We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycling Weekend with Friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tugela River Lodge

Tugela River Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drakensberg Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tugela River Lodge
R600, Drakensberg Region, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Cycling Weekend with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent three great evenings at the lodge and rode our mountain bikes at the berg and bush bike race. The lodge is located in the most amazing place with a beautiful view of the tugela river and Spioenkop mountain.

We took the opportunity to ride our bikes directly from the lodge to the emseni camp along a magical trail next to the river.

After riding we stood waste deep in the river just below the lodge where we drank a few cold ones that were replenished by our mates lobbing them from the deck to us in the river.

The bed was comfortable, the staff helpful. Its pretty rustic, with gas stoves and some pretty tired fridges. If big resorts are not your thing and getting away with a friends that can have thier own privacy in the bangalows adjacent and get together in the main house for meals etc.. Its tough to beat this spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tugela River Lodge and used it as a base for a 3 day mountain bike race. Wonderful clean affordable accommodation looking over the Tugela River. Although the accommodation is rustic it is very clean and comfortable with a central entertainment area that can take several families. It is minutes away from one of the most famous Boer War battle fields, the Battle of Spionkop, Spionkop Dam and a Nature reserve. Just 4hrs from Joburg and about 2 hrs to Durban. Looking forward to coming back same time next year! Gavin

Room Tip: All the cottages are great but choose the one on the extreme right facing the river - nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our group of 14 mates enjoyed the privilege of staying on the banks of the Tugela and using this as a base for exploring the beautiful scenery of the Spionkop Area mostly from the seat of our mountain bikes during the BnB Descent. Some did take in the view from closer to the ground as there were few wipeouts as we raced down Solly's Folly, over Spionkop itself and around the Nature Reserve & the gentler Garden of Eden. The cooling effect on our legs (and our throats) as we had a couple of beers down in the river was heavenly. Thanks again to Gary & Lee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Amazing, peaceful and rustic. What a place to go to and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. Enjoying nature at your doorstep. What an experience. Beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We used the lodge as home base during the Berg & Bush mountain-bike race and it was absolutely perfect!
Rustic, clean and all the necessary amenities plus the tranquility of the Tugela river right at your doorstep. The environment was safe and the service efficient, responsive and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horseytoo, Owner at Tugela River Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thanks Colin. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay even more comfortable next year.

Kind regards
Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed here for Christmas 2007, what an amazing place. We hired out the lodge for 3 nights. It was exceptional value for money and i can reccomend going to the spionkop nature reserve. They have canoes and fishing available on site. Beke and his wife look after you really well so make sure you tip generously!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tugela River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugela River Lodge

Address: R600, Drakensberg Region, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty lodging in Drakensberg Region
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tugela River Lodge is a self catering bushcamp on a working game and cattle farm on the banks of the Tugela River. Situated between Johannesburg and Durban, it provides an ideal meeting place for groups of friends or families who wish to get together in private without having to share the property with other people. It sleeps 18-24 guests in 4/5 cottages. Solar lighting, gas appliances and donkey boilers compete the African experience. Tugela River Lodge is a mountain biking mecca for enthusiasts who like natural, cattle and game tracks on a private estate. Guests are looked after by a camp manager and his sister who make up your evening fires and service your rooms for you daily. Experience a true bush experience with no electricity or TVs and enjoy a million stars at night on this affordable game farm in the Central Drakensberg. Minimum rates apply. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tugela River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tugela River Lodge to your Saves list