We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious homemade food, authentic Cretan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vegera

Vegera
Zaros | www. Vegerazaros. Gr, Zaros, Crete 70002, Greece
+30 28940 31730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Zaros
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade food, authentic Cretan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at Keramos studios while in Zaros (which we thoroughly enjoyed) and the owner recommended Vegera for dinner. What a delightful experience and delicous home cooked meal! There are no menus at Vegera. The owner, Vivi, and her mother prepare a homemade freshly cooked meal each day which is served family style to your table. Our meal (which came to less than 15 euro per person) included a fresh salad, tsaziki, homemade bread, a delicous lamb dish, roasted potatoes, vegetables, plus a vegetarian dish (stuffed tomatoes), wine, and dessert. Everything was absolutely delicious and we were stuffed by the end of our meal! Vivi joined us at the end of our meal and we had a relaxed, delightful conversation about life in Zaros and her experiences in Crete. We felt like we were dining at a good friend's house. Definitely one of our best dining experiences while in Crete!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    27
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissamos, Greece
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Great food, unusual and welcome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We decided to eat here while staying overnight as it looked nice, not having read the review before we left home. We sat down and were welcomed by the lady serving who then went away. She came back soon with a tray laden with food, wine and water, presumably what had been prepared that day. There was a mixture of meat and vegetarian dishes and it was delicious. There was more food than we would have ordered ourselves but we didn't leave much! We had no idea how much it was going to cost but when we paid the bill it was another surprise - about €12 each. In these days of fancy menu cards this was an unusual but welcome experience, no wonder it is rated the best in this village but it would also be near the top anywhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I took a cooking class yesterday and were very impressed with the dishes. Vivi, the owner/chef is a wonderful woman who knows how to have fun when cooking. She set a friendly and relaxed tone and this helped us to enjoy the process of learning Cretean dishes. The dishes tasted great and we have the recipes to make these dishes when we return home to greater Kansas City. We loved it so much that we are recommending our daughter and friends to take a class with Vivi, should they visit Crete.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great cookery class and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited Vegera back in September 2011, so I apologise for taking so long to write a review. The cookery class was fun, and her restaurant doesn’t have a menu, which is how it should be. She really welcomed me and introduced me to some people as I was travelling alone. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel shall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“love vivi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

nice food good atmospher nice people
Local homemade food like mom makes
Full meal which includes salad or two
At least two meat dishes
Dessert and Wine +raki
At a uniform price

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vegera also viewed

Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Vegera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vegera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.