We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Nice Pool, Decent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Tikal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Tikal to your Saves list
Camino Real Tikal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Keene, New York
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Nice Pool, Decent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is located on the Lake about 25 minutes from the Tikal monument site. The staff are very friendly and helpful, which is a bit surprising for a hotel that largely caters to groups. We asked to stay late on our last day and they let us stay until 3:30pm. This is certainly the best hotel to use if you are focused on seeing Tikal. We also went to a much less visited site, Uaxactun. The day we went with a guide we were the only people there. Very different than Tikal which iwas quite full of people.

Room Tip: There is a something of a walk as you get higher numbered rooms. 100's are closest. 600s the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

We hope to see you soon again.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    37
    15
    2
See reviews for
56
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with a group while visiting Tikal. The staff was incredibly nice but the internet was pricey and the rooms could use some updating. One building has been recently renovated and the room that we saw was much nicer than ours. Unless you have a car there's nowhere close to eat except the dining room which was a hit or miss. You really just stay here for the proximity to Tikal which was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.

But also we are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department .

Thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a full service hotel not far from Tikal, that makes no concessions to its location. Nice location on lake Peten Itza's far northeast side. Fully acceptable rooms. Food was no more than acceptable, except for the pastries and breads, which would be excellent anywhere. Service was good. We were there doing a cold spell, so can't comment on air conditioner noise.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate buildings, and the walk to them from the restaurant and front desk is not prot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a four night stay at the facility January 2013. The room size was adequate and the appointments were fine. There is air conditioning if its needed. The views from the room we had were excellent of the lake. The balcony was comfortable. One can hear the air conditioners running if its hot but this wasn't a bother for us. The lighting was adequate. The rooms are not new but they were comfortable. The food was adequate if a bit boring in the restaurant. The outside seating is very nice. The facility has its own filtered water and we had no problem drinking it. We did not eat uncooked food as is our preference in these areas and had no GI problems at the hotel. There is no place to go close around the hotel so except for the AM biotope walk with hotel guide, there isn't any place to go at the hotel. We'd stay here again if visiting Tikal and Uaxactun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest!!

Thank you for a great comment it always motivating to receive such appreciation from our guests, this help us to keep our high service standard.
I will take the liberty to put your comment in our info staff board as it always motivating to receive such appreciation form our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The place is convenient if you want to stay inside the hotel, its close to Tikal ruins by car, but you can not go out for a walk to any place. Maybe its better to be closer to Flores town.
The room is noisy: you are listening the air conditioned from the other rooms all the night.
Room very poor and dark.
The best: the view to the lake from the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry for the inconvenient you had during your stay, this comment will help us to give our guest a high service in each of their visits, and also every detail you mentioned in your comment is already notify to responsible department . Again thank you for taking time of writing this review from our hotel. This is very helpful to receive such comments which help us to get better every day.

Please feel free to let us know if we can do something for you in order to visit us again, our email address is coordinador_mercadeo@caminoreal.com.gt

Very truly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful welcome after staying in the jungle for 3 days. Air conditioning! The rooms are a generous size, the bathrooms are modern, beds are comfortable and views of Lake Peten Itza from every room. The pool is very inviting,and there is a workout room. The restaurant was very good, we were able to get filtered water from the restaurant and refilled our water bottles daily. We did come back with a touch of Montezuma's revenge but it could have been the delicious melons, fruits or vegetables. If your at all susceptible to the stomach bug be careful. I have a cast iron stomach so i just got a touch of i, my boyfriend was hit a bit harder.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same floor plan- we had a ground floor room which gave us some outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time of writing this review from our hotel. It´s a pleasant received such amazing comments which help us to keep our high service standard. Your compliments are really a positive stroke and push us to keep a high standard personalized service toward our guests.

I will share your comment with our staff.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very beautiful setting. Way away from everything. The lake is beautiful and on the weekends there is a free sunset boat ride. The food is marginal, but reasonably priced. We had both ants and bees in our room, but the room was spacious and fairly clean, so we were able to share with the wild life without a problem. I really have a problem with a hotel that charges $10 american per day for internet in this day and age.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ximena R, Manager at Camino Real Tikal, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment we hope you enjoyed your stays in our beautiful hotel, we are very sorry about your inconvenient with the internet price, but also for us it’s very important to know guests appreciation in order to get better so really thank you for this it will help us to solve it.

We hope to see you soon again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Tikal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Tikal

Address: Lote 77, Parcelamiento Tayasal, Santa Elena 17002, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Real Tikal 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Tikal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Tikal Hotel Peten
Westin Tikal National Park
Camino Real Tikal Westin
Westin San Jose
San Jose Westin
Camino Real Tikal Guatemala/Santa Elena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Tikal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.