We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilies & Leopards B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lilies & Leopards B&B to your Saves list
Lilies & Leopards B&B
38 P. Nana Street, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is our second stay at the Lilies and Leopards, and the welcome, the standard of accommodation and breakfast were all excellent. Thank you Karen, Jaques and Nellie, we hope to stay with you again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

While traveling the country, I decided to sleep over at Mossel Bay. However, not knowing the place too well, I phoned a friend who advised me to travel a few kilometers further to Dana Bay, and to stay over at Lilies & Leopards. And I am so glad she did.

Dana Bay is a small town right at the sea and driving all the way down you will find this beautifully located guest house. Owner Karin is a very friendly and welcoming host. She showed my room, which was not big, but with the high ceiling gave a more spacious feel. It was spotlessly clean, with a double bed of very good sleeping quality, although in my case the bed could have been a few centimeters longer. The bathroom is not big either but they have created a nice spacious shower. There is a flat screen TV, but 'choice' of channels is with only five options very limited. They also offer WIFI, but when I was there it didn't work during the evening. A big asset is the sea view, which is truly endless.

Breakfast in the morning was great with fresh fruit and yoghurt, some meat and cheeses and eggs cooked to your order. To enjoy this breakfast even more, you can sit outside on the terrace and look down the slopes towards the sea, where even a couple of small bucks were grazing when I was there.

I would rate it with four stars for the room and five stars for the hospitality, breakfast and location.

Thank you Karin, for a lovely stay at your nice guest house.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kungalv, Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and my family rented 2 rooms and had a perfect time at the B&B.
The owner Karin is one of the nicest person we meet and she was very helpful.
The view ower the ocean is wonderful and it´s nice and quiet.
You do need a car due to the location.
The room is spacios, large fridge and very clean and a nice balcony to relax.
Really nice breakfast.
The husband is doctor and helped me in a situation when i did not have Imodium :)

If weré going back we won´t look for another place

Ulf from Sweden with family

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, booked at the last minute due to being let down by another B&B and were absolutely delighted with every moment of our stay here. From the warm welcome as Karin opened the door, to one of the most amazing sea views from the balcony, soft comfy beds and a brilliant breakfast (see if you can spot the mouse!) We would 100% stay here again and recommed to any travellers to the area looking for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochtrup, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Warm, welcoming and comfortable! The rooms are absolutely clean, nicely decorated all with a personal touch and beautiful ocean view. Karin is the perfect host. She makes you feel welcome straight away in a charming mixture of english, german and afrikaans, has great tips on what to do and where to eat (Fynbos restaurant was an excellent choice) and serves a delicious breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you like sleeping with the sound of the ocean that's a place you should choose - it's great. Each room has a nice balcony facing the sea, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening. Very nice and helpful owner, great breakfast in the moring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We were greeted very warmly late in the evening by Jacques. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable, we cannot comment on the TV as we never even switched it on! The views from the room are beautiful and we had the most sumptious breakfast the following morning sitting outside overlooking the bay. Both Karin and Jacques are amazing hosts and could not do enough to make our stay welcome. They even held a little easter egg hunt for our two overly excited children. We had initial reservations about this accomodation based on the location but it truly wasn't an issue. Mossel bay is only a short car ride and taxi's are widely available. Along our stays on the garden route I would rate this as one of the best!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilies & Leopards B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilies & Leopards B&B

Address: 38 P. Nana Street, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer warm hospitality and excellent service with thoughtful touches. *2 Beautiful and unspoilt beaches for endless safe walks. Prolific birdlife and 'fynbos' endemic to this area. *4 Beautiful and comfortable en-suite double rooms with spectacular sea view. *Private, fully equipped self-catering unit for 2 *Enjoy great sunrise and sunsets from your private balcony. *Healthy breakfasts *Regular spotting of whales, dolphins and bushbuck from the comfort of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lilies & Leopards B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilies & Leopards B&B Dana Bay, Mossel Bay, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilies & Leopards B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.