We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Guest House

The Grange Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grange Guest House
Save
You added The Grange Guest House to your Saves list
High Street, Thornton-Le-Dale Y018 7QW , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Grange for just the one night in early February 2014.

We found the hosts Tony and Mel to be very friendly, helpful and they seemed to enjoy their jobs.

The Guest House is immaculately presented with everything to be spotless and all fixtures, fittings and furniture of a very high standard indeed, nothing was out of place.

We chose one of the larger rooms that was well equipped with a lovely bathroom with double shower.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and well cooked.

The location is handy for the centre of the village being a five minute walk and there are country walks almost on the doorstep too.

Would certainly visit again, top notch guest house accommodation for slightly over average prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Grange is a wonderful B&B, and certainly one of the best we have ever stayed in.

We made a mess of the arrival, finding it easy to overshoot the front door and having to turn around and come back down the hill until we found it. When we did put Tony to the trouble of opening the front door we learnt that the main reception was around the back, accessed from their private, small car-park. So the best thing you can do is turn onto Rectory Lane and then left up South Lane, you will find The Grange car-park signed along there. Go through the lovely rear garden, down a few steps and you will be at the reception.

The Grange accommodation is simply beautiful. It is as if it was decorated and furnished this week. The look is modern, classy and tasteful throughout, mostly in shades of pale blue and grey as epitomised by the front door. The guest lounge is beautiful and contains an honesty bar. The breakfast dining area is light and airy and there is the curio of the glass-covered well-hole in the floor.

Our bedroom - room 4 - was as beautiful as everywhere else. It had a very wide and comfortable bed, underfloor heating that we didn't have to touch, an en-suite as well as all the usual B&B guest accessories. As an example of the kind of place it is, the coffee-making equipment included ground coffee and a cafetiere. There were lots of power-points.

The room overlooked the main road, and although quiet during 'sleeping hours' there was a fair bit of road noise from about 6.30am onwards. I like to sleep with the window open and traffic woke me a few times. In their defence there is little the B&B can do about that and they do provide good blinds and curtains.

The en-suite was beautifully outfitted; a massive top-quality shower, lovely fitments and as everywhere else it was so spotlessly clean and perfect it could have been fitted yesterday. Mel and Tony have obviously spent a great deal of money making the place this nice. My only problem with the en-suite was the door into it which was mainly glass with a wooden frame. Despite being mottled glass unless you kept to the edge of the bedroom you could see at the very least the knees of the person at the toilet. That was a little bit inhibiting.

A pet peeve is the way that people equate 'classy' to iPod. The room had a nice radio but the iPod dock was no use to me. A USB connection would have been handy. There was Wi-Fi but the range was limited and we couldn't get any of our assorted phones or tablets to connect at any time from either our room or the guest lounge. I'm not sure that this is our hosts' fault though as it may be an Android problem.

Breakfasts were fabulous. You always felt like you were being served the very finest of foods, from the fresh fruit to the excellent Full English, all beautifully cooked and presented. Note that the breakfast menu always features an alternative to the Full English which varied each day. So if you think that you'll have the salmon tomorrow, be warned that it may not be on tomorrow's menu.

All in all it was a wonderful experience and one that we will be recommending to all friends and family. Tony and Mel were friendly and accommodating hosts and interacted just the right amount.

Room Tip: Our room (room 4) was facing onto a noisy, main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

12 of us friends took over the place for the weekend (12th/13th/14th July) and wow what a place! The Grange takes B and B to a new level. Tony and Mel made us very welcome with a welcoming drink. The attention to detail is fantastic and there are good quality fittings in all rooms. The breakfasts are superb (thanks Mel!). Make sure that you try the sausage! (all local stuff). Mel cooked us a meal on the Saturday night and we had it with all of us sat at a huge table (great stuff!). There is an honesty bar for your drinks while you are there. The car park (accessed from the rear) is safe and as we all had bikes Tony locked the carpark gates when we were all in (special touches like that are something else). Sit out in the lovely garden if you get chance - like everything else it is well looked after. Will we be back? - You can count on it!! Many many thanks to you both and daughter Beth who waited on us on Saturday night. We will see you again!

Room Tip: It was very hot when we were there and our room was at the front on the first floor and overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

thank you mel and tony for a 3 night stay 8-9-10 of july the weather was great and the stay at your lovely guest house was once again great, we will be coming back in the future to visit you thanks again for a lovely stay
graham and sheila

Room Tip: we stayed in room three you will here some traffic noise but this is only to be expected as they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONCASTER
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the grange for 2 nights 28th and 29th May. The hosts were so wonderfully welcoming and truly lovely people, We felt so relaxed in their beautiful home, We would certainly stay there again. The rooms are so tastefully decorated, so comfortable and luxurious, the en-suite bathroom is a treat with guest bathrobes and the fluffiest towels ever. The grange is perfect in every way. The hosts were very attentive and looked after our every need, breakfast was truly amazing. The grange is truly excellent and outstanding. Thank you so much to Mel and Tony for your fabulous hospitality .Melanie and Tony are great hosts. This guest house is in a lovely village with great walks from the doorstep but also near the of the coast.If you are in Thornton-Le-Dale, the grange guest house is an absolute must.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for the bank holiday weekend and were not expecting the treat that was The Grange! welcomed by Mel (and Millie) with warmth adn a tray of tea and home made cake. the room (at the back) was amazing, large, airy, light, beautifully decorated with an cosy en-suite shower room. I made use of the lovely garden, while himself was cycling in the Dalby Forest. The village is lovely too, very friendly. We are definatley planning a return visit. Many thanks Mel and Tony for a treat of a weekend, The Grange just made it extra special.

Room Tip: Number 5 at the back was peaceful and overlooked the courtyard seating area (not much a of view - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from an amazing 3 night stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. This guest house is perfect, beautifully decorated and appointed. We were greeted firstly by Milly the flat coated retriever when we entered the garden who gave us a very enthusiastic welcome and then by Melanie who, after showing us to our room, provided us with a very welcome combination of tea and cake. The b & b is perfectly located for a short stroll into the village and that evening we ate in The Buck where the food is hot, tasty and very reasonably priced. Sadly they don't serve food on a Sunday evening. Breakfasts are lovely with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and either any combination from a full English or Melanie's daily alternative. Sunday mornings scrambled egg and smoked salmon with granary toast was absolutely gorgeous. Melanie and Tony are great hosts. This guest house is in a lovely village with great walks from the doorstep but also within striking distance of the coast. The fact that the weather was absolutely glorious was just the icing on the cake. If you're in this area don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had room 2 at the front of the house. This faces a busy road but did not cause any problems at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Guest House

Address: High Street, Thornton-Le-Dale Y018 7QW , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.