful especially the Cave - what a wonderful idea and well put together - it was just awesome seeing the sun set from the deck. Antbear is situated in such a way that accessibility to Giants Castle, Kamberg, Nottingham Road and various other sites of interest is quick and easy.

Thank you Phumlani, Connie & Andrew for your warm hospitality, you made us feel right at home. The one and only bug bear we had was that the evening meal could have been a lot better - breakfast were superb! Other than that we had a wonderful time and will definitely be back there sometime soon (as long as we have our cave back). Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The Luxury Cave is superb - a wonderful idea! One can watch the sun setting behind the mountains fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a fantastic place! Great food, awesome room with hand made wooden decorating, wonderful staff and such a relaxed atmosphere. I met a young honeymooning couple from the UK and they said the best part of their stay was the breakfasts that invariably went on for 1.5 to 2 hours chatting with the owner and the other guests. Such a great view of the Drakensberg, and the owner knows every hiking trail in the area. So worth it, I can't say enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were the only guests there.The room was good - but smelt as if it hadn't been aired for weeks - until we left the windows open for some hours. The location is superb (once you get there down miles of unmade road). We enjoyed the host's company and the quirky accommodation.

As there is nowhere else to eat within several miles, you have to have dinner there. We were offered no choice. All 3 nights we started with soup. The first night the lamb chops were tepid, tough and tasteless. The second night was an array of moroccan food and the third night was mexican. Puddings were average. It rather felt as if it was stretching the ability of the (african) cook.

Antbear is way too expensive: they charge R1500 per night for the room plus R150 pp for dinner. You can stay at the lodge in the Giants Castle NP which also has an excellent location but has more facilities, for under R1000 per night - and there is a better choice in the restaurant for much the same price

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Antbear Guesthouse is a stunning place in the heart of the Drakensberg mountains, where the indigenous people of Southern Africa, known as the Bushmen, inscribed their lifestyle and culture in the form of art paintings that can be seen in gigantic caves at about 2,000 to 3,000 meters above sea level.
Antbear is not just a Guesthouse. It is a place where one feels as if surrounded by family and friends. Conny and Andrew (owners) certainly know how to make their guests feel welcome 24/7, joining their guests for breakfast and for dinner, discussing Drakensberg activities and making sure each guest is fully informed of places to go and things to do during daytime hours. In the evening before dinner, Conny and Andrew usually join their guests in the family room for cocktails and wine and a selection of special homemade appetizers. The meals are fantastic and tailored to accommodate each guest's lifestyle. For example, I have a vegan lifestyle. I stayed at Antbear about nine days and each day I was surprised by the Antbear's diverse and astonishing vegan meals!
I will always treasure my December 2012 visit to Antbear Guesthouse. The beautiful chalet style accommodation surrounded by amazing tropical flowers and gigantic mountains. The evening family room chatters by the fireplace, and dinner table conversations with other guests from various parts of the world, each sharing a slice of history of some type and/or cultural events. I will remember the daily adventures to the various high peak mountain sites, caves, river falls, dams, game reserves, amazing animals, and more. Antbear is just an amazing place! I can hardly wait to someday go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Antbear Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antbear Guest House

Address: Box 525 Estcourt 3310, Drakensberg Region 3310, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Drakensberg Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antbear Guesthouse is a thatched, whitewashed cottage built high on a natural platform overlooking the Bushmans River and Giants Castle. This cottage is a bit off the beaten track and at the same time perfectly situated to explore all that the Drakensberg has to offer. We offer ensuite double accommodation and luxury suite accommodation. The lasted addition is a luxury cave that includes a jacuzzi spa bath, hammock chairs on the deck and a view to die for. This Drakensberg accommodation option offers an eco tourism experience that will be amongst you South African tour highlights ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Antbear Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antbear Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.