We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a good setting close to Tikal.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Tikal

Save Saved
You added Camino Real Tikal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Real Tikal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Santa Elena
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in a good setting close to Tikal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A modern hotel with rooms, on three levels, set in several small blocks on a slope over looking the lake. Rooms were fine with a balcony. One major asset were a couple of deep freezes, set along the pathway which you have to walk along to get to the pool and resaurant, where there are bags of ice for guest's use. There is a golf buggy to take you and your luggage to the room also needed when checking out as the end rooms require a short walk and then a number of steps to get to the restaurant/reception area. Set in quite an isolated spot, there are a few restaurants some way off but no taxis near the hotel, but the food at the hotel was fine although the breakfast choice was a bit restricted for our tastes. You had the choice of eating inside of the restaurant or outside sitting under a massive high thatched roof looking over the lake. One nice thing about the hotel is that as well as providing you with a nice packed breakfast, for early leavers, there is also coffee and cakes to enjoy in reception while you wait for your pick-up. Although most of our time was spent at two Mayan sites and we didn't really have time to explore the hotel properly, we thought it to be a well run and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
48
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotels best feature is its location near Tikal National Park. The lake views and pool are great, but expect basic room services and long walks with many, many steps. This is not a hotel for those afraid of stairs. Food was fine and pretty good considering location. Staff were generally very helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid the higher number rooms series (especially 600's) they are at the far end of a long walk f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Isolated location on Lake Peten Itza, about half an hour's drive from Tikal. The rooms are clean, but somewhat tired, with wonderful views of the lake. The grounds have beautiful tropical flora. The food is okay, nothing special. The staff are somewhat friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is weak & unreliable. Do keep doors closed to keep out mosquitoes and scorpions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received
comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is located on the Lake about 25 minutes from the Tikal monument site. The staff are very friendly and helpful, which is a bit surprising for a hotel that largely caters to groups. We asked to stay late on our last day and they let us stay until 3:30pm. This is certainly the best hotel to use if you are focused on seeing Tikal. We also went to a much less visited site, Uaxactun. The day we went with a guide we were the only people there. Very different than Tikal which iwas quite full of people.

Room Tip: There is a something of a walk as you get higher numbered rooms. 100's are closest. 600s the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with a group while visiting Tikal. The staff was incredibly nice but the internet was pricey and the rooms could use some updating. One building has been recently renovated and the room that we saw was much nicer than ours. Unless you have a car there's nowhere close to eat except the dining room which was a hit or miss. You really just stay here for the proximity to Tikal which was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

But also we are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department .

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a full service hotel not far from Tikal, that makes no concessions to its location. Nice location on lake Peten Itza's far northeast side. Fully acceptable rooms. Food was no more than acceptable, except for the pastries and breads, which would be excellent anywhere. Service was good. We were there doing a cold spell, so can't comment on air conditioner noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate buildings, and the walk to them from the restaurant and front desk is not prot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a four night stay at the facility January 2013. The room size was adequate and the appointments were fine. There is air conditioning if its needed. The views from the room we had were excellent of the lake. The balcony was comfortable. One can hear the air conditioners running if its hot but this wasn't a bother for us. The lighting was adequate. The rooms are not new but they were comfortable. The food was adequate if a bit boring in the restaurant. The outside seating is very nice. The facility has its own filtered water and we had no problem drinking it. We did not eat uncooked food as is our preference in these areas and had no GI problems at the hotel. There is no place to go close around the hotel so except for the AM biotope walk with hotel guide, there isn't any place to go at the hotel. We'd stay here again if visiting Tikal and Uaxactun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Tikal

Address: Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Real Tikal 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Camino Real Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Tikal Hotel Peten
Westin Tikal National Park
Camino Real Tikal Westin
Westin San Jose
San Jose Westin
Camino Real Tikal Guatemala/Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Tikal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.