We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buck Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Buck Hotel
Save
You added The Buck Hotel to your Saves list
Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Good food and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

After a day out in Scarbrough we decided to call in at Thomton le Dale on the way home for our evening meal. Early evening and the village was quiet and we were lucky enough to get the last table in The Buck Hotel. Refurbished in February the decor in the dining room is beautiful. Everything is clean, the food is good and portions a good size, well priced and served by friendly and experienced staff. I can highly recommend and will be returning on more than one occasion in the near future I think.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just had a few days here, booked through private message on facebook when they had posted photos of the refurbishment back in Feb. We originally where going to stay at the New Inn aross the road they were fully booked at the time of booking. We are so glad they were, because the room we had was much brighter and airier . We had tea plus other beverages were all available and t.v. We had a massive comfortable bed, chest of drawers & wardrobe space, the roll top bath in the en suite was to die for, hair drier aslo to use.
The breakfast included in price was ample. A varied chose and well cooked my mine host Alison, who even cooked me a slimming world breakfast :-) Meals ate in the restaurant in the evening were also delicious and plentiful, cooked my host Andy & staff. My husband, who normally drinks lager, now hooked on one of the local real ales served at the bar. Staff were very polite, helpful & freindly, all dressed smartly. Great place, we will definitely be visiting again. Thank You for lovely 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have visited the Buck over the past few years while we have been camping as a family in Thornton-Le-Dale, always been ok. However after visiting last night for a family meal I can firmly say the best "pub" meal and service I have had in a long while....(also visited the New Inn the night before which is just across the road, not impressed)
The dinning room is lovely, all the waiting staff were lovely and couldnt of been more professional or polite, ordered a shared starter along with 2 main meals and a childrens meal which arrived with our starter as requested, the childrens meal fantastic value for money the fluffiest jacket potatoe with lovely "proper" chicken nuggets. The other 2 main meals where a Steak & Ale pie & Burger....well it did what it said on the menu, the pie was the best I have ever had, perfect pastry topping filled with plenty of melt in the mouth steak and sublime gravy yum yum The burger was most certainly home made!!!!! Fantastic value for money and tasted perfect....only tiny gripe is instead of frozen chips "homemade chips" in my opinion would of taken it to the next level and tbh would of paid more than the very reasonable £8.95 - will def be back at the end of the month when we're camping again!!!
Only reason I marked down the childrens activity is that you have a fab beer garden and nothing for children to do....not a problem with us as our daughter is easily pleased with running around

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stop in accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We phoned ahead to book a table as we wanted to check if dogs were allowed..which they were in certain areas. There was a great choice of food, including a wide choice on the specials board. There were plenty of people in-some just for a drink and some eating like us. If vegetarian, there was an imaginative choice, and I'm told the game pie was very good! If passing again, we will certainly go back! The staff were friendly and service good

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were staying at The Grange guest house over the Bank Holiday weekend and walked to The Buck on Friday evening for dinner. We don't eat meat and were impressed with the choice of fish and veggie options. We both went for a smoky bean chilli which was lovely. It arrived piping hot which I love. Nothing worse than luke warm food. Good portions and very tasty. The Belgian chocolate dessert was indulgent but hey - " we're on holiday". The service was good, the staff polite and food arrived quickly. My only complaint is that they don't serve food on a Sunday evening so we had to eat elsewhere but that's another story!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting the area, and decide that The Buck looked like a nice place to eat. The food was lovely, and was served quickly! The waiting on staff were young, but very good at their job.
Overall very pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

live in the village and its the first time I have tried the Sunday Roast. I had the mushroom starter in a garlic cream sauce and the Roast Beef , REAL roast potatoes and perfectly cooked veg which included my favourite dark cabbage . What have I been missing !! Excellent food and 2 courses for £8.95 , how can you go wrong !! Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Hotel

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buck Hotel is a traditional English country pub in the picturesque village of Thornton le Dale. Situated in the centre of the village, we have a traditional bar, a comfortable lounge bar and a spacious dining room, as well as three en suite bedrooms. We serve freshly cooked, traditional pub food, a changing range of specials and a tea room menu during the day time. We have a large, sunny walled beer garden to the rear - an ideal place to sit and relax with a glass of wine or one of our range of cask conditioned real ales.A warm welcome is guaranteed for all from owners Andy and Alison, as well as our small and friendly team of staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.