We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in amazing area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cala Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cala Grande to your Saves list
Hotel Cala Grande
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navegante 1, 04116 Las Negras, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Las Negras
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in amazing area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

The area of Cabo de Gata is absolutely stunning and to arrive at the all white hotel with its straight lines is nothing short of impressive. We stayed in a villa with jacuzzi on the terrace, and it was a beautiful experience to soak in there under the starry sky. The hotel pool area is straight out of a magazine, all white walls and blue water. The pool bar has a very limited menu, but the beer they serve is cold, which is the most important thing.
We didn't have dinner at the restaurant since the menu wasn't very inspiring (in fact very unoriginal and boring) and the wine list was even worse. Breakfast was average. Staff seemed very friendly.

Room Tip: Book a villa, it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    84
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
157
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

A beautifully designed building with great fittings and really helpful staff. We travelled with a 3 year old and had a "superior double" room which was a great size, even with the sofa bed extended to accommodate the little one. The terrace was fantastic to sit out in the evening with a bottle of wine while small person was asleep. The pool area is very comfortable and beautifully kept with a stylish covered bar area just by the pool. Great breakfast buffet in the morning and equally good restaurant in the evening. Well equipped gym and although we didn't use the spa it looked pretty inviting. Coffee making facilities in the room and a littLe mini-bar. A great break.

Room Tip: Superior double ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in April. The room was incredible and very spacious. We booked the suite, which had our own hot-tub on a massive balcony. The hotel is very impressive and had a boutque feeling throughout. The Spa is top class, but you do have to pay. We had quite a few treatments and found them excellent and very good value for money. The spa has everything and more, including steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor pool - as well as various plunge pools and invigorating showers. All this and your in Las Negras. What more could we have asked for.
Magical stay, lovely location and the best hotel in the region.

Room Tip: Book the suite - if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We had quite a difficult time finding the hotel driving down from Madrid, and we arrived very late. As grumpy as I was the hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. My spanglish is not great, but my boyfriend is fluent. Be prepared to speak Spanish as you are in a neck of the woods where that is pretty much required. We dined in the hotel restaurant before heading to our lovely room overlooking the coast. Our meal was very satisfying. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable- in fact we slept way past check out time, with no extra charge incurred. Unfortunately we didn't get to explore the area of Cabo de Gato as our trip was delayed and we had reservations in Tarifa. However, the next day we walked over to the beautiful beach just down the road, and ate breakfast on a charming and serene cobblestone street right off the beach. The tortilla and olives were amazing! Next time I return to Andalusia I will make it my business to spend a few days in Cabo de Gato, and I'll be staying at the Cala Grande for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was very nice with privacy and a great view. We drove down from Barcelona and got lost in the mountains. So we arrived very late and had difficulty finding the hotel. Actually it is easy to find we were just very tired, but we phoned them and they drove down to meet us so we could follow them back. They had the restaurant stay open late so we could eat and then the next day kept it open passed breakfast time because we slept in. They were very attentive and let us use their computer and printer ...... just over all the best staff I have ever run into.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed between Christmas and New Year in one of the three villas for 180€ per night.

Positive:
The staff was overall very friendly at reception, breakfast and restaurant service.
The breakfast and dinner quality was excellent.

Negative:

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frigiliana, Spain
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We arrived the evening before my birthday, 1st November (or Todos Los Santos in Spain) for a two night stay. The Cabo de Gata natural park had been recommended to us, but the hotel was a complete unknown. We couldn't have chosen better. On check-in we were taken, not directed, to our room which was spacious in spite of the enormous bed, well-designed and offered wonderful views out to sea from the sheltered and private balcony.
That night we ate from the €25 menu which included wine. Service, presentation and quality of food were all impeccable. On my birthday we dined from the a la carte menu and were once again delighted with the whole experience.
We also took advantage of the spa; I had a 45 minute, whole body massage, and my wife went for the 'Tribal' which took an hour and a quarter and apparently involved being covered with coffee grounds! Whatever, we were both totally destressed on returning to our room.
The village of Las Negras offers a small number of bars and restaurants, one on the seafront just above the fishing boats drawn up on the beach.
Sounds idyllic? It is.
Oh, and when we got back to our room after dinner, there was an ice bucket with a complimentary botlle of cava, two glasses and a note wishing me a happy birthday - someone obviously read the details on my driving licence used as ID on check-in!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cala Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cala Grande

Address: Navegante 1, 04116 Las Negras, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Las Negras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Las Negras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cala Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spa hotel is located within the beautiful Cabo de Gata-Níjar Natural Park. The Hotel Cala Grande offers lovely views of the sea, free Wi-Fi and a well-equipped wellness centre. The Cala Grande's wellness centre includes a sauna, a Turkish bath and a heated indoor pool with water jets, a waterfall and experience showers. There is also a Jacuzzi with views of Cerro Negro Mountain, an outdoor swimming pool and a relax area. Massages are available at an extra cost. All rooms at the hotel offer a private, furnished terrace with views of the sea. Some rooms have views over the mountains, and all have a flat-screen TV. Cala Grande is surrounded by gardens. The hotel restaurant serves typical regional meals, as well as fresh Mediterranean fish and pasta specials. Hotel Rooms: 44 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cala Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cala Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.