We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out in Wellington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms to your Saves list
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
The Parade, Wellington, Telford TF1 1PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night out in Wellington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is by far my favourite place to go in Telford at the moment. Unfortunatly Telford doesn't have much to offer in the way of 'nightlife' & then I was introduced to Carriages by a very good friend and was wowed by the sophistication of the building & the service from the staff.
My friends, partner and myself have now visited there on several occasions to celebrate birthdays, Christmas or just for a lovely night out. The last time we visited Carriages was Valentines night, where we were greeted as normal by the very friendly & efficient Rachel . The ladies were presented with a complimentary glass of champagne with lovely red floating heart strawberries ( very nice touch!) & Bthen of course we were able to order from the earlybird cocktail menu (before 8pm) 2 for £8. There are always peanuts on the table & we often get little complimentary nibbles, which again is a really lovely touch & very good customer service. My girlfriends & I had a night out with tapas & cocktails just before Christmas , which was great, very reasonable & plenty of it to go round.
This is in a great location just next to the train station & always worth a visit if you are going into Shrewsbury for the evening or for cocktails before trying one of the Indain restaurants in Wellington. All in all , a very relaxed, contemporary feel to the whole building, great service, great food & even better cocktails, what more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Glad you enjoyed Carriages! You'll have to check out our Tapas and Brasserie menu soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Spent a very pleasant few hours here drinking some delicious cocktails. Staff were very friendly. Lovely atmosphere would recommend for a more sophisticated night out. A bit pricey for some maybe but would definately return. Next time would like to try the restaurant as the menu looks fab.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We're so happy to hear you enjoy Carriages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Travelzoo deal. Travelled by train, so 2 minute walk to the hotel was perfect. Little trouble getting into the hotel or even finding the correct door to begin with but we were early, so our fault.
Room 1 was very nice. Not huge but big enough & very nicely decorated with a lovely comfy bed & decent bathroom with good size shower & plenty hot water.
We ate in the hotel both nights - mainly because there didn't appear to be anywhere else of good enough quality but also because the food was very good. The menu didn't change but there were 4 choices for each course & the quality & portion sizes were good. The service was also excellent.
We had a variety of cocktails before dinner & all were freshly made & excellent by normal standards. You knew they were alcoholic ! Not always the case these days - especially during happy hour !
Breakfast was enormous, so much so that I didn't manage to finish mine on the first morning. Certainly sets you up for the day !
Wellington itself has seen better days unfortunately. Lots of charity shops & little else of any significance. A real shame as it was no doubt a pretty little market town in its day ! Wouldn't let this put you off staying here though as the hotel makes a great base for getting round the area & Shropshire is a lovely county. We spent a day in Shrewsbury - only 10 minutes by train & a gorgeous place, well worth exploring.
Overall, I would recommend staying at the hotel for a short break & exploring the surrounding area. The hotel is comfortable, clean, stylish & convenient. The food is very good & the staff are all friendly & efficient.
Would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here and had 3 course meal with cocktail as part of a voucher deal. Staff was very friendly and the whole place was clean, rooms more so. Our room was nice but a little small (our relatives room was a decent size though). Not much to do in Wellington but telford and Shrewsbury aren't too far away. Menu is a set menu with 3 or 4 choices for each course. Portions were very small which if the quality is amazing then I don't mind but mine was just mediocre. Oxtail soup was too salty, to be fair the sliced duck breast with cinnamon crust was good and was the highlight of the meal and by the looks of it everyone elses meals aswell. Chocolate fondant was nice but mascaponi cheese lump that accompanied it was abit wierd. It was difficult to sleep with the local nightlfe being so close - busy loud pub underneath (not the cocktail bar) and nightclub across the road, then to top it off its right next to the train station. The beds did the best they could to get us to sleep (the bed was amazingly comfortable). It was disappointing to have a barely luke warm shower in the morning but the other rooms shower was hot so probably not the norm. After our partial meal the night before the breakfast was a godsend, a full full english that went down a treat. I would recommend the hotel if your apart of the loud nightlife and then stop there but not the restaurant, I couldn't justify the prices for what you get. Drinks did seem pretty good though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are centrally located hence why you may have experienced some noise. We have taken on board your other comments and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Purchased a Travelzoo offer for £99. Dinner, bed and breakfast and a cocktail. Could not find the place with our "out of date" sat nav so telephoned the hotel. We were given explicit instructions and a very nice gentleman directed us to a parking spot and had an umbrella ready to take us to the entrance to the hotel. We had Room 1 - a lovely room and large bathroom. Cocktails were perfect and the food at dinner was exceptional. We opted for the full English breakfast which again surpassed expectations along with the cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts - just perfect. We visited two National Trust places which are close by, Attingham Park and Sunnycroft - both well worth a visit. Hope we get another offer from Travelzoo as we would return just for the food and the excellent service by the staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 - first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

What a remarkable establishment! Although the exterior and immediate location may lack charm,
once inside it is an absolute gem. Food, rooms, service and cocktails were all exceptional and memories of a birthday weekend spent here will be treasured for years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from pub close by will be best on a Saturday night when there is loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the positive words. We value feedback so much. See you again soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Popped in last Saturday evening for a cocktail before getting the train to Birmingham. We both had drinks from the 2 for £8 and couldn't find fault. Also tried a selection from the tapas menu. Again faultless.
The nicest bar in town by far.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your cocktails. We now have a great Tapas menu. Come along and try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

Address: The Parade, Wellington, Telford TF1 1PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to a key train station, with a very sophisticated and smart cocktail bar and lounge, this small boutique facility is unique to Telford, offering top quality service and products for your stay, whatever the occasion, business or pleasure. Bookings for Friday and Saturday night !!! Please be advised that we are a town center located hotel and there are surrounding bars and clubs and might be a bit of music intrusion in the rooms and for this reason we supply ear plugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.