We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and fantastic evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wayfarer

The Wayfarer
Alder Lane, Parbold WN8 7NL, England
01257-46-46-00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Parbold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal and fantastic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The food was excellent and even though very busy, the staff could clearly handle the custom. The staff were friendly, helpful and experienced and couldn't do enough to make the night enjoyable.
What a shame about the other reviews. Don't let it put you off, judge for yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank You. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    30
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never ever fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The local paper said the Wayfarer has started making their own real ale under the name of the Problem Child brewery so all that was needed was an excuse. The wife's birthday provided the perfect opportunity for trying the restaurant. An excellent meal, great service and huge brownie points. Thanks again guys and congratulations on the real ale venture.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much! God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parbold, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten for choice, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Living in the Parbold area, we are spoilt for choice with five pub/restaurants within a couple of miles, but time after time we return to the Wayfarer. The menu is extensive, plus there is a great choice of specials. The food is always of an excellent standard, we have never had a bad meal here! We must have eaten here in excess of 50 times, both as a couple and with friends and cannot fault the place or food or service......! I notice there are a lot of negative reviews, and wonder if the people were in the same place that we go to!!
We are spoilt with having such a wonderful place so close.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Many many thanks! God Bless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Above average but not 'Very Good', no option to mark just 'good'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Visited the Wayfarer on the evening of Saturday the 30th November, the restaurant was very busy but the service was quite fast considering this.
The food was good and well cooked and presented and good value, just two criticisms:
1. The place was very, very hot, it must have been about 30+ degrees in there and with no air conditioning or even open windows it was really oppressive, so much so that we left as soon as we had finished the main course in order to get some fresh air.
2. The waitress who served us seemed a little inexperienced in that when I asked if the unpriced menu sheet was a 'table de hote' menu and how much she didn't understand me, I had to explain what I meant!
Notwithstanding this I would go again but would dress more appropriately, in a tee sheet and shorts!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for saying the food was good and well cooked and that our service was timely whilst we were busy.
With regard to the temperature, The radiators have settings on them, sometimes customers move them and alter the thermostats . We Check them twice daily. It gets hot when its busy and we open the doors and windows.
With regard to the young girl. We have 14 staff on busy nights and some are trainees helping glass collect and polish cutlery etc. We have many staff who are trained to take orders and answer question on food and menus but unfortunately not all the junior staff are. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Our food is great I hope you will come again, its not everyday its hot and busy! God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
“food terribleand staff need some manners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

we recently visited haing previous good experiences. unfortunately the food was of a very poor standard. The sharing starter at £15 was a disgrace and looked like they had never served it before (of had ran out of products). The staffs attitude was also a let down throwing items at customers with a sarcastic tone. last time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WayfarerViandante, General Manager at The Wayfarer, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We pride ourselves on Fantastic customer service, we want to make sure as many customers as possible leave happy and try to resolve difficulties at the time. You have been coming regularly for a long time and we always try to keep you happy. You always return and we now stock the drinks you ask for. I believe you challenged the chef about the platter, the ingredients are expensive , Scallops and Duck Breast, Spring Rolls, Spare Ribs, Bread and 3 Dips. We believe our dishes are good value for money and are sorry you are so upset. If we can do anything for you in the future don't hesitate to ask. God Bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Wayfarer also viewed

Parbold, Lancashire
Parbold, Lancashire
 

Been to The Wayfarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wayfarer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.