We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospederia Puente de Alconetar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hospederia Puente de Alconetar to your Saves list
Hospederia Puente de Alconetar
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Plaza de la Constitucion 18, 10940 Garrovillas De Alconetar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“A touch of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Located on one of the most authentic squares of Spain this hotel is located within a striking historic building - an old palace of a nobleman. Our room is a bit outdated but came with a pleasant balcony with a relaxing view. Service in the restaurant is slow, we sat for 30 minutes before our drinks were served. The small village is not interesting and neither were the walks in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aigre, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had 2 nights here on our way back from Portugal to France and it was an absolute delight. We will certainly use this and other Hospederias again. We were looking for a staging post and this will certainly be one for the future. The town itself has little to commend it apart from the square containing the hotel itself, but a drive up to the Roman Bridge, dam and lake is certainly worth while. The room was small but comfortable and well equipped with a nice view of the local church. Service was excellent and the restaurant food likewise, and reasonably priced. The English translation of the menu was interesting.
Our dog was welcomed without extra charge which is a big plus for us.
Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We let the satnav take us on the back road from EVOROA to the hotel, beautiful countryside drive on excellent roads (reminds us of Dartmoor) What a treat to find a place so nice and relaxing, excellent accommodation and the restaurant food most be tried. Leave time to check out the brilliant little town with it cafe's and bars.
One of the best stopovers on the way to the ferries in the north of Spain. If you take the back road fill your tank first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a great find. Thank you Trip Advisor. We had intended to stay in Caceres but I couldn't find a good deal so we widened our search area and stumbled on this fantastic place. Even the drive "off route" provided pleasant surprises and panoramic views. Overall a really good choice and the food is really good as well although like much of Spain you have to eat later, ie after eight thirty. On our departure I suggested that they consider providing tea and coffee in the room but I don't think they fully get the idea. I now know what my parents always took a travel kettle on the road trips on the continent but this is a small thing and would not put me off staying at this place again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite overlooking the town square. It was surprising quiet and the view was fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / East Midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Hospederias of Extramadura are an organization similar to the Paradores and this was our first exoerience of them.The Puente de Alconetar built between the XV and XVII centuries for the Counts of Alba & Ready has been beautifully restored and sits in the centre of a likewise ancient beautful village in this,the remote far west of this beautiful country.

We were given a very well equiped large room with balcony overlooking the Plaza Mayor, and were wined and dined extremely well with a traditional menu of local produce served with regional wines.

Granted the hospederia's public areas are perhaps now in need of a bit of a general facelift and the buffet breakfast was disappointing. but this is easily put aside by the hospitality shown by all the personnel and the ambience of the place. Unlike similar organizations we experienced no offhandedness or indifference.

We must consider this hospederia is a match for the other six units in the group so would certainly look forward to visiting them also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel on our way to the south of Spain, and we were really satisfied. Lovely building restored with wisdom and balance. Excellent big rooms, clean - the bathroom in our room was not brand new though...
Really excellent restaurant, quality food and wine cooked perfectly. You can even buy local products at the hotel, without them trying to rob you, quite unusual in a hotel really.
Really outstanding value for money altogether.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We called into this beautiful building 4 years ago on our first trip to Extremedura. We had a look round and were very impressed - so much so that we looked up the Hospederias on the Internet when we got home and immediately began planning this trip. We are staying in 6 Hospederias and this one must have one of the most interesting settings on the Plaza in Garrovillas. When we cam on our first visit, preparations were being made for the Fiesta when the plaza is barred off at the street entrances and is used for bullfights.
As for the hotel itself, it is beautiful inside and our room overlooked the pool and the rooftops of Garrovillas (a lovely town). The food on the restaurant was of the usual Hospederia high standard and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only down side was that very few people were staying. Both the town and the hotel are well worth the detour from Cacares.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are larger but more modern: it depends what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospederia Puente de Alconetar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Puente de Alconetar

Address: Plaza de la Constitucion 18, 10940 Garrovillas De Alconetar, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Garrovillas De Alconetar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Garrovillas De Alconetar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hospederia Puente de Alconetar 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente de Alconetar Hotel is a charming 4 * hotel located in the province of Caceres. The hotel was built over the former Palace of the Counts of Alba de Aliste, aristocrats who settled in the town of Garrovillas de Alconetar in the fifteenth century. The Palace is located in the majestic Plaza Mayorde Garrovillas, built between the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hospederia Puente de Alconetar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospederia Puente de Alconetar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.