We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortijo Prado Toro

Save Saved
You added Cortijo Prado Toro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cortijo Prado Toro
Camino Real, s/n | Alpujarras, 18412 Pitres, La Taha, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Wonderful home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are just back from a week staying at Prodo Toro with our two sons (9 and 5). We have only praise and can truly say it’s the most beautiful and welcoming home. El Taller itself was extremely comfortable and well equipped, the grounds beautiful and inviting and the scenery and views uplifting and relaxing.

Ludet is the most welcoming and hospitable host. Directing us to lovely walks, local information, lending us warm clothes ( yes – we weren't quite prepared for the night temperatures or for climbing Mulhacen) and helpful in absolutely every way possible. His advice led us to completely fall in love with the Taha area as we discovered its beauty and people on our many walks.

Gracias for a wonderful stay. We would love to come back again.
Tamar, Gadi, Elisha and Amos.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This mountain retreat was what we expected and more. The photographs on the sites don't quite do it justice as once you are there the feeling that you get from the surroundings is breathtaking. Our accommodation was very well thought out and very comfortable (and private).
We were there early September when the temperatures were beginning to cool but were still in the high 20s where we could still take advantage of the fantastic pool with its deep valley view.
Prado Toro is very secluded in its high location yet is only minutes (drive) from many of the beautiful small villages which scatter the hillside. They can easily be reached on foot also. There are plenty local shops, bars and restaurants to enjoy as well as miles of hiking. We hired mountain bikes for a couple of days and had an amazing time exploring the hills.
We were delighted to discover that Ludet (owner) had built the whole property from scratch over the past 18 years and as a master carpenter he had fitted out the apartments to an incredibly high standard. On top of that he was incredibly friendly and helpful. Hats off to Ludet.
If it is a quiet break in the mountains you want then this is the place. It will not disappoint!!
We absolutely loved it and will definitely stay there again.
Craig and Fi

Room Tip: We stayed in the Studio Flat. Perfect for a couple with a nice open plan and a private roof/sun terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We loved Cortijo Prado Toro and would highly recommend it. Lovely, peaceful and serene and Ludet is a very helpful and informative owner and host who goes out of his way to be of assistance. Great supermarket in Pitres where you can shop and stock up provisions if you are tired of eating out. Nice atmpospheric cottages where you can sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and the views. We did some of the smaller walks that Ludet recommended and visited the three white washed villages which were great. Only caution is that a good proportion of the road off the main highway is unsealed which can be a problem if you have a hire car that is not meant to be taken off a sealed road. Otherwise it was just lovely and highly recommeded. Would stock up at the supermarket in Pitres before arriving so you dont have to go out again once you have arrived and can relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This place is quite tremendous.
Up a rough track, such that you don't know it's there until you're upon it as it's so hidden away. In spite of that it has great views.
Many small picturesque whitewashed villages lie within 15 inutes drive so provisions are easy and restaurants plentiful.
There are loads of walks on the doorstep, including the GR7. Charles Davis's book certainly does the business here. Climbing Mulhacen is straightforward if you get the daily minibus in summer from Capileira up to the drop off point. If you pick the right day the views are stunning from 11000 feet. An early morning run or walk to Bubion as the sun comes up is spectacular and also recommended. Just wandering from village to village in La Taha was a great way of spening an afternoon.
Granada is 75 mins away and the coast under an hour.
The pool was getting a little cool in mid-October but we still couldn't resist it - just once I'm afraid.
Ludet couldn't do enough for us. A real font of all things local. We don't usually go back to places a second time, but this one we just might. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Bay, St. John
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

They provided great service. Our experience was very quiet and private. We loved it. Thanks so much Ludwig!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A truly wonderful place which came highly recommended by friends. Exceptionally peaceful, surrounded by mountians and far reaching views. Spectacular walks to waterfalls and much more all on your doorstep. Our host (Ludet) was incredibly helpful and amiable. Lots of interesting villages as well as Granada to visit. The only downside - we came back so relaxed we couldn't get back in to hectic London life! Perhaps we'll move to Pitres! Thanks Ludet and see you soon.
J and A

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed in E Taller for 2 weeks. We loved the house, the views and Ludwig the landlord, who gave us lots of advice about walks, restaurants and sights. Cortijo Prado Toro is over 4000 feet, so the nights are pleasantly cool even in July. The pool is very clean and has a spectacular view over the mountains.
Our two boys, age 13 and 17 enjoyed it enormously and climbed Mulhacen, the highest mountain in Spain, We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cortijo Prado Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Prado Toro

Address: Camino Real, s/n | Alpujarras, 18412 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Pitres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Prado Toro is situated in the Natural Park of the Alpujarras , on the southern slopes of the National Park of the Sierra Nevada, Spains highest and most dramatic mountain range in the province of Granada. The historic white villages of "La Taha" are within easy reach. The main town of the Taha, Pitres, is less than 10 min away by car. The Cortijo (country house) faces south, towards the Mediterranean, at an altitude of 1.450M, opening up breathtaking views of unspoiled natural countryside. On clear days even extending to the Rif mountains of North Africa. Cortijo Prado Toro is a delightful quiet place set amidst stunning country side. Hidden courtyards and patios provide sanctuaries of shade and greenery, whilst secluded terraced corners offer privacy in the sun. Weeping branches of mature willow trees form bowers of tranquility, and the gentle murmer of a spring or fountain never seems far away. Only birdsong or the muted clanging of distant goat bells is likely to disturb the silence of this quiet mountain retreat. The architecture of the buildings, designed and restaured with the help of "Donald Gray", an authority in traditional Andalusian architecture, is in the traditional Alpujarran style with much care taken on the detail. The individually designed and decorated apartments, all separated from eachother to provide absolute privacy , are all furnished to a high standard and combine simplicity and luxury with elegance of another era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cortijo Prado Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortijo Prado Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.